Christmas Tag Card & the X-Factor

October 18, 2011 at 10:38 pm 4 comments

 Hey! There has been a good reason for my absence, but I’ll tell you about that once a few things have got sorted out. I’ll have a brilliant saga post coming up soon, I can tell you!

This card is one of my favourites. It has so many little details- I love a card that makes you look closer and check out all its credentials! The tag holder is in fact a pillow box, with the bottom chopped off and secured with some wet glue (I’ve used Tombow). I dug out a neglected set that I used to death two years ago and used it for the tag and stars and combined it with my sparkly new Pennant Parade set. Here’s the tag within the pocket; I’ve tried to change the look of the Christmas tree by chopping up several of them and stacking them in a random way. I retrieved my stapler from the back of the drawer; I had a bit of a thing about stapling everything a while back. That phase went, but maybe its coming back. I do really love Bakers Twine- (well , how could I not with a name like that!!).

My interesting happenings whilst food shopping continue still. It did bring about an unexpected reaction from my littliest and is probably worthy of a mention here…

I had paid for my shopping and was wandering out of the store (feeling pretty pleased with myself as I’d picked up some amazing bargains to put away for Christmas) and Will was singing a song of sorts. An oldish lady (not truly old, just getting that way) commented on his song; ‘Oohhh, what a lovely song, he’ll end up on X-Factor!’. Now that comment, I’m afraid is rather ‘red rag to a bull’ with me. I know I shouldn’t have, but forgive me, I couldn’t leave it alone.

” The X-Factor? I really hope not! I’d hate it if he was on that. I’m afraid I’ve told several of my kids that they’ve got nice voices and can sing but they’re really not good enough to have a solo career. I guess I prefer to tell them the truth- if more friends and family told those who audition for X-Factor the whole truth, they wouldn’t end up making a complete fool of themselves on national TV”.

I know, she did rather get it all guns blazing. Of course I said it nicely and in a completely conversational way, but tis a bee in my bonnet and it was close to stinging me if I’d remained silent! The poor lady took one look at me, stared directly at Will and said “oooh, you’ve got a nasty Mummy”. This evoked a somewhat strong reaction from Will. Indignantly he retorted “That is not a nice thing to say and she is not nasty”. He did emphasise the ‘nots’ bless him. Part of me was extremely chuffed that he would rise to such a defence and the other part was mildly cringing. The chuffed part of me was definately in the majority though! The lady now looked extremely embarassed and said “ermm.. no, you’ve got a lovely Mummy, haven’t you, she’s lovely” and proceeded to pat my shoulder and look fondly at me. I rather suspect it was an act, and she didn’t really harbour lovely feelings towards me, but that’s ok! She shuffled off and I went on my way with rather a wrongly large grin on my face!

Later that day, I related the story to my kids. One of them said immediately (and somewhat disdainfully). “Oh right, you gave her your ‘ crushing your dreams speech’. Oh, I didn’t realise it was quite so famous with her. Hmm. I still stand by it, but I really hope they don’t end up in major therapy!!

Have a great blowy evening- I’ve been cooking with pumpkins- have some photos to share of the results next time.

xx 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , .

Forever Young Part 5 & Aldi! Tiny Thanks & Harvest Pumpkins

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. peg  |  October 19, 2011 at 9:02 am

    What a great idea with the pillow box die, love your stories Keren and hope you are enjoying your new simplified life. x

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Sue Brannan  |  October 19, 2011 at 10:06 am

    lovely card as usual and a good idea to use the pillow box and make it into a tag holder.. you always seem to put such a lot on your cards yet they never look overcrowded, Sue B x

    Like

    Reply
    • 3. kerenbaker  |  October 25, 2011 at 9:22 am

      Hope you’re enjoying your new stash! I’ve been checking out pink petticoat- just need some time now!!! look forward to seeing your next creations! x

      Like

      Reply
  • 4. Ros crawford  |  October 19, 2011 at 11:01 am

    Love your unique creation … the tag pocket looks fab! You must tell me where you go shopping … it must be fun to watch ha! ha! … Bless that little boy of yours … and quite right too … who has the nerve to tell a child that their mummy is nasty!!! At least your little one was polite … I think my son at that age would have gone ballistic! … Have a lovely day in this wonderful wet and dreary weather … yuk!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,510 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


