Forever Young Part 5 & Aldi!

October 12, 2011 at 12:26 pm 8 comments

This is not my favourite card. Far too traditional for my liking. However, I wanted to do the same stamp in different styles so this is for all you traditional-lovin’ people! You’ll notice my love of ‘taking miniscule sized circles, delicately dobbing glue on and placing them on the page with a cocktail stick’ reappearing. But they had to be like apples and the only other sized circle just looked liked giant-morphed genetically modified apples! What’s not so clear fom the picture is that they’re all slightly glossy– well a good apple has a lovely shine (although not any of the ones we’ve bought recently!).

I stroked the ink pad from side to side on the stamp to try and get the variations in texture on the bark. Sorta worked. The leaves were one using a blender pen and some of the dye ink using two colours. The grass was treated in the same way. Makes me think of farms and old-fashioned summers and kids who have lots of time to swing and not be plagued by homework (oh, sorry, slipped off-topic there!).

It’s been a busy few days. First, I needed to rectify another dose of inadequate parenting; my kids came home saying their teacher was astonished that none of the kids at school knew their National Anthem. True. I’d never taught it to them. Well you don’t . Have any of you sat down with your 4 year old before they start school and gone out of your way to sing it to them? Nope, me neither. I don’t remember my Mum doing that, but we did have to have Christmas lunch finished in time for the Queens Speech on Christmas Day at Granny & Grandads house when I was young, so maybe it was inculcated there. And so our trip to school became a rather involved discussion of a monarchy, democracy, republic etc. We also covered the Queen and those in line to the throne and why they came next, hotly followed by a very quick ‘run around the world’ listening to various National Anthems courtesy of YouTube. (I have to add that by this point I had actually arrived at school and was sitting stationary in my car!). We all sung to our National Anthem (now that they actually knew it- although I showed them the second verse!!). We listened next to the Star Spangled Banner. I did have to resist the urge to place my hand on my heart. I just love that song. It makes me feel all patriotic and I’m not even American! The kids were not so keen on the French one (sorry)- they didn’t like the fighting lyrics. I know we have Pomp And Circumstance and have beyond our share of colonialistic behaviour but our Anthem is fairly neutral! They weren’t keen on the German or Spanish but did quite like the South African one. We nearly got the Turkish anthem but time escaped us. I can tell ya, by 8:40 I felt I’d earned my title- ‘parent educator’ for the day.

Now, I haven’t given you any sagas recently, and this is more of a mini-reflection upon an experience we had today. (Apology first, this is a long post, just feel like sharing y’know!).

Anyhow, I needed to go shopping. On my drive home from school I was debating where to go. I decided to go to Aldi- which is a big deal, I can tell you. I managed not to drive into the car park without a snarl on my face and parked up. I guess it would be timely here to mention that about years ago I received a £40 fine for overstaying my welcome there. I didn’t read the signs. I normally do. I had 5 kids off school on holiday and I had to take them shopping. Enough said.

I had thus boycotted the store for all of this time. It amounted to nearly a grudge. I guess people are easier to forgive. I knew I was in the wrong and should have taken my punishment more graciously. I didn’t. It just smarted. I went into the store and the hassle began.

I didn’t have a pound for the trolley. I had cash, but no coin. As there appeared to be only 1 member of staff in the entire shop, I then had to queue behind all the other shoppers paying for their goods before I could get the £1 to go back out of the store and return to begin my shopping. To be fair, it was very empty and there was no hustle and shoving. There are possibly reasons for its emptiness but I’ll address those later. I got nearly all the things I needed. Yes, the veg was really cheap. I was totting up in my head the running total and wondering how my friends get their whole weeks shop for so little? I wasn’t buying luxury goods (do Aldi actually do those?) and didn’t have an overflowing trolley but still it was mounting up.

