Favourite Projects & Paper Crafter’s Library Design Team Submission

December 27, 2011 at 10:40 pm 5 comments

Hey! Just a quick post. You’ll probably wonder why I’m showing projects that you might have seen before! Well, I’m linking to a website called Paper Crafter’s Library as they had a call for a design team and I thought I’d send a submission post somewhat cheekily as it’s primarily for US & Canadian crafters. Ah well, maybe a little bit of English style might go down ok!

This first card is showing that you don’t actually need many products to create a card, just little sections of cardstock with matching ink colours. Just so that the card doesn’t become too repetitive, I mounted the bottom middle section and put my sentiment on there too. Just playing around with different colours and widths gives a modern twist to the card.

 The little touch of glitter changes the silhouette and the black bow is reminiscent of the old fashioned picture hangings from  picture rails. Using the clear mounted stamps meant it was really easy to line up the frames and the black heads.

 

 

The next project is a more recent one and is a favourite because I love how much tiny detail you can cram onto one item before it starts to look too crowded! It was a pillow box adapted to make a hanging pouch that could be used for a tree decoration or even a special gift tag on a gift- particularly when its outside of the season. I’ll use this idea again. Using papers with small patterns helps make it look less cluttered. Using left over ‘negative’ portions for the number 25 which I’d die-cut out, was re-used by adding patterned paper behind. If you hadn’t got a perfect rectangle left-behind, cut it angularly  so it looks intentional.

So many of your perceived ‘mistakes’ can be completely turned around and incorporated so that it looks as if you’d designed it that way.

 

 

 

 

My final card is the simplest– and the quickest and easiest to create. It was made to use up lots of buttons that I knew I wouldn’t use separately. I love that you can use nearly every colour in the rainbow and it doesnt clash! By grading them from light to dark it gives the card coordination without being too busy. Adding more accents with semicircles of toning card finishes it off. The black helps the colours ‘pop’ and ties in the sentiment colour.  

 

 This card ended up on Pinterest recently which made me smile too!

I’ve been busy with a new commission for another craft magazine which is plenty of work and making me think hard too! It’s also been good to sit down and rest a little this Christmas, although I really enjoyed a much needed walk today. Too much sitting and not enough fresh air is not the best combination.

Need to go and clean out my craft space- it’s a real jumble!! xx

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , .

Fudge & Amazing Women! Craft Artist Platinum Review & Fussy Cutting!

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ros crawford  |  December 28, 2011 at 1:49 pm

    These are well worth showing a second time .. I love them and I have no doubt that you will be snapped up very soon as a DT you would be a great asset to any team!

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Valerie Durham  |  December 30, 2011 at 7:36 pm

    Gorgeous projects! Good luck!

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Kadie in Arizona  |  December 31, 2011 at 4:13 am

    Keren: Your projects are fabulous and can only image that Andrea is going to want your style and eye for design on her team. Best of Luck to you and many thanks for your wonderful comment you posted on my blog. So nice that you visited my blog!

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Barbara ramsey  |  January 5, 2012 at 12:48 am

    Hello!

    Congratulations on becoming part of the design team! What wonderful news to start the new year with! Wishing you everythng good and looking forward to seeing your creations!

    Hugs,

    Barbara Diane

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. Carol  |  January 6, 2012 at 4:49 pm

    Your designs are great, no wonder you were chosen. Many congratulations and I look forward to seeing you at the ‘library’

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,496 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


