Dotty Card & Shoes!

January 14, 2012 at 8:53 pm 5 comments

After a dull sort of week weather wise, I needed something to brighten up the weekend. This little project was created using a scoreboard, a hole punch and little box of previously die-cut button embosslits that I keep for whenever I need some buttons and can’t be faffed to run them all through (the die-cut that is, not trying to pierce them!) Guess I’ve been watching too many period dramas recently! Anyhow, I put the card on the Scoreboard (I use my Scorepal which is very easy) and scored across every 1/2″ and then rotated the card 90 degrees and did it the other way so you’re left with a square grid-type pattern. I knew punching holes would be easy, as there was now a square to centre each dot in. I went with this pattern quite by chance and then lined up some cardstock behind it. By happy coincidence, the inside of the card looked quite interesting. If I’d thought about it beforehand, I’d have cut my rectangles more uniformly- but they still look ok and I like the graph-like pattern!

 Some of the buttons were raised with 3D foam and the others stuck straight onto the card. It just keeps the card from looking too same-y. Also, by using different sized/patterned buttons, that helps break it up too. Add a nice contrasting coloured ribbon (I chose black) and add the sentiment. I’d wanted to add a larger sentiment on the card itself. I wasn’t going to stamp it directly on the card blank as because of the all the embossing, it might not have stamped very evenly. Once I’d stamped and trimmed the sentiment, it just didn’t look right in any position so I went for something little on the bow. You’d never know, unless I told you!

Today has been one of those not-fun-but-have-to-do-it kinda days. The one where we all go shoe shopping for a certain teenage daughter. my husband is far better at this than me. The conflicting factors are price versus style versus school acceptability rules and finished off with a healthy dose of whether she’ll be able to keep them on her feet (aka sensible shoes that she can’t tell me off for ruining her feet with at some point in the future!). As you can imagine it’s quite a challenge. The challenge was complicated by the fact that all the kids were there too (when will we ever learn?!). By the end of the afternoon we returned to the very first shop! Typical! She actually loves the shoes she has at the moment but has managed to wear a hole into them and run down the heel. Out of interest, I had popped along to my local Timpsons and asked how much to put one sole and one heel on. £18.95. Are you serious? I felt at one with John McEnroe at that very point. Oh yes, that was most definitely the price. I left muttering to myself that I could buy a new pair of shoes for that price. I would have liked to see the soles on that shop-keepers feet, I bet they were soled with pure gold! And so we got a pair of shoes plus heel grips for just under that price. Job done. Stress levels through the roof and a me, a little despairing. My other daughter saw me looking at a pair of be-yootiful moss green shoes in a shop reduced from £200 to £56. Why don’t you buy them with your birthday money Mum? I considered it for a mili-second and thought-No way, I cannot bring myself to spend that much money on a pair of shoes..why I could nearly get 3 individual shoes soled and heeled for that price!!!!

Hope your weekend is going ok. I will see you when I’ve ordered a skip ready to put all the rubbish in so we have space for a garden shed (for the bikes, not my daughter!!) xx

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , .

Authentique Card & Clearing Out! Hello Card & Strength!

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ros crawford  |  January 15, 2012 at 11:43 am

    You are such a brilliant designer my friend … this is stunning! Give me a couple of weeks and all ‘should’ be in order here … hope you can then call round and we can catch up xxx

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Sue B  |  January 15, 2012 at 1:57 pm

    This is what blogs are for ….inspiration and you never cease. Lovely bright card Keren, must have a look at a score-pal – never heard of it.

    Like

    Reply
    • 4. kerenbaker  |  January 15, 2012 at 10:16 pm

      Thankyou ! You’re always full of lovely comments. You can come round and play with mine- invaluable- you’d love it! x

      Like

      Reply
  • 5. zoë  |  January 16, 2012 at 2:48 pm

    Keren I love the clean lines and bright colours. Glad that SU is still in there some of the time!!! Zx

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,510 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


