Scrapbooking & Community Heroes

March 2, 2012 at 2:19 pm 1 comment

Happy Friday! It is lovely to take a large sigh and plan for the weekend- but first, here’s a few more pictures from the Paper Crafters Library projects this week. It’s a 12×12 page but boy was it tough to photograph. The photo of my daughter does have effects on it to start off with- but the Bo Bunny Sweet Tooth papers are true-to-life colourwise.

 

You can see the journalling better in this pic- sometimes its ok just to doodle lines on your page and use those to write your journalling.  I love layering and lots of different elements. The tiny dots help keep the layout from looking too stark. It could really do with an extra colour in it- it’s maybe a bit too coordinated! The whole page used such tiny parts of paper and ribbon that it’s a really inexpensive page. I’ve used my love of dots to punch out miniscule holes on part of the scalloped edging too.

This shows the teacup bunting; I wanted to do something more quirky with the papers. I cut each teacup out (cause I like doing stuff like that!) and stuck some straight onto the paper and adhered others on using 3D foam pads.

I’ve got some more projects published in the latest edition of Simply Cards & Papercraft. It’s on a theme of Cards for Men but with an Olympic Sports Theme. When I first got the commission I wondered what to do- men cards are tough and olympic themed on top? Wow! Well I ‘m glad to get my brain working so it was actually really good fun once I’d got into it. I guess they’re a little from the ‘norm’ but then what else would you expect from me?!!

I’ve been watching some more unsung heroes this week. As I drove to school this week I noticed a man walking his dog. He wasn’t in a uniform nor did have anything to mark out that he was supposed to doing his activity. He had a big clear bag and a ‘grabber’ and was picking up litter whilst he walked his dog. He did it two mornings on the row and I love the fact that he’s doing something to benefit the whole community. It would be nice if he didn’t need to do it, but that’s another rant for another day! Another group of absolute heroes are the Christie Swimming school in Liverpool. These young and not quite so young teachers are truly amazing and dedicated. They’re fantastic with the kids and they do it because they love teaching kids to swim. If you ever need coaching for children in the Merseyside area please check them out because they are utterly brilliant, great value and my kids’ confidence in the water as a result of their tuition is a joy to see.

Well, I’d better go now, I need to prepare a craft for kids ready for our church coffee morning. I wonder who will make more mess, them or me?! xx

 

 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , .

Paper Crafters Library Projects & Jack! My Little Shoebox & Washing with Toilet Roll!

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Ros crawford  |  March 2, 2012 at 5:27 pm

    What a lovely page … she is a sweetie … congrats on your publications too!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,496 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


