Paper Crafters Library Projects & Jack!

February 29, 2012 at 2:00 am 8 comments

Hi everyone! Welcome if you’re popping by from the Papercrafters Library . I’m showing just one of the projects today with a few more pictures than are on the site. I’ve got a bit more room to showcase them. It is a mini scrapbook inside an Altoid (or mint tin for us UK gals!) tin. I’ve tried to do something a little different with the inside mechanics. Normally I’ve seen them open out accordion style, but knowing I like to try and change things up a little I’ve used a ‘hinge’ type fold and the three pockets actually come out forwards, stacked one behind the other. If you want to know how to create it, you’ll need to join the Paper Crafters Library.

It is really worth paying for as I’ve been amazed by the sheer volume of really class video tutorials (well it was class until mine went up!). There is a wealth of information and inspiration and so much to learn. I’ve been stamping and crafting for quite some years and there are techniques I’ve never done before. Each week more are added so its constantly increasing. There’s mixed media, stamping, papercrafting, tool & product explanations etc. Go and have a look at the videos on the public side of the site and you’ll see what I mean.

Anyhow, back to the project– this photo gives you an idea of the inside of the tin. I’ve created pockets using the Pillow Box die from Sizzix & all of the paper and card is from Pink Paislee’s Snow Days range. I didn’t really know what to do with the snowmen, but the papers are so beautiful & can be used all year round (maybe not the snowmen ones!). This next picture shows you one of the pockets and you can see one of the inserts just peeping out. I wanted to have a mix of photos and journalling, and because the mint tin is pretty mini, I thought I’d pack as much ‘storage’ in there as possible! The pics are all from last winter when it actually snowed! We had a few blissful snow days when the schools were closed. I was hoping for a few more this year, but alas, just rain really in this part. We live in the wrong part of the UK to get regular snow so when it comes, it’s really exciting!

The treatment of the pockets decoration-wise is pretty simple. Because they’re so small, if you add too much, it looks overcrowded and your photo will look pretty lost too. If I say that the photos are about 4cm x 3cm, you’ll get the picture!

The middle pocket has space for journalling on the outside and the picture on the insert. The red ribbon tabs (Papertrey Saddle stitched ribbon) are so you can pull the inserts out easily. The lovely graph design on and behind the photo’s is using the packaging from the die-cuts ‘Ephemera’. It’s really good weight card and perfect for this project. Waste not, want that and all that!! Even the little dotted edging pieces at the bottom are simply the cut off parts from the ‘winter’ die-cut on the previous picure. The die-cut was simply too long so I used every part of it.

 This insert was made for journalling. One of the diecuts was a fancy frame shape that had a hole the perfect size to fit over the brads. I just trimmed it down & stuck it on!

I’m resting this evening after a pretty uncomfortable test yesterday. It was entirely routine and I’m fine but getting to see your insides on a monitor is a little alarming at the best of times! I was in a room with 4 lovely people and I couldn’t help remarking that this was some extreme way of getting a lie down. I was really grateful to family and friends who helped me out- it took 4 of them throughout the day to do pick ups, drop offs, babysitting and taking me to the hospital. Wow! I wasted all that lovely help on a un-fun appointment! I have not been so glad to see a Marmite bagel in a long time! 30 hours without food is not my idea of fun. Preparing meals for the family knowing I couldn’t eat any was hard work. My kids felt very sorry for me which was sweet. I’m now steeling myself not to over-eat as my body seems intent on clawing back every missed calorie!

I’ve spent some of today having a philosophical discussion with myself about the ins and outs of Jack and the Beanstalk (or Jack and The Beanstorm as Will calls it) story. We read it through a couple of times yesterday. I began to wonder several things. Just how much did Jacks mother scold him when he returned without the cow and a few beans. Would I have been so cool and calm I wonder? The next question was- why did the bloke sell him 3 magic beans? Did he know what the beans would do? Was he so content in this life that he’d eschew riches and bestow them upon a poor boy with a cow or had he already sampled the ogre of a giant up at the top of the beanstalk and decided it was too risky to keep visiting? This led to the thought of ‘why do we all think its perfectly ok for Jack to keep stealing’. It’s as if we think the poor giant doesn’t deserve his gold laying hen or harp etc. Had the giant gotten these items through ill-gotten sources? and please- why did the ogres wife hide Jack and not eat him herself? Where was the ‘stand by your man’ principle in her marriage? Did she not love him very much particularly as she kept hiding the thief over and again. Did she have a sympathy for criminals or did Jack seem poor or maybe he was a ‘lovable rogue’?! And why was the mother standing idly by as her son returned with stolen goods without saying (in a no-nonsense motherly tone)”You go right back this instance and take those things back to Mr Giant in the sky’? I could go on, but I suspect you’d rather I didn’t! If you have any answers to my questions or indeed are just worried about the state of my mental health that I would even be exploring the intricacies of a childhood fairy story, then feel free to comment & help restore my sanity! Do not worry that I’ll be kept awake at night worrying about these quandries- I’m far too wasted for that!

Better go!- see you when I’ve thought long and hard about Goldilocks and the Three Bears (oh, and posted some more projects from the Paper Crafters Library!) xx

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Teacup Card & Peace please! Scrapbooking & Community Heroes

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sue B  |  February 29, 2012 at 9:58 am

    Hello Keren, what a lovely idea to use up any small tins or boxes, they would make lovely stocking fillers or gifts for friends and family or could even be used as the birthday card ( although crafters would probably want to make a card too such is our nature.. any excuse! ). Musst take a look at Papertrey adn perhaps sign up if your ideas are anything to go by.

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Ros crawford  |  February 29, 2012 at 10:50 am

    Such a lovely project …Is that your daughter? she looks so like you! .. love the tags inside the pretty tin … hope you are feeling better right now … As for the story … well I can understand the wife (another story) … but I get where you are going with the theft and all … the things we tell our kids!
    Have a better day … xxx

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Monika  |  February 29, 2012 at 5:50 pm

    Wow Keren, this is fantastic! Love it. xxx

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. zoë  |  February 29, 2012 at 6:44 pm

    Well I would suggest that you review it all when you’ve recovered from having your flu swept…………! I hope you’re ok.

    Now as for the projects well I have no doubt that you are up there with the big guns for A1, first class projects and videos. These are gorgeous and I’m really tempted to join! Hugs Zx

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. Vicki  |  March 1, 2012 at 10:15 pm

    Have you been drinking or is it a sugar rush….lol stay off the story books…haha. Had that very same test but took the sedation with it (I’m not that brave) so it wasn’t so bad, I think it’s the days prior that are the worst 😦 Hope you’re feeling better.

    I was so proud of your 5 page spread in the mag! Well done you;)

    Take care

    Hugs
    Vicki x

    Like

    Reply
    • 6. kerenbaker  |  March 3, 2012 at 6:14 pm

      He he! Maybe it was a Marmite ran?!! Thanks for that lovely! was quite chuffed to spy the mag! Need to meet up!xx

      Like

      Reply
  • 7. Helen white  |  March 3, 2012 at 6:06 pm

    Are you sure you didn’t get any drugs? You’re right about J&tBS story though, someone didn’t think the plot through… I think it’s only survived because “Fee-Fi-Fo-Fum…” is so fun for the mummy or daddy reading the story to do.

    Great project, and I’ll def. be visiting papercrafters library

    Helenx

    Like

    Reply
    • 8. kerenbaker  |  March 3, 2012 at 6:12 pm

      Ha ha! Thanks for the comment! Maybe it was the delirium from a lack of food speaking!!

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,506 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


