Be Strong & Encouraging

June 2, 2012 at 10:39 am 3 comments

20120602-095318.jpg

Hey!
This is the last in the trio of encouragement cards. I love the little bricks in the corner made using stripes made with scraps of paper. I’ll be using bricks more in some upcoming projects. The papers are a mix of Echo Park, American Crafts & Pebbles. If I told you how many cards I’d made out of a set of 8 pieces of 12×12 paper from the Gardenia and Hip Hip Hooray you wouldn’t believe me. Scraps are definitely the way to go!! Be strong is such a great sentiment generally from illness, when others are struggling or just have a challenge to overcome.

This week I’ve started a few new things- one is linked with the Paper Crafts Gallery Idol competition. It was loads of fun seeing some amazingly talented people post their work and I thought the fun should definitely not stop. So- I’ve set up a Flickr group which is open for absolutely anyone to upload cards in response to the challenges that the Top 20 will have. This weeks theme is ‘rainbow’. Go and post a card or just go and have a nosey. It’s not a competition, no rules, no deadlines, just for inspiration or fun! Each week will have a different challenge. If you want to know what it is- check out Paper Crafts Connection
Have a visit of this site- its full of papercrafting ideas and stuffed full of inspiration.
Please join the Flickr group anyway whether you post or not and continue the theme of encouragement that the whole competition began with!!

I’ll finish with a comment on the incredible creativity you find in kids. At a funny level my 4 year old returned from nursery this week and informed us that his friend at nursery had given him a name that was a lie. We told him that his friend wasn’t lying it was simply a nickname. After he’d digested this new concept, I asked him what the name was, thinking it might be ‘silly- head’ or some other 4-yr old appropriate name. ‘He calls me Scottish Rottish Rebel My Heart Lives’ he replied proudly.
Umm.
Pardon.
Wow.
Didn’t realise they were quite so creative.
My 8 yr old and his friend decided to make top hats yesterday (as you do!). I elected to stay out of the way and see how they fared. I supplied them with Sellotape, card and scissors and left them to it.
They were ‘amaze bobs’ ( as my 8 yr old would say). I was really shocked- they’d both done a brilliant job- brim and all.
Love kids; – they don’t get weighed down by correctness or rules-they simply get on with it. A good lesson for me!!

See you when I’ve finished dropping kids off at work experience and the ubiquitous party runs!! xx

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

You are not alone & Chain of Kindness Dance in the Rain card & Jubilee!

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mara  |  June 2, 2012 at 10:52 am

    Loving the encouragement cards. xx

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Ros crawford  |  June 2, 2012 at 10:54 am

    Love your card and your post … Great idea to set up a link … you really should be in that final line up though!

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Zoë Tant  |  June 2, 2012 at 2:44 pm

    you are so right about kids. They have no inhibition about design, colour or as you say correctness! Their productions are all the more exciting because of this. I’m loving your encouragement cards and yes all well here, looking forward to Vienna in 10 days, not that I’m counting and the round of food photos etc. I’ll try to be original!!! Zx

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,496 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


