Love @ 1st Sight Card & Feeling Different!

April 28, 2012 at 10:35 pm 20 comments

Back again!! This is my take on the Spectacular Spectacles Challenge from Moxie Fab World. I didn’t have a stamp or spectacle styled paper. So, I had to get creative. I searched through the internet  and found this lovely image. I just resized it a couple of times, printed it out, and for the larger specs, I added an acetate layer behind with some gems to try and give the card a bit more depth. It’s hard to see in the photo.

I am being drawn back to a more simple style recently. Ironically it seems harder to do these cards- as you tend to deliberate more through having less elements. The card is a nod to the design of  the opticians eye test charts- I wanted your eye to follow downwards.

By sticking only the centre of the @ down, it creates a slightly spiral effect too.

I felt inspired to create this card after coming back from the Aintree Craft Show today. I went with two of my girls and it made a lovely change to attend a workshop rather than run one! I was really struck today by the current trends of the show. I walked around feeling ever so slightly different. There was so little there that really appealed to me although everyone else seemed really delighted with what they were buying. I guess I know what I like! Plonk me in the centre of a CHA event and I’d not know where to look first. Ah well, another case of being in the wrong hemisphere!!

There was inspiration from a more unusual direction; a collection of costumes from the recent series of Downton Abbey. These were exquisite, beautifully made and Icould have stared at them forever.

Dunno about you- but wouldn’t you have liked to wander around in these outfits? I do love a pair of jeans when I need to do the school run- buuuuut, wearing these had to make you feel a little special!! They fitted well, were really flattering and not a T-shirt in sight!

Realising that had I actually been born at that time, invariably I’d have been in a tied cottage with oodles of kids; oh wait, I’ve got those at the moment too! Anyhow, the glamour of pre-war Britain was only real for the moneyed and then still full of the same problems we all face. So I am glad to be me.. although a little more ‘Downton Glamour’ wouldn’t be entirely unwelcome!

See you soon.. you wouldn’t believe just how washing is still backed up from being in hospital. When will they create a device that retrieves, sorts, loads, empties, dries, irons/folds and puts away all the clothes. Oh ,yes, that’s us momma’s again!  xx

 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

The simplest card in the world? & Angels Spots’n’Dots Cards & Laughter !

20 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Karen Dunbrook  |  April 28, 2012 at 11:43 pm

    what an awesome card…so fun!!

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Martina  |  April 29, 2012 at 12:22 am

    I love your card.
    I also love your sense of humour. And we moms do seem to do a lot with never an end in sight it seems.
    Hope you have a wonderful day. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    • 3. kerenbaker  |  April 29, 2012 at 8:34 am

      Thankyou!! I do love it really- guess I’m too much of a romantic at heart! Being a mom is the best job!

      Like

      Reply
  • 4. Ros crawford  |  April 29, 2012 at 11:10 am

    This is a fantastic card … your ideas are brilliant!! I loved the photos too … one day I’ll get to go to that show … today is certainly not the weather to be going anywhere! Enjoy your Sunday

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. Monika  |  April 29, 2012 at 12:46 pm

    Funky card, you make it look effortless. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. Annette Witherspoon  |  April 30, 2012 at 2:25 am

    I just love this. I especially like how you clustered all those cool elements together and the little bling on the spectacles is the perfect touch!!

    Like

    Reply
  • 7. Jamie Greene  |  April 30, 2012 at 1:26 pm

    I absolutely LOVE this!! So fun and creative:)

    Like

    Reply
  • 8. Christine Dring  |  May 1, 2012 at 8:26 pm

    Love your card! LOVE IT!

    Like

    Reply
  • 9. Larissa Heskett =)  |  May 11, 2012 at 4:53 pm

    What a NEAT card!! I LOVE the design and the different icons that you used!! THANKS for sharing and have a FABULOUS WEEKEND!! =)

    Like

    Reply
  • 10. Cath  |  May 11, 2012 at 8:27 pm

    Hey Keren! Thanks for linking this up to the Spectacular Spectacles challenge in the Moxie Fab World! I’m so glad you joined in on all the fun! 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  • 11. Jen W.  |  May 16, 2012 at 3:24 pm

    Congrats on your win over at Moxie Fab, Keren! This is fantastic!

    Like

    Reply
    • 12. kerenbaker  |  May 16, 2012 at 3:55 pm

      Thanks so much!! I didn’t know I’d won until you left your comment!! It’s made my day!!

      Like

      Reply
  • 13. Dorothy C.  |  May 16, 2012 at 3:34 pm

    Saw your card over at Moxie Fab World and loved it! It’s my favorite. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

    Reply
    • 14. kerenbaker  |  May 16, 2012 at 3:56 pm

      Aww thanks!! I was amazed to win as there are some really gorgeous and clever entries!!

      Like

      Reply
  • 15. Chunyuan  |  May 16, 2012 at 7:13 pm

    What a fabulous design. Congrats on your win.

    Like

    Reply
  • 16. Lisa L.  |  May 16, 2012 at 11:49 pm

    This is awesome!!! I love the spectacles you found with the design and fabulous execution! Just awesome!

    Like

    Reply
  • 17. Mirta Sanchez  |  May 17, 2012 at 12:42 am

    Well done! Lovely card! I’m a HUGE Downton Abbey fan as well!! Not sure I would love to wander around in all those clothes but I would certainly love to live in a simpler time!

    Like

    Reply
  • 18. quip1320  |  May 17, 2012 at 3:18 am

    Your card is super fun and I love the colors/patterns! Congrats!

    Like

    Reply
  • 19. Barb king  |  May 17, 2012 at 3:57 am

    Congrats on your Moxie Fab win, love this card design. I’m also a big Downton Abbey fan, the costumes were fantastic!

    Like

    Reply
  • 20. Lyndal  |  May 18, 2012 at 12:56 pm

    Huge congrats on the Moxie Fab win Keren – one seriously funky card – well deserved 🙂 🙂 🙂

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,496 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


