Scrapbooking & It’s Nearly Easter

March 16, 2012 at 11:33 am 4 comments

I’m loving doing scrapbooking again- feels like a long time. Weirdly enough I’ve changed too!! -My style of scrapping and layouts has altered a little. Maybe a break from things is good for you! This is the close up of most of the action on the page. I do like ‘clustering’ most of my elements in one portion and I loved using the My Little Shoebox papers again. Having a limited selection of products does make you think about different ways of using them. The swirly banner was part of a printed square and had flowers either side, I chopped it out, hid some of the leftover flowers (just cos’ it looked a little silly now) by hiding them with the title. Although you do need to have your brain switched on whilst reading the title; 3 of my kids said ‘Mum, the title doesn’t make sense; 10 things I about you?’! You need to notice the heart as part of the title so it reads ’10 things I ‘love’ about you’! You understand me now?! It’s a nice way of affirming the children. I leave the layouts out and they read what I think about them. It’s particularly helpful on those days when I’m not feeling quite so ‘lovely’ about them (because they’ve been misbehaving) and would have a job saying these things with enough graciousness to make it believable! Another good reason to scrapbook!!!!

Here’s the full page; the little birds on the squiggle were part of a paper with lots of lines of different birds perched just like this one. I wanted to keep the page looking CAS so I cut it out and added a couple of clouds. The folded and pleated embellishment at the bottom right is just using up paper in lieu of having embellishments- just folding and creating a 3D to the page plus a few punched out holes at various places on the page. I think I can’t help this ‘hole’ thing. Not sure what that says about me!

This week I’ve been making loads of mens cards for a commission- I used to be so scared of bloke greeting cards and now I love creating them. These ones were using the ‘Chap‘ series by American Crafts. Lovely muted and autumnal colours but using lots of graphic type patterns that are perfect for men.

It’s been a long week and I’m looking forward to the weekend. It’s a bit of a busy one but at least we’re not quite so strictly governed by time.  The Easter holidays are fast approaching and I can’t wait. We have some fun things planned for a change! My older ones are going to visit their grandparents; hmm.. that came out wrong didn’t it!! Not that my kids going away is fun- but the dynamic shifts dramatically and we can do certain younger focussed things that the younger ones really enjoy. Not looking forward so much to the floods of chocolate coming our way!- I have a love/hate thing with the cocoa bean; I so LOVE chocolate, but its so hard to resist. At least because I’m fairly particular about the type of chocolate I consume, most of the kids eggs will not have any attraction for me. It would be like leaving me in a room filled with Haribo sweets; come back a week later and they’d all still be there- perfectly intact! Now, put me in a cupboard with a nice selection of Green & Blacks (dark choc if you don’t mind) or Hotel Chocolat and I may have a decent amount of trouble resisting it. You can have your DairyMilk and keep it thankyouverymuch! Shouldn’t be so fussy really, should I? !!!

See you when I’ve finished photographing another set  of projects using Little Yellow Bicycle! xx

 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , .

My Little Shoebox & Washing with Toilet Roll! Mothers Day Card & Dye-ing Hair!

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ros crawford  |  March 16, 2012 at 11:47 am

    Great page Keren … I don’t really like dark chocolate and it doesn’t care much for me either … but if there is nothing else and I’m craving … well what’s a girl to do?

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. J Grayburn  |  March 16, 2012 at 4:35 pm

    Sorry about the chocolate!!

    Like

    Reply
    • 3. kerenbaker  |  March 16, 2012 at 5:01 pm

      You won’t be the only culprit – don’t worry !!!

      Like

      Reply
  • 4. kate vickers  |  March 16, 2012 at 6:28 pm

    Great layout! I love the curved banner. 🙂

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,496 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


