Paper Rose Card & Pottery painting

September 23, 2011 at 5:13 pm 1 comment

 Sometimes I try and incorporate something I can’t do into my given way of doing things and sometimes its not entirely successful. This rose is a case in point. Having never made one and feeling a little like my life was not quite complete without the knowledge (only joking!)- I had a go and came up with a cute rose. However- trying to make a card that was ‘me’ using the oversized green flower was more of a challenge. I’m glad it was green because its not quite so girly but even so- I can just about recognise its my card under the weight of all that floralness! They are pretty easy,(Google Paper roses) albeit time consuming and with a bit of sponging and a few drops of crystal effects to create ‘dew drops’, it does look fairly rose-like. The paper was great being double-sided and the only difficulty was because the quality is so good- trying to cut through several layers at once was tough going. I have scissor shaped dents in my thumb to prove it!

This paper is around for less than a week now- to be fair it has seen some crafty action and now needs to make way for the new kids on the block. I am not one for favouring the young and shiny over the old, but in this instance I’ll let it pass! If you look at the background there is one of the said new (and veeerrryy beautiful)  sheets of designer paper already trying to muscle in before the old papers have even gone; ….typical !

I’m very glad its Friday. Well ready for a few days at a slower pace. I should be used the slower pace after stiffly hobbling around but I’m delighted to say after some stirling advice from my Dad and a friend and a night sleeping on the floor– my back is pretty much completely better! Yay!

I’ve just returned from a bit of a treat. Steve was off today and took us to a place in Stockton Heath called Coffee au Clay near Warrington. Its a paint your own pottery thing and Steve helped Will whilst I seriously enjoyed myself! I had to stop myself once I’d painted the inside of the bowl or Will and Steve’s patience would have run out. It’s an image that was taken from one of the papers and stamp sets I’ve been using a lot and I can’t wait to show you them. I’m looking forward to picking up my cereal bowl next week, although with the amount of crockery that ‘falls’ on our tiled kitchen floor, the chances of it surviving more than a couple of weeks are looking doubtful! All I can say is its a good job they don’t have a painting pot place in Liverpool- I’d never be out of it! !

Need to go and reduce the school uniform mountain which is presently so large that it would make a great slide!

xx

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

Retiring Supplies & Little Notices! New Catalogue Launch & In-Colours

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Ros crawford  |  September 24, 2011 at 11:11 am

    Hi Keren … thanks so much for your prayers and kind words … I am also happy to hear that your back is getting better … love your card … I make lots of these roses but they don’t seem to look as big as yours? maybe a different punch … have a wonderful weekend xxx

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,502 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


