Tiny Thanks & Harvest Pumpkins

October 21, 2011 at 10:11 am 5 comments

Inspired by Ros Crawford (& not for the first time) combined by the fact I’ve been going a little pumpkin-crazy I decided to do something in response to the Harvest Festival challenge over at City Crafters Their theme is anything to do with Harvest or Fall and I spied a little tiny metal bucket kicking around by itself. I’ve used harvest colours and the idea of being thankful for harvest rather than images of produce per se. It is really diddy- and I’ll show you a pic in a moment to give you scale. This is to remind me to give thanks. After a particularly difficult week with something I’ll share about next week, its tempting to look inward and moan. But why do that when we have so much to be thankful for at a time when millions have so little. In this bucket are little tiny cardstock  soldiers each containing something that I’m thankful to God for. You can never be too thankful, so when I’m tempted to be ungrateful, I’ll dip into my gratitude bucket and remind myself  to give thanks both for the harvest bounty and the oodles of other things I’m priveleged to have.

See how little it really is. And yes, thats a real 50 pence piece! I’ve covered the handle with crochet thread, the papers are from Authentique. The ribbon  is Stampin’Up’s pumpkin pie (very appropriate!) and the lace is some lovely stuff I’ve had in forever and as I couldnt bear to use it, I chopped it in half and just pleated it on the back of the cardtsock circle that I’d coated in dst.

Here you can see the little title sticks. I made something very similar but on a much grander scale a few years ago using Kilner Jars and ribboned pieces. On these were verses, quotes and encouraging thoughts for two of my loveliest friends.

Onto the pumpkins. Sometimes I wonder whether my brain is wired slightly different to everyone elses and have moments where I wonder quite which planet I’m on! I had an email  last week that eventually led me to finding this recipe for Pumpkin Latte .I thought it would make a nice change to do something different that wasn’t food. I didn’t read the recipe with my brain in gear and so the thought of buying pumpkins to roast and puree them just to create a latte didnt seem to phase me!

Here’s the lovely roasted puree- isn’t that colour just splendiferous?! Have to admit, the coffee was amazing- even though I had to create the pumpkin spice mix from scratch too. Had I been in the US and could have bought canned puree and pumpkin spice, I could’ve finished the beverage in about 15 minutes as opposed to 1 and half hours it actually took me. Yeah, yeah, I know, I’m nuts!

Here’s the coffee. Needed to work on the slight pumpkin dreg bits at the bottom but it was deelicious. Shame I’ve just got too much time on my hands (wink!) I then had a load of puree left over- so as not to put it to waste I created these-

These Pumpkin Cupcakes (and no, they don’t really taste of pumpkin- think carrot cake) were cobbled together by  just lobbing half a cup of pumpkin puree into a normal cake mix with some vanilla extract and pumpkin spice – but how to decorate them? Martha Stewart came to my rescue and I borrowed her Brown Sugar Frosting which is utterly awesome. I saw she had a recipe for caramelised walnuts. Well, this rung my creative bell as I’d been watching a bit of Australian Masterchef (love it!) and knew I’d never made  a decent toffee. What’s a girl to do? Going to the grave having never created caramelised walnuts?!! Problem solved- but only just. Narrowly escaped burning the sugar and had to then kinda dump the whole sticky nutty mix onto a silcone sheet as I’d forgotten that the pan I was using didn’t have a handle on (long story) and it was crazily hot. After a bit of bashing with a rolling pin swiftly followed by the realisation that if I let it cool a tad, I could separate the walnut pieces by cracking the toffee lumps, I had these cute little toffee enrobed walnuts. Thanks very much Masterchef.. my pile of still dirty washing thanks you (not) but the creative part of my pysche actually completely adores you.

 Beware eggs and milk, I need to tick off a decent custard from my cookery bucket list!

See you when I’ve cleared up the mess -(oh and that was just from the latte!!) xx

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Christmas Tag Card & the X-Factor Contemporary Baby Card & Not Again!

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ros crawford  |  October 21, 2011 at 3:39 pm

    Oh keren this is so cute!!! Thank you for the lovely words too! I can’t believe you did all that just to make a latte … you so make me laugh!! It would have to taste good after that …
    Your project is so sweet and yep, we have a lot to be thankful for and I am thankful that you joined our challenge this week at CCCB … enjoy your cakes!

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Monika  |  October 21, 2011 at 3:48 pm

    I admire your spirit. I am far too lazy to use so many bits to make one drink. To the once in a life time experience!!! X

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Linda R  |  October 24, 2011 at 10:34 pm

    What a beautiful creation.. Thanks so much for playing along with us at CCCB!

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Wendi R  |  October 24, 2011 at 11:54 pm

    ohhh love your project!!!! and all the fun yummy photos!!! thanks so much for playing along at the City Crafter challenge blog!!!!

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. cheryln  |  October 25, 2011 at 4:02 am

    Such a lovely project! Thanks so much for sharing with CCCB!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,496 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


