Teacup Card & Peace please!

February 25, 2012 at 10:57 pm 5 comments

I’m ever-so-nearly completely crafted out! So many projects to finish and I’m very nearly there! I was going to show you all the sewing projects I’ve been doing but the photos seem to have magically disappeared. They are definitely on the Mac but I need to transfer them. I have really loved making bunting and I’ve got two lots to sell but judging how much to sell them for is quite difficult. Any ideas of what people would pay for them. They’re in red, white and blue- some stripey and checked and flowered. Yum!

This card was from a couple of weeks ago. It’s using all Papertrey supplies and was one of the rejects that I didn’t like as much. I wanted the buttons to act like steam coming out of the teacup. Stretch your imagination a little and maybe you’ll see what I mean! I love the acrylic buttons but managed to resist covering them in paper or glitter. The ribbon gathered up is supposed to look like the cafe curtains of old.

If you check back here on Wednesday I’ll be able to show you some of the projects I’ve been working on for the Papercrafters Library .

It is hard finding all the hours needed in the day. The past week I have well and truly earned my taxi drivers’ cap. I think that all the frenetic activity is part of the reason that I hunt for peace and quiet. It’s what I ask for every Christmas,- ‘peace and quiet please’. I never get it, even though its free and doesn’t require dashing around the crazily crowded shops. Maybe I’m asking too much and I know at some point I will miss all the hustle and bustle. I do love the busy-ness but the decibel level is probably enough to be recorded on the next street! I suppose that it’s to do with ‘I need to make myself heard or you won’t listen’ but I have no refuge. There is nowhere that I’m safe. Even in the bathroom I’m available for questions, refereeing or arbitrating and conversations. Daily I have what I describe as my ‘piranha hours’; that time of day from 3-7pm where everyone wants a ‘piece’ of me. Even when the teenagers have finally gone to bed there’s still the hum of the tumble dryer, the spin of the washing machine or the slosh of the dishwasher. Even when the white goods are silent you’ll often hear cars speeding by or even the Police helicopter. Maybe I need to head out to the country and hire a little cottage! My favourite book is ‘Peace & quiet’ by Jill Murphy about the Large Family (no comments please!- on either count!) and how the Mum ends up going to the bathroom with an iced bun, cup of tea and the paper just to ‘get away from you lot’. They found her, as they always do. Maybe I should take it as a compliment that my kids actually want to speak to me. I’m sure the day is not far off when they’d rather not. Until then, I’ll keep looking for my safe & peaceful haven. Any ideas where to look?!!  

See you when I’ve turned off all the noisy machines!  xx

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

Valentines Treat & Cumbersome Files! Paper Crafters Library Projects & Jack!

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Martina  |  February 26, 2012 at 1:29 am

    Hi Keren,
    I love your art work. I’m a mom of three adult daughters, not quite as busy as you, but when they were young all of their friends always hung out at our house so it was even busier and noisier. There were times when I wanted to rent a log cabin up in the mountains and stay there all by myself. I would remind myself that, even though it seemed so faraway at the time, it won’t be long before they will fly from the nest and the house will be quiet. The time came and 2 moved out, 1 stayed put. The problem is that the 2 who moved out keep “boomeranging” back again and sometimes bring friends, mainly the furry feline kind as well as the occasional 2 legged-human variety. I am beginning to think that when I am old and grey and in a nursing home is when I might get my peace, but then I will be longing for the noise and bustle of days gone by. Life isn’t fair sometimes. (Sigh)
    Have a great day and enjoy your children. 🙂
    Martina
    Edmonton, Canada

    Like

    Reply
    • 2. kerenbaker  |  February 26, 2012 at 7:02 pm

      Your comments resonate with me! I have a feeling I may be in the same come a couple of years time- although once the kids have left I doubt they’ll want to return once they’ve had a taste of freedom!! Thanks for the lovely comments! x

      Like

      Reply
  • 3. Ros crawford  |  February 26, 2012 at 9:52 am

    Lovely card … yes I can see the steam (clever that!) … The only place you will find peace is in that book by the sound of it … Lol!
    The film about the Lions was on National Geographic documentary channel on sky … Google “The Last Lions” and you can read about it etc., Have a lovely day … xxx

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Vicki  |  February 26, 2012 at 11:07 am

    You’re doing a fine job but I know what you mean 😉 take it easy 🙂

    Hugs
    Vicki x

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. dianne  |  February 27, 2012 at 8:17 pm

    you will have to come on our lovely boat and we can sail you away and craft and craft haa haa xxx

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,496 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


