Christmas Crafting Day 10 & Birthdays!

November 21, 2011 at 1:45 pm 2 comments

I know, I’m a day behind! Trust me, I’m a few days more than that generally. The stinking cold really put paid to several of my plans and mostly the fun ones!! I managed to get out to the Craft Event on Friday night but I was somewhat below par! Having said that, it was a fun night although ended a little scarily doing a kebab run for my hubby. I’ve realised I’m an utterscaredy-cat. I won’t be doing that inthedarkbymyself at10:30againthankyouverymuch! Back to the project- this is the jam I mentioned a few posts back. Full credit has to go to Apple And Spice for her Plum and Vanilla Jam Recipe. I did tweak it a little and add 1 tsp of cinnamon per recipe amount and I love the jam. Check her blog out- its a great foodie place! I had in mind how I wanted to decorate them. After all, if you give something good, often people want the recipe (yes, I havent forgotten the Tiffin thing!) so I thought I’d give the gift with the recipe added as the decoration. First I typed it out into long strips, cut it down and attached it onto my jam jar. You do need to think about how you’re putting it on, as I knew it would take two strips but was careful to ensure that the whole recipe was contained on the two strips. Then I wanted to create the little tag using a Tim Holtz fragment. The lazy lump that I am, couldn’t be bothered to go and find my acrylic block,and so opted for this solution instead ! Who knew?!!! The tag is simply made using a bit of the text recipe paper, some plain white paper and green striped. You add some Glossy Accents over the back of the tag, press it onto the paper where you want it and then cut around after its dried. I love the fragments because you can decorate front and back and it gives a lovely dimension to the look. I’ve got a whole load of these stashed away. They were too beautiful but they’ll now be on all my jams and chutneys. I think the chutney may need a slightly more masculine treatment! Here’s the top of the jar

The stamp set is a PTI one, text style ‘Everyday Treats’ and I’ve used it loads, particularly taking round meals- so they’re labelled up well. The paper is slightly angled because I forgot to line up the orange seal properly so the paper had to go to the side of the rubber lip. Chump!

Onto the weekend- or rather, back to the weekend! It was Will’s 4th Birthday. He had a long and uncrowded day- which was the perfect thing for him. It meant he got lots of time to actually play with his presents! I did let him into the kitchen to decorate the cake with me… I show you these pics for two reasons;

1. To show I don’t take myself too seriously and so you laugh at my cake!

2. To show that this is what happens when you put a newly-4 year old in charge of sweets, icing and glitter. Here is Will’s cake!

There is a story to the cake; apparently Buzz Lightyear is imprisoned behind the sticks (aka Matchmakers). The snowballs are to stop him escaping and indeed, the only way he can be rescued is to eat the cake and set him free. Cunning plan. Great Story. I like the way he thinks! We did indeed set him free. William was pretty insistent that everyone knew that the figure was not for eating but derived immense pleasure from sucking his chocolate coated feet for a very long time!!! Birthdays huh! I like the simple ones the best. No Razamatazz. A meal that he chose eaten with his family (plus his uncle) and an uncluttered day where the timings were entirely his to choose.

Kinda wish I could have one of those days this week.

See you when I’ve been to my stamp club’s Christmas party tonight. The one and only party where I can just be. xx

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , .

Christmas Crafting Day 9 & Chutney Question! Christmas Crafting Day 11 & Cadbury’s World!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. em  |  November 21, 2011 at 2:44 pm

    love this decoration keren…jam and cake that is!

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Ros Crawford  |  November 21, 2011 at 10:30 pm

    Ooooh I love this … shame I’m just to lazy or otherwise too occupied to make jam … but what a lovely gift and love the TH fragment. Happy Birthday to Will and I think his cake is magnificent!!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,510 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


