Fudge & Amazing Women!

December 24, 2011 at 11:35 pm 8 comments

These little bags were my cheat to providing Christmas cards to some of my friends and mostly my neighbours. The fudge hadn’t set fully- needed fridging- but its all in the taste supposedly!-so I might just have gotten away with it!

As its Christmas, You’ll allow one emotional post, won’t you?!

All our thoughts have turned to Christmas now, no matter how scroogesque you pertain to be! As I’ve been reflecting myself, my thoughts have turned tonight to a particular group of women that I have the honour of knowing. It’s a group I belong to, a club that no-one ever wanted to join but a sisterhood where we’re bound more powerfully together than most friendships. When I count all of these girls up, they span across the globe and number more than I wish I knew. We’ve all lost children and the tales I could tell about how amazingly I met them are for another occasion. You cannot help but be inspired and strengthened by their courage, faith and inability to give up.

We’re a disparate group yet a special one. Their stories would make grown men cry and yet you rarely see them do so. They have often learned that crying is best saved for when they’re with trusted friends or in the safety of their own four walls.

Why am I sharing this? Because, as you’ve probably guessed, this time of year is often fairly difficult. It’s not that we try to think more, it’s just supposed to be a family time (as all the adverts often remind us with picture perfect family scenes!). It’s not even something you can help; only last week I left church in tears (no-one saw, I just didn’t want to be that sad in front of everyone). Emotion just rises up sneakily and shakes you up once more- it doesn’t matter how many years or weeks it has been…I’d just love if you would pray and care for anyone who is heartbroken. They won’t look heartbroken, but I promise you, they are– and often they are weeping silently inside. Just allow for them and bear with them-they will appreciate it more than you will ever understand. I have had one particular friend who I know has had me in her thoughts and prayers recently; I’m very thankful for her.

This post is also a tribute to all these amazing women- to keep going, keep loving and keep sharing your stories. There is hope; you know that the reason to keep living is found in the manger in Bethlehem and although He’s not there anymore, the incredible truth of a Saviour who meets this worlds’ needs by being born to die is still a powerful message.

I wanted to also thank you all for reading this blog- thanks for all your lovely comments both on and off the web. I wish you all a really hope-filled Christmas and look forward to sharing with you after Christmas. I will be back once I’ve eaten a few too many calories and added to the paper mountain!!

Happy Christmas xxx

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Jingle Bells Card & Creating! Favourite Projects & Paper Crafter’s Library Design Team Submission

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mara Livingstone-McPhail  |  December 25, 2011 at 12:10 am

    Wishing you and yours joy as we celebrate the birth of our Saviour.

    Thank you, Keren. You have helped in many ways, and I am so blessed to have you in my life. x

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Su Assaad  |  December 25, 2011 at 5:11 pm

    Hey Keren, you always speak aloud what in my heart, thank you for your deep warm thoughts and most of all thank you for being always patiant in listning to me! thinking of you xx
    Su A

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Susan Aitken  |  December 26, 2011 at 10:41 pm

    Sending you love and you will be in my prayers tonight. xxx Another Su(e) A from church! xxx

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. sharon bates  |  December 28, 2011 at 4:43 am

    hi keren, do you make your own brown bags?

    Like

    Reply
    • 5. kerenbaker  |  December 30, 2011 at 1:59 pm

      Hi Sharon, No- although I guess you could. They’re coffee bags and i bought them in a big share fairly reasonably. Did you want to buy some? xx

      Like

      Reply
  • 6. Gina  |  December 28, 2011 at 7:34 pm

    Hi Keren,
    I found myself here after searching for card ideas. I didn’t expect to be drawn in by your story. My little boy (9) knows that I lost a baby before him and often hugs me and says “If the baby was here I wouldn’t be” It’s sweet sorrow but I have to believe things happen for a reason and although I too don’t wish to be part of “the club” I have met many amazing women as a result. Saying a prayer for each and every one today
    Gina
    P.S: I love your cards and will be back for lots more browsing and inspiration!

    Like

    Reply
  • 7. Michelle W  |  December 31, 2011 at 1:11 am

    Beautiful projects Keren!!! LOVE the one with the buttons!!!!! Good luck to you as well and Happy New Year!!!!!

    Like

    Reply
  • 8. Ginger G  |  January 5, 2012 at 4:30 am

    You are sooooooo right! I don’t know your story. But I know you are blessed to be among such a great group of women. Listening, praying, and just loving each other as Christ did, it just doesn’t get much better. God Bless You!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,496 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


