Stampin’Up! Blog Hop & Timeless Portrait Fabric

October 2, 2011 at 1:05 am 11 comments

Hey! welcome to my stop on this ILWS Blog Hop. Hope you’ve been utterly inspired by all the fab projects so far and particularly from Michelles gorgeous blog. If you’re starting here, I’m joining a large chain of talented gals all showcasing some of the new products from our latest and greatest Stampin’Up! Catalogue.

Being much of a ‘card girl’ of late, I’m showing you two different sort of projects. The first is this wall hanging which began its days as a spectacularly unriveting photo hanging costing all of 99p from Home Bargains (love that place!). After draping the pieces in paper from Timeless Portrait Designer Series Paper and adding lots of teeny touches, this is a few pics of 4/5 of my kids (long story of why one is missing!!).

Here’s some littler pics of the details;

You can see pearls, a little heart (from the owl punch), stamped image from the matching set ‘Forever Young’, some white pen dots. See also the yummy fabric that I’ve just torn and used as a border.

The title ‘Family’ is diecut using the Timeless Type dies that are so versatile and suit both contemporary and traditional vibes.

 

Sometimes you don’t need much to add accents- just a couple of hearts and ribbon tab will do!

 

 

 

 

The next project is also using fabric- but only a smidgeon. Being the paper stroker that I am, I cant bring myself to use big chunks of the fabric , rather sparingly adding details and using them as the inspiration for the rest of the project.

This bag is actually made from two of my Dads jumpers that he kindly donated to me knowing full well that I’d felt them! I love how well they felted and so made them into striped panels. I don’t have an industrial sewing machine and to be fair, it was struggling a little with the sandwich of fleece, felt and inner lining. Some of the stitches pulled a little and needed a bit of beautifying so I sewed the small layer of Timeless Portrait fabric over it. It adds a good contrast, particularly if you have the bag the other way out.

The handles are the only thing I bought from the shop but I’d had them in for ages.

This last pic shows the fabric and felt flower diecut using the Fun Flowers die. I used the striped grosgrain ribbon as a closure for the bag. 

Hope you’ve enjoyed your stop here. The fabulous Emma’s blog is next.

If you get lost at all- Laura’s blog is where it started, so you can retrace your ‘steps’ from there!

Will catch you next week with my Forever Young set of posts. I promise you, you’ll completely love the set by the end of it! Better go, have a sizeable lasagne to make for the 11 of us for lunch tomorrow. I really enjoyed the Launch Party last night- thanks for coming girlies!

xx

 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

New Catalogue Launch & In-Colours Forever Young Part 1 & Almond Rolls!

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. tina faghy  |  October 2, 2011 at 3:14 pm

    Your wall hanging is fab- what lovely photo’s and those bags…..brilliant.x

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. elizabeth uk  |  October 2, 2011 at 4:14 pm

    Beautiful projects – I am in awe of those who can sew! The details on the wall hangings are fabby – I especially like that little half circle of pearls – so effective. X

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. ally fiddy  |  October 2, 2011 at 4:29 pm

    Gorgeous bag – love the purple spotty version.
    🙂

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Erika  |  October 2, 2011 at 6:38 pm

    Ohhh wow… what fabulous projects… I love the Wall Hanging 🙂 x

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. Claire  |  October 2, 2011 at 7:14 pm

    What great projects, I love the wall hanging

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. Amanda  |  October 2, 2011 at 7:21 pm

    Ooh love the bags Keren

    Like

    Reply
  • 7. laura meek  |  October 2, 2011 at 8:36 pm

    Oh wow your hanger is gorgeous I love it!!!!!

    Thank you so much for taking part in the blog hop x x

    Like

    Reply
  • 8. Ros Crawford  |  October 4, 2011 at 10:44 am

    Fabulous creations Keren … your children are so lovely … and I adore your bags … Have a wonderful day ..

    Like

    Reply
  • 9. Sarah Piggott  |  October 4, 2011 at 10:03 pm

    Two amazing projects, Keren! Love that wall hanging and wish we had Home Bargains nearby.. and wow.. would love to be able to felt jumpers and make bags as lovely as this!

    Like

    Reply
  • 10. Sarah-Jane Rae  |  October 7, 2011 at 12:02 am

    Great projects Keren, I think I might need to add this fabric to my wish list now! Thanks 😉
    Hugs xx

    Like

    Reply
  • 11. Dawn Silver  |  October 9, 2011 at 12:14 pm

    Absolutely gorgeous I love your wall hanging.
    Good luck with the future too.
    Iam sorry to see you go.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,506 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


