Mothers Day Card & Dye-ing Hair!

March 19, 2012 at 12:10 pm 1 comment

Happy belated Mothers Day (for the UK) and a very early greeting to my international readers who I don’t think have had Mothers Day yet? (is that right?!). Normally Mothers Day is the one day in the year that I’m guaranteed a day off. Christmas is not relaxing (although brilliant) and my Birthday’s have become rather non-entities! Alas, this year, Mothers Day was less restful but still really enjoyable. I did have some amazingly lovely cards and presents. Some were handmade, some were handmade and edible and others were thoughtfully chosen just with me in mind. I did joke with my kids that we’d had 5 kids just for days like this!! This ‘eversoslightlydodgy’ photograph is one of the cards I sent. This was for my Mum-in-law. I didn’t get to photograph my Mum’s one, but hopefully this will do! I’ve used Little Yellow Bicycle’s range called ‘Elizabeth Park’. It’s not one of their newer ones- (just try getting hold of those- they’re sold out everywhere I look!!). I’ll be showing you some of the other projects I’ve created using them shortly. I’ve had to make them sttrreeeettch as I only had 3 pieces of scrapbook paper, some stickers and a piece of acetate from the range and needed to create a scrapbook layout, a card and an altered project. This card said ‘mom’ (much to my husband’s annoyance!). He said ‘I don’t have a ‘Mom’, I have a ‘Mum’!! She didn’t seem to mind, but then she’s lovely like that! The ‘mom’ part is a canvas sticker and they’re so strokable & versatile. Here’s a slightly better pic with some more detail on.

I’ve gone for a ‘multi-layered ‘ look and was simply using up the bits from off my desk.The circular frame which  draws attention to the flower was simply left over from punching out a circle and likewise the little forked tab was just an offcut that would otherwise have ended up in the bin. I’m loving using up my button stash – just happen to have them in just the right colours! (normally never happens!!).

I’m just drinking a cup of tea as I write, made by my youngest daughter. For all of their combined hormones and ensuing challenges, it is really great having people make you cups of tea! (simple girl- easily pleased!). I continue to be surprised by their inventiveness. This last week’s saga involved another hair dyeing debacle. I remained surprisingly calm after my daughter came down resplendent in a glossy black mane and announced she’d just dyed her hair. Nervously I asked whether she’d left any ‘remains’; some of you may recall the ‘blue hair dying incident’. ‘Oh no’, she replied cheerfully, ‘there aren’t any black marks anywhere’. Satisfied, I returned to what I was doing.

In our house we have 5 ‘grasses’. They are unfortunately quick to point out each others misdemeanours and very shortly afterwards I was informed that there were various stains left in the bathroom. With a sigh in my heart, I gingerly went upstairs, steeling myself for what I’d find. Hmm. There were not just a few stains- but it was where they were that was the issue. I pointed out that the bath mat and the towel, floor and bath were not that shade of black just an hour ago and went downstairs to leave her to sort it out. I’m not always this calm- let me make that perfectly clear. However, in a God-given moment of patience, I decided to go and let her be responsible (although inside wishing she’d been more responsible in the first place!!).

Half an hour later she proudly announced that the bath mat was clean (huh? magic ?) and the bath was also clean. As for the wooden floor, its stains had not quite so vanished. Over the next hours she googled, tried various lotions and potions under the kitchen sink and all to no avail. By the evening we found 3 light coloured patches on the floor which were directly next some sandpaper which was obviously the culprit! After some discussion over who had actually started the ‘sandpaper’, and a resultant ‘it wasn’t my fault’,we told her she needed to make it good- the floor was really noticeable now and left it at that. The next morning she disappeared into the bathroom clutching shoe polish and a cloth. Within 10 minutes, she was downstairs, utterly jubilant that she’d solved the problem. I’m afraid I doubted- but, sure enough, its a pretty decent cover up. Inventive girl- but the origin of a stressful couple of days! The towel has not fared so well; she owes me a new towel- or maybe she can work towards it. Hopefully the lesson learned is; save up and go to a hairdressers, or cover the entire surrounding area for about 20 feet in some trade-worthy cover-all or go and dye your hair in your best friends house!!

Better dash, have an appointment with a 4 year old, a doctor and some vaccinations. You can be sure there’ll be a blog-worthy story by the end of the afternoon!! xx

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , .

Scrapbooking & It’s Nearly Easter Simple Kids Cards & Stampin’Up! Sale

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Ros crawford  |  March 19, 2012 at 2:25 pm

    Lovely card … glad you had a good Mothers Day … even with the Dye debacle

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,510 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


