Flitter-Glu Card & Lovely London

June 25, 2012 at 10:14 pm 5 comments

20120625-213617.jpg

Hey! It’s Monday and I’ve returned back from London to normality. Less of a bump and more of a ‘gentle slide’ into it all which was pretty good! More of London in a minute but first the card..
This was using a Memory Box tree die which is surprisingly easy to use and remove all the little bits in-between the branches. The gold Flitter-Glu is Indigo Blu’s ‘antique gold’ ( I think!) and is also one of their stamps. It’s a little bit quirky but I love how the detail is evident yet it’s not too ‘in-your-face’ like embossing powder in that colour would have been.
The brads give some much needed colour. Here’s a close up..

20120625-214120.jpg
The gold flakes are really easy to use and pick out the detail of the stamp amazingly.

London was fab and frustrating, fierce, fast, foody, friendly and freaky all in one! Mostly fab- check out some of the piccies.

20120625-215600.jpg
Frustrating because I was ill on the Friday night whilst at my friends brother and sister-in-law. Pretty embarrassing trying to avoid passing out whilst lying down and your heart racing.
It was a little freaky being woken at 5:30am the next morning to hear 3 drunk teenagers recording a ‘music video’ repeating the same notes over and over and over again. It was fairly tortuous and surreal at the same time!!
The fierce bit was courtesy of a blind man who having walked into Jo ( my friend) whilst she was behind him promptly rapped her on the knuckles 3 times and walked off!!!!

20120625-215751.jpg
Fast ’twas the Underground- man, those trains go exceedingly fast and are somewhat unnerving when you have no handle or pole to hold onto and the view at the end of your nose is a sweaty blokes armpit. Those carriages are way too full come rush hour and a little scary when they just stop in a tunnel because the one in front had a problem as someone had pulled the alarm cord!

20120625-215950.jpg
There were some really friendly people- one who I travelled down with and helped pass the last two hours of a 6 hour journey by chatting about Shanghai & China, creativity & art and music & beauty in the world!


The food was lovely – mostly courtesy of our hosts. It was soooo great not cooking for an entire weekend.
You can see we did do some coffee drinking and plenty of chatting in those lovely comfy chairs

We also visited Greenwich Park craft market which was just a feast for the senses and incredibly inspiring- so many real artisans and with such great ideas.
We also met a giant pig-

20120625-220406.jpg
And I spotted more spelling mistakes- this one on a Cafe Rouge menu. Can you spot it (& it was there twice in the same menu!)

20120625-220541.jpg
I’ll tell you about some of the rest of the adventure some other time! I did miss being creative -the nearest I got was spelling out a goodbye message on my hosts shower wall using their kids foam bath letters!!
I’m sure I’ll make up for up it 😉

See you when I’ve done some of the large amount of catching-up-on-housework!! x

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , .

Fathers Day Card & Big Surprises Domino Card & Stampin’Up! Party

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Virginia Lu  |  June 26, 2012 at 1:34 am

    Love your card with gold flakes!! So beautiful! Your post makes me smile! Love seeing your take of London! I think I can relate to some of your experiences. The tube was absurdly crowded), the taxi driver (one of them) was on the rude side, but I LOVE walking on the streets of London! However, I didn’t spot spelling mistakes while I was there 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Sue B  |  June 26, 2012 at 9:22 am

    Hi Keren lovely card the brads certainly make the tree ‘pop’ and look so different. The gold flakes will be lovely for christmas cards. Glad you enjoyed London overall…did you have the ‘leaky’ meal? Went with my daughter and grandchildren last summer and found it so expensive, we took taxis the few times we didn’t walk as it was less scary than the underground and no more in cost as there were 5 of us.

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. shirley-bee  |  June 26, 2012 at 3:23 pm

    Love the card, Keren. I need to buy some Flitter Glu! We’re off to London later in the year and Greenwich is on my visit list. Greenwich Park craft market will now also be on my visit list (but not his!). I’ll watch out for blind men and leaky food (I hope there’s no truth in that spelling – ugh!). I love the underground, but I wouldn’t want to travel to work on it every day.

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Lalo  |  June 26, 2012 at 10:33 pm

    Oh my gosh…looks like you’ve been having fun out and about! LONDON looks fabulous. Wish I could go. LOVE the card too. Debated adding that tree to my cart but didn’t . Now I wish I did 😦
    PS. I can’t believe I missed the last plating with idol…what’s wrong with me!

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. Ros Crawford  |  June 30, 2012 at 3:45 pm

    Leaks??? Ha! Sounds a hectic few days my friend … Love your card! I am up to my knees in washing now I have returned … but the cruise was so worth it!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,496 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


