Hello Card & Strength!

January 20, 2012 at 2:22 pm 5 comments

I love that it’s Friday. Hurrah! Roll on tonight.. This card is one of the most messed around with cards I’ve ever done. One of those projects that you try and change one thing and then something else looks wrong. It went on like that for some time! Initially it was supposed to be a corrugated card with a simple dotted background. Then I went to acetate and then the plain card looked wrong, so I added white on a half, but then that swamped it, so had to cut down the white. Then it looked too colourless so added the stripes behind. I ended up cutting the hole size of card down, adding a blue bottom – you name it, I’ve done it several times over!! Even the little bunting from some Bella Blvd paper I’m using up was there to hide the fact that my strimmer is so blunt, it refused to cut, the blade slipped behind its housing and then marked the card. Look closely- you’ll see a couple of ‘etched’ lines. The acetate is stamped with white Stazon and then stuck to the white piece. This is then attached using 3D foam to give the card some dpth that you can’t really get from the photo! It goes to show that often things never turn out quite so- or isn’t that just life completely! Even yesterday I was trying to sort out some lighting issues for videoing in my room and tried to close the curtains.

Too much pulling, I actually broke the entire curtain rail and it came off in my hands! One of my friends this morning commented ‘She-ra’ at me (previous post joke- search it if you want to know!)- but actually before you think I’ve been working out, it was in the house before we were and I suspect it’s as old (& brittle!) as me. When I inspected the rail- there was no wonder it didn’t close, as the top of the rail was filthy. Hmm..my life is too short to go around cleaning the tops of their curtain tracks. Who does that? Or maybe you all do (…goes off and hides in shame!)

This week I knocked another item off my bucket list; ‘red velvet cupcakes’. I’m glad I’ve done them once but I doubt i’ll repeat them. Red cake is wrong. It looks wrong and it doesn’t taste like you think it will. In all, it was very disappointing. The recipe was a Paula Deen one (which my US friends will get) and was moist and cupcake-like, ..but 2 tbsps of red colouring? Nope, I think I’ll try some other recipe. Speaking of recipes, I’ve tried a couple of new ones. I’m trying to get out of the ‘we always eat that’ rut and we’re sort of enjoying it. Chicken pilaf is a winner and so is Chorizo pasta (with sherry vinegar and creme fraiche) however I’m not enjoying the amount of washing up. These cookbooks don’t tell you that the cook/chef never does the washing up and just swans off to make the next glamorous recipe! Ah well, no-one said this domestic goddess thing would ever be easy!

I’ve been quiet in blogland as I really am swamped with work. It’s a good place to be and I’m loving the challenges but it does restrict my ability to post new projects as I can’t show you what I’m working on..yet!!

I’ll see you when I’ve escaped from my piles of dirty kitchen pots! xx 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , .

Dotty Card & Shoes! Quote Card & Breaks!

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ros crawford  |  January 20, 2012 at 4:00 pm

    This is like 2 cards in one … the little white one on it’s own with the banner is terrific .. then on the corrugated … well my friend you are to be applauded not only for your clever ‘cover ups’ (which we all do but not so well or as artistically as you) … but for your thinking out of the box and always coming up with something pretty and unique! Not to mention unisex too … You have been hiding your light under that bushel far too long!

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Ros crawford  |  January 20, 2012 at 4:02 pm

    BTW … clean on top of curtain rails?? Are you serious? Maybe I should hide with you…..

    Like

    Reply
    • 3. kerenbaker  |  January 20, 2012 at 4:05 pm

      Oh good- love feeling I’m not alone!! Maybe we should start a self help group!

      Like

      Reply
  • 4. Vicki  |  January 22, 2012 at 12:37 am

    Hey it’s official I’m back in blogland……hahaha Loving your card, the colours in it are fab! Look forward to another crafty night and you are welcome to come here and I could invite a couple more ladies (the more the merrier or should that be chattier!?)

    See ya soon

    xx

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. Matilda Jane Holmes  |  January 22, 2012 at 7:59 am

    Keren I love this card. I have one of those machines to crimp paper and I keep forgetting I have it Thanks for the reminder.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,496 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


