Contemporary Baby Card & Not Again!

October 24, 2011 at 2:54 pm 8 comments

Its half term! Yay! should be long lovely mornings with nothing to do except gently ease the kids out of their jammies (scouse phrase!) and try and keep them relaxed. It’s not quite happening here (but then, did you really expect that from me? The saga I promised  you is coming shortly- but really I should mention this card. I love how the background looks a little like stars in a twinkling  night sky surrounding a alternative baby card. Lets face it,- they’re all the same those  newborn congrats cards- usually standard colours and stock images. I suspect I may have  difficulty finding a recipient to congratulate that wouldnt think the card was a little off, but hey, my style is what it is!

I’ve used another office mini envelope, sealing it and then cutting off the top. Punch half a circle and add another half circle that you’ve already punched twice so to create a little circular frame. I think the details are what I love again- so here’s a better close up

I know the Forever young set is perhaps an unusual choice for a baby card- but by using  the profile stamp in green and glittering  it, and it changes the whole look. The pendants are from Pennant Parade set and I’ve added some little hearts. The envelope does contain a removable white card that you could write something personal on or simply add the birth details. I’ve got loads of lolly sticks left from the brief dalliance I had with Cake pops. I’m planning some fun Christmas cake pops so they won’t get wasted. Watch this space..

Onto the story. It seems we have extremely efficient burglars in our area. They saw fit to break in 2 days short off a year since the last time. (I know, not again!) Thankfully I have a diary, so I’ll be able to look out for them next year. I may well leave a small menu card taped to the window with a selection of home-made cakes they can order in advance, so at least we can prepare for them coming. Thankfully too, we have insurance so its only a matter of a shed-load of hassle, increased premiums next year and a small matter of an policy excess to fork out for!! It’s a times like this I’m very glad I’ve organised my Christmas list, as things appear to be complicating my life in an increasing amount.

It’s funny too, how your mind works (you know mine’s a little skewed!). As I was starting to clear all the smashed glass up, I found a little worm squirming amongst the shards. I actually said ‘aahhhhh’ out loud, and felt sorry this little thing had been caught up in all of the mellay. As I was sifting through the mess, I had to throw the contents of  container away that was full of  a cinnamon sugar mix (that I’d previously used to make some French Breakfast puffs. It was a pretty naff job, clearing away all the glass, but made so much nicer because everytime I swept up more glass, the aroma from the cinnamon/sugar mix I’d just cleared wafted through the air. It would amount to the nicest glass cleaning-up experience I’ve ever had!!- See, not everything has to be miserable! I won’t bore you with the complications following, or this post would be exceptionally long. The kids have been a little upset by it all, and that’s the worst thing. BUT you have to remember that its only ‘stuff‘!

I will go and leave you with a quote from a man called Matthew Henry who lived in the late 1600s’ to early 17oo’s. This was his perspective after being robbed ;

” I thank God first because I was never robbed before; second, because although they took my purse they did not take my life; third, because although they took my all, it was not much; and fourth because it was I who was robbed, and not I who robbed”.

Isn’t perspective everything?!!!

xx

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Tiny Thanks & Harvest Pumpkins Christmas Tree Card & Half Term antics

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Vicki  |  October 24, 2011 at 3:14 pm

    Hey, hope you guys are recovering and I’m thinking of you too. Enjoy the week off and hopefully we can catch up soon – I did email you but now I’m wondering whether you got it, something fishy going on with my emails???

    Big hugs
    Vicki x

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. veronica  |  October 24, 2011 at 4:10 pm

    Hi Keren,
    Not often I leave comments but really admire the positive ‘flip’ you put onto what for anyone is a traumatic event.
    Laughed at your idea of leaving a cake selection list but really loved the 16th century quote you put at the end. Rather puts everything into perspective.
    Hope you and family are blessed with the strength, courage and love that you need at this time.

    Like

    Reply
    • 3. kerenbaker  |  October 25, 2011 at 9:18 am

      Well then, that makes your comment even more special! Thankyou or your kind words and lovely comments. Hope you have a special day today! x

      Like

      Reply
  • 4. zoë  |  October 24, 2011 at 5:43 pm

    You sure know how to bounce back girl! I’m impressed how positively you’ve dealt with this annoyance. I love the quote and wish I was as talented as you at finding such info. Hope this week is better for you and ENJOY half term. Hugs Zx

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. Ruth Trice  |  October 24, 2011 at 10:15 pm

    Oh you poor things, Praise God you weren’t harmed at all. You are so right, stuff is stuff, there are so many more important things. Praying your children will get over the shock. Love the card, my sis likes doing alternative baby cards too. You’ve inspired me!

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. Ros crawford  |  October 25, 2011 at 10:53 am

    What!!! Not again … what have you got girlie? or rather what did you have?? … Not sure I could be so gracious … but then that’s you … and thank God you are all ok … Love your alternative baby card … always clean and unique … Take care of yourself … sending happy thoughts your way … xxx

    Like

    Reply
  • 7. peg  |  October 25, 2011 at 12:58 pm

    Oh dear but aren’t you something special to deal with it how you have, luckily it’s never happened to us but if ever it did I hope I can share your perspective on it. As you say it’s only stuff and hope your children are recovering x

    Like

    Reply
  • 8. Monika  |  October 26, 2011 at 4:06 pm

    Your idea for the cake pre-order made me smile. Hope you are all ok. Space intrution in never a nice thing to deal with. Cinnamon is lovely and warming. It sounds as if it somewhat brightened your day.
    Love the card. I think the silhouette is perfect.
    love and hugs xxx

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,510 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


