Quote Card & Breaks!

January 30, 2012 at 12:36 pm 3 comments

Some Monday inspiration for you- particularly as I’ve been providing very little recently! A really quick card using  a set of Melody Ross quotes. They’re really inspiring & as I’m making other things with them and had some left over, I thought I’d post this one. Through a lack of bad (or non-existent) planning, my background is exactly the same as the tab- so you can’t really tell there’s a tab on the upper right of the card- except there is- so now you might detect it! The buttons were from a little raid on a box of buttons I bought an insanely long time ago and whose ususal purpose is for amusing the littlies who like to sort through them and count them all. Well there are now 4 less; I wonder whether they’ll notice! The red scallop is using some of their Soul Food paper (Melody Ross for g.c.d) and its just simply cut freehand. I’ve added some DCWV adhesive backed cardstock, a satin bow and some rhinestones from SU! Quite a mix’n’match card- but a super quick one.

This past week has seen me entertain breaks of different sorts. The continuation of breaking particular objects- i.e. my oven which is very sadly on its way out. I will continue to thrash it until it finally it gives up. It kinda ‘chokes’ at the moment and then springs back into action- not dissimilar to myself!! The curtain rail is still languishing in the corner. It is beyond repair but so old that I cnnot do a botch job with another one without drilling new holes in the window frame. Much as I am happy to give anything a go once, I have a feeling I’ll hit some bizarre randomly placed wires and electricute myself (that’s my excuse anyhow) so until hubster can fix the problem, my window remains completely undressed and the decidedly dirty window is even more plain to see. Hmm another job to add to the list.

The broken piano is still not fixed. I know we’re in a recession which I thought might mean that people wanted business. Apparently not. I cant find anyone willing to fix my darling piano and I really miss playing it. I wanted to buy some music recently; a Beethoven sonata and realised that it was pointless. I guess I could practice on my car’s dashboard, but possibly with less effect! The other item that is in a woeful way is my food mixer. I didn’t realise these machines actually had legs until whilst beating up and combining ingredients to make bread it careered towards the edge of the worktop and promptly threw itself off. I know I cook and bake a whole heap, but I didn’t realise my machines were quite so tired that they had to knowingly avalanche themselves of f a ledge in order to get a break. I have found a place to fix that, but now that’s simply added to the list!

Finally, the other kind of break we’ve just had was at some friends in Leicester. You know when you have good friends because they’ll invite all 7 of you and actually appear genuinely pleased to see you! There was possibly more pleasure from them once we left- but they did a stirling job at hiding it (joke!- they are really kind and longsuffering! ). To not have to cook for a whole weekend was such a luxury. I actually enjoyed stacking their dishwasher simply because it wasn’t my own! We visited Lady Jane Grey’s family home and felt truly rested. Good job really, cause today two of them have an infectious virus & I have to take another to a hospital appointment except I can’t take the germ-ridden other two as they’re contagious. Thankfully one is the older one so she can sit with the younger one whilst I hope against hopes that the appointment is on time & rush back home to make tea. Tea however, may be a long time coming- if the oven continues its slow speed. It may pootle towards becoming supper. We’ll see!

I’ll try and make more time to post- I just don’t know where all this spare time goes!! See you when I’ve cleaned the window (I will have to do it out of shame now; as I’ve told you all!!) xx

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , .

Hello Card & Strength! Dotty Fabric Card & Farms!

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. kate  |  January 30, 2012 at 1:27 pm

    Love the card Keren and glad you had a good time away 🙂 x

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Vicki  |  January 30, 2012 at 3:56 pm

    Oh joy, you make my life look so boring…..lol I’m laughing at you in case you hadn’t guessed…haha never a dull moment! So glad you all had a little break (you deserve it), I’m trying to keep on top of my card list and so far so good (one month in anyway….lol).

    Hope to see you soon 🙂

    Hugs
    Vicki x

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Ros crawford  |  January 31, 2012 at 12:28 pm

    Such a fun and creative card again Keren … so glad you got to have a break too … and isn’t it always the way … when one thing breaks down a few follow suit … I laughed visualising your mixer throwing itself of the table … It could only happen to you!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,496 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