The stress began once I started loading the conveyor belt. Those assistants can motor. Wow- there is an imbued ‘hurry’ that overtakes you once they start scanning your food. I was literally throwing my food onto the belt (mentally worrying what damage I was doing to them) because obviously if he piles the other end too high before your goods are loaded out of your trolley then your shopping is going to drop onto the floor. Apart from getting the trolley round the wrong way (double dufus), he then says ‘Madam’ (arrggghh- I hate that meaning-laden word. Sir, sounds refined and gentile. Madam sounds old, worn out and a little bit stroppy!), please don’t pack our goods until I’ve finished, please pack them over there’ and pointed to the ledge by the window. Aha, I thought, this is how they do things cheap and frustrate the customer at the same time. The speed they throw the food in your trolley enables them to get through more customers, employ less staff and increase their profits. I’m getting discounted food because I have to double-pack. I wasn’t thrilled about carefully packing into the trolley, going to the side, removing most of the goods onto the ledge and packing them again into bags and then back into the trolley.

However, I discovered why I weigh so much. I’d never realised how heavy food is! If I’m putting so much heavy food into my mouth, that kinda would explain it!! Sorry Aldi, I didn’t love the experience. I can understand why Tesco is heaving at that time of day and you’re not. William loved running up and down the aisles making flying noises, but I’m not sure the other customers did. Ho hum, maybe I’ll go back to Tesco!!

I need to go and unpick 4 different colours out of a squidged mass of Playdough. You have to keep those colours separate, don’t you!

xx

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

Forever Young Part 4 & Humbled! Christmas Tag Card & the X-Factor

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ros crawford  |  October 12, 2011 at 2:54 pm

    Well I love the card … I’m far to lazy to do all that work though … and as for Aldi … I love some of their stuff but I have to say that last week I got so annoyed with the goods being thrown along so fast I couldn’t catch it that I said to the guy … “Is it a race to see who can chuck the most food the quickest in here?” He muttered and mumbled and I stared at him till he finally looked embarrassed … I’m seriously considering taking in a load of loose change and doing the same when it’s time to pay … What d’ya think? … God save the Queen!

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Monika  |  October 13, 2011 at 10:31 am

    Love your ‘Forever Young’ projects, the trad one looks great too.
    As for Aldi, I am a sort of used to it. Being German luxury goods aren’t a problem: Bratwurst, Schnitzel … Do I need to say more?
    I look at the packing as a form of exercise, always determined to be the fastest. Ha ha … and then there are all the calories that one works off 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Elaine  |  October 13, 2011 at 1:25 pm

    The card is great Keren. Best of all though you make me laugh out loud reading your blog! Thanks – keep it up!! Probably best to stay away from Aldis!

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. susanhardy  |  October 15, 2011 at 9:28 pm

    Beautiful card, Karen – you are very talented! I’m sorry your experience with Aldi has been so negative. Here in the States (Chicago), they have spruced up some of the stores to be quite pleasant inside. Of course the same Aldi shopping rules apply, but as a longtime Aldi shopper, I see them doing things better than ever, at least here in our region – so well, in fact, that I posted about it recently (http://www.susanhardy.org/2011/10/food-10-reasons-why-aldi-rocks-and-one.html). Anyhow, happy shopping and keep up with the beautiful cards 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    • 5. kerenbaker  |  October 25, 2011 at 9:26 am

      Great blog- I tried to leave a comment but it wouldn’t let me. Love your blog- and yes, I’ll be returning to Aldi but with my skates on this time!!! x

      Like

      Reply
  • 6. susanhardy  |  October 17, 2011 at 2:50 am

    Still on the Aldi love train – and figured you might have seen or heard of these funny Aldi TV ads in the UK: http://www.susanhardy.org/2011/10/commercials-aldis-cheeky-uk-tv-ads.html. Aldi could really sharpen up its image in this country with a similar approach while keeping the focus on low prices.

    Like

    Reply
  • 7. Louise  |  October 22, 2011 at 3:32 pm

    That card is gorgeous! I really really like it. Might have to do a bit of CASEing 🙂 x

    Like

    Reply
    • 8. kerenbaker  |  October 25, 2011 at 9:20 am

      CASE away! Thanks for your comments and visiting my blog xx

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,496 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


