Domino Card & Stampin’Up! Party

July 1, 2012 at 7:25 am 9 comments

pp20120701-080633.jpg
Hey! Sorry to have been missing; haven’t felt so well this week. Must have been too much fun last weekend!- my body obviously can’t cope with it!
This card is digging out an old relic craft staple that everyone used to go mad for about 8-9 yrs ago… Dominoes! I had several hoarded boxes and thought I’d give them an airing again. I’d forgotten how much fun they were to ink on. The box was only a couple of pounds so they’re really inexpensive. You do need to sand them down first and experiment with your choice of ink. Some dye inks just ‘disappear’ into the domino, and need quite a bit of ink. If you’re using Stazon or alcohol inks then you don’t need to sand them down at all. Sealing them is not completely necessary but through testing I’ve discovered that certain dye inks ( like my Stampin’Up! Ones) will leach out colour if you seal them with Glossy Accents. A new product that I’ve found is the Crafters Companion sealant sprays and I’ve got the Translucent shimmer which although is pretty stinky ( spray in a well ventilated room) gives a gorgeous effect and you can build up layers to give a more lacquered look. This close up might show it off better..

20120701-081628.jpg
The papers are Echo Park ‘Happy Days’ including the two stickers and the other papers are American Crafts ‘Gardenia’. Washi tape is Queen & Co’s and the pearly sticker over the flower is from Prima. The inked background is done by moi, and the stamps used are Indigo Blu ( the swirl) and the sentiment from Tiny Tags (Stampin’Up!)
Won’t stick around and tell you much else today- except to say I’ve got more cards in Simply Cards and Papercraft this month- I’ve been given the ‘sketches’ section to do for two months.
This Friday night at 8pm I’ve got a Stampin’Up! Party (& it’s free!) – I’m throwing one even though I’m not a demo anymore- shocking huh! So those of you that may have been missing buying off me are very welcome to come and bring a friend- the more the merrier! Do get in touch and let me know if you want to come ( I’m in the Liverpool area) and I’ll email you out directions.

Take care.. You should see me back posting more again now I feel a little like my old (& exceedingly at that) self! Xx

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

Flitter-Glu Card & Lovely London Swimming Scrapbook page & Boo to Cath Kidston

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lalo  |  July 1, 2012 at 10:10 am

    Glad you’re feeling better and awesome card. Don’t know of these dominoes but they look fab. So wish I was near you so I could join your SU party…oh the things you could teach me!!!

    Like

    Reply
    • 2. kerenbaker  |  July 1, 2012 at 10:15 am

      Lalo! You’re kidding right- I’m glad we can inspire each other. Trust me, the feeling’s mutual! Dominoes- you know the ones that kids play with- except I use the back- not the dots side. You must have those where you live?!!!

      Like

      Reply
  • 3. Ros Crawford  |  July 1, 2012 at 10:16 am

    Hi Keren … Wow! I do love this card … pinned it on my board … that domino is fabulous … hope you feel better soon xxx

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. ~amy~  |  July 1, 2012 at 3:01 pm

    Well isn’t this simply lovely?! Do you know how many dominos I have stashed away?! perfect inspiration…thanks so much!

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. Carole Waechtler  |  July 1, 2012 at 7:27 pm

    Lovely card Keren, I too have lots of those crafting dominoes somewhere. I hope you are better soon. Hugs C x

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. Mara Livingstone-McPhail  |  July 1, 2012 at 9:40 pm

    I was wondering about dominos just yesterday when I saw a necklace stamped by an Oz demo on eBay – and here you are telling me all about it – genius! WIll be able to come and play on Friday – yippee! See you soon. Mxx

    Like

    Reply
  • 7. shirley-bee  |  July 2, 2012 at 5:08 pm

    Love the card and the way you’ve masked the domino at the bottom for a sentiment!

    Like

    Reply
  • 8. alicecarman  |  July 2, 2012 at 10:58 pm

    Love this idea to stamp on a domino. Super fun!

    Like

    Reply
  • 9. Vicki  |  July 7, 2012 at 5:51 pm

    Oh no, I’ve missed it, my text said the 9th July, I have it imprinted on my brain…lol So sad I missed it now 😦 hope you’re feeling better 🙂

    xx

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,448 other followers

I’m designing for;

Design Teams

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Butterfly beauty- using new #paperbabestamps mdf portrait blanks and #pieridae butterfly set

Snail mail Invertage. Tunnel card type technique using #lawnfawn #gleefulgardenstamps

Need a bouquet that can't be squashed in the post? Check out the @sevenhillscrafts blog to see how to make one using the stunningly gorgeous @winnieandwalter #Addiesgarden blooms!! #bouquetcards

More Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


