Papercrafted Clock & AWOL Hamster

October 31, 2011 at 10:53 pm 4 comments

And just when you thought you’d seen the last of that stamp set ‘Forever Young’!!- here’s a really different take on it! It’s a chocolate holder (or small pressie). The actual clock comes apart from its red base and it is attached using velcro tabs. It took some work, I can tell you and involved a whole ginormous lot of fussy cutting. The clock face is layered with some acetate to give the glass look and whilst I couldn’t quite get a patina on the cardstock, the gloss finish is echoing the varnished wood. This photo shows you how the door actually opens into the ‘mechanics’ of the clock . You twist the ‘brad handle’ and it can close again!!!

Can’t say I’ll be making this one a lot- but it seemed wrong to leave the stamp without attaching it to a proper grandfather clock. My kids looked at this and said ‘why?’. I’m sure a lot of you are saying the same thing!!!

As I was reflecting on my blog recently and weighing up how to change it, it dawned on me that my blog often seems quite dramatic. I do not ever make these stories up and yet my life is starting to become almost comically dramatic. My opinion of my life wasn’t helped by a certain chain of events today.

Steve has recently sold his car and is waiting to get the replacement. This did mean that my school run required a very early start in order to drop off Steve, my older two and then back half way across the city to drop off the two younger ones. You can guess it was a little more rushed than usual. I tore into the kitchen on my way out and suddenly felt something underfoot. The ‘thing’ under my boot let out what I can only describe as the animal equivalent of a blood curdling scream. At this, I too screamed (like a complete girl) and ran out of the kitchen in a bit of a panic. I guess most people would scream if I stood with my full weight compounded into a small area. Everyone wanted to know why. I said I’d trod on a mouse or something. They asked how big and it dawned on me that this was no mouse. ‘Was it a rat?’ they questioned. No, I didn’t think so. I then said ‘it was the same colour as your hamster Heather’. At this point she shot like a rocket upstairs to find that her hamster cage was still intact with no obvious exit holes yet the hamster was indeed AWOL. I felt sick. Utterly sick. Like a lead balloon had dropped in my stomach. The realisation that I’d just stood on her hamster and probably given it overwhelming internal injuries started to dawn on me.After a hurried barricading of the kitchen, we rushed out, now more late than ever. I had to be reminded not to drive into people several times by Steve. It’s a wonder I arrived at school in one piece.

 The kitchen was very quiet when I got back home. I presumed it had scurried into a completely unreachable part of our kitchen. I was gutted. My daughter had been in tears and I felt really quite stressed. I hoped it had died a quick death and wasn’t suffering in the corner. It wasn’t until tonight, two hours after Steve had taken all the kick-boards off from under the kitchen cabinets. He came back in, checked again and there were two beady eyes staring him out; Pearl the Invincible. If you could have seen the antics it took to get the hamster out from behind the fridge you’d have been amazed. My husband deserves a medal for perseverance. I sadly chickened out- partly through guilt but mostly due to a work deadline. She is now in her cage (which has been taped up at every possibly exit point) sleeping soundly. Great. She is blissfully unaware of exactly how many man hours we have spent on her. She even got prayed for.

Silly hamster.

Took the edge off the kids and silly Halloween. I had no patience for it tonight. I asked two teenagers ‘aren’t you a bit old for this’?! just about November huh,cold days and long nights! but we did see the most amazing rainbow on the way home from school tonight. It was so vivid. One of the kids asked whether there is really a pot of gold at the end?   Hello?! ermm- no. Although I do like to imagine the rainbows end was touching our house and we didnt find a pot of gold, but a dusty, tired and prodigal ball of fluff!

See you when I’ve recovered from the shock xx

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , .

Christmas Tree Card & Half Term antics Congrats Card & Being Unworthy!

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Barbara  |  November 1, 2011 at 6:31 am

    I love reading your blog Keren it is fab honest and funny and prob like most of our lives ,dont stop ha! x Barbara

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Monika  |  November 1, 2011 at 9:33 am

    Love that clock!!! x

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Ros crawford  |  November 1, 2011 at 5:03 pm

    This is just an amazing piece of art my friend … I love it!!! So wish you’d linked it to CCCB yesterday …. And the hamster … I’m still getting over the shock too … Eeeek!

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Anne-Marie Smith  |  December 10, 2011 at 6:26 pm

    Wow, lovely work Keren.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,510 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


