Christmas Crafting Day 11 & Cadbury’s World!

November 23, 2011 at 12:22 pm 4 comments

Today’s project is more of an idea rather than a finished piece. Tags on simple gifts (or even more extravagant ones!) are often very one dimensional. I had some chocolates hanging around that needed using up. I also had a collection of tags looking pretty forlorn. Just combine them with whatever little scraps you have lying around. The lace was too wide a piece to be very useful so I chopped it in half, stuck each half to a piece of cardstock (in order to hide the cut ends) and you’d never know they weren’t supposed to be like that (or am I kidding myself?!). I know its woefully simple but some of you are looking for ideas that you can use with what you have in the house, so I thought this would be a perfect starting point for you. There are mini snowmen, santas etc etc that would be cute on a tag for a kiddies gift. Please post a link or send me an email with what you’ve come up with- I’d love to see!

I’ve had some pretty early starts recently. Yesterday was earlier than most. The school as a result of studying the topic of Chocolate (yes, I know, whatever happened to Kings of England etc etc!!) were going on a trip to Cadbury World. To be fair, its a great topic, has really enthused the kids and this trip was the icing on the cake, or should I say, the ganache on the sponge!! The ‘kicker’ was that we had to get our offspring to school no later than 7:35. Various versions of the teachers warnings were Chinese-whispering their way around – but versions were ending up like- ‘if you turn up at 7:45 you’ll just see the back of the bus!’ and ‘we will not wait for you, you’ll just not be coming’. These statements (true or otherwise) had the desired effect of scaring the kids witless! I know that Jamie and several of his friends were up early both out of extreme excitement and abject fear that they’d be late and left behind! We got there in plenty of time- the buses did not. My nutty rushed morning was pretty uneccessary in the end but they all got off safely. The extra kicker was that I then had to hang around with no.3 child as school for her didnt start until 8:50 and then no.5’s nursery didn’t begin until 9:15!!

At 5pm, I was waiting for my son to come home. It was pitch black and even finding which one was my child was a challenge! I was expecting a boy coming home rammed full of chocolate -but he hadn’t touched a single piece. Wow, you’re thinking, her boy must have amazing self control?- nope. They didnt get one single piece of chocolate the entire way around Cadburys World. Go figure! The poor kids being subjected to chocolate at every angle yet unable to consume any. They’d been told they couldnt eat any on the buses (which is a thoroughly sensible rule given childrens propensity to the ‘food,buses and puking combination’). However, we couldnt ascertain where the free samples had got to. Having been round myself a few years ago, I know, people get free bars. I’m fairly certain that the staff didnt have them shoved up their coats- maybe the recession has hit Cadbury’s too?! So he just brought home what he’d bought from the shop (with money that we gave him).

He did buy us presents, bless him. I told him not to, as he didn’t have oodles of cash. He insisted that the small bar could be shared with his brother, but was less keen to hand out anything to his sisters! The little tiny (like with 6 chocs in)Roses boxes were one for Mum and one for Dad. This didn’t go down well with the female siblings and after some snorting and hurumphing from them, he reneged and said  they could share a box. Mum and Dad could share a box. That’s fine I thought. Their Great-Nan then came for tea, he decided he’d give her one of the boxes ‘I bought this for you’ he proudly announced as he presented it to her. Hmm.. not sure whether that was the family box or Mum and Dad’s box that we were now sharing! The remaining box has disappeared somewhere. I don’t mind; I’m not a real Roses lover anyway. I just watched in amusement as the gift became a little cyclic and the original recipients ended up with rather less than they’d imagined!

It all goes to show that

a) you can’t please everyone all of the time,

b) that older sisters are a force to be reckoned with, and

c) if you do perchance happen to visit Cadbury World in the near future, you might be best taking your own supplies in case you forget what chocolate actually tastes like

See you tomorrow (definitely!- I’m prob extending it a day or two due my slovenliness on posting due to unwanted cold germs!!) xx

 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , .

Christmas Crafting Day 10 & Birthdays! Crafting Christmas Quickie!

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Monika  |  November 24, 2011 at 3:28 pm

    Great tag idea. So unfair about the chocolate. XXX

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Carole  |  November 24, 2011 at 7:42 pm

    I went a few years ago we all had chocolate bars on arrival, a little chocolate drink and a taste half way round. I think it’s pretty sad to have a school trip to a place like that with no treats! What a sweetie he is though, sharing out his supplies!

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Ros crawford  |  November 25, 2011 at 10:10 am

    Loving the tag … but what Scrooges Cadbury’s are!! Not to mention cruel! … Ce La Vie!

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. kerenbaker  |  November 25, 2011 at 10:14 am

    I have to add a note here! They did actually come out the next day with 3 chocolate bars- apparently their teacher had bought it for them! They all got their free samples a day later- shame they didn’t tell them really! Cadburys is in the clear now- hooray!!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,506 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


