Sympathy Card & Shower Curtains!

August 25, 2011 at 9:28 am 2 comments

This is a card I had to send recently. There’s been quite a lot of sadness in my family recently. I didn’t like making it, but was glad I could send something small. Cards can mean so very much. I know sometimes when I mention that I’m a craft demonstrator and make cards etc, some people look bemused and others can’t see the point of what you do. I know the value of being sent a card with something heartfelt written inside it and I’m sure you do too. Something to keep and look back on , to make you smile or be wistful. Whatever the reason, please keep making and sending cards. We’ve almost lost the joy of receiving cards with emails and e-cards. The set I’ve used is actually retired, but there’s a set very similar in the catalogue and you can always swap for whatever you have.

I’ve used vellum paper to add something softer to the look and also created a vellum insert . The vellum is lovely to stamp and write on.

The opaque vellum reminds me of the vain attempt I made to replace our shower curtain this week. It was, frankly past its best, having done 100’s of hours service in our bathroom. We have a very high ceilinged room (ha- that is so NOT a word!)and any normal shower curtain is way too short. The last covering was in fact two curtains combined with the help of a sewing machine and large amounts of muscle power wrestling to pull it through my machine. I thought I’d do the same again. Found my machine was even less willing to oblige (they don’t like shiny things running past their sewing feet!), but conquered it all the same. It was only when I put the curtain up, that I realised I’d sewn it the wrong way round. The patterned bit was at the top and the plain and completely transparent part was at the bottom. My teenagers were unimpressed. Now I have to turn it upside down, and use my Crop-a-dile to fashion 12 more holes in the bottom and then re-hang it.. as if I hadn’t got enough jobs to do! Modesty has to prevail! Good ole Crop-a-dile !

Bye for now! x

 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Button Cards & Closing Down Make your own Embossed Frame Folder

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Vicki  |  August 25, 2011 at 11:14 am

    Sorry for all the losses your family have been through lately Keren, hope they are staying strong and getting through this difficult time.

    I must say though, your card is beautiful (is that allowed about a sympathy card?!)

    Hope everythings going well 😉

    Hugs
    Vicki x

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Ros crawford  |  August 25, 2011 at 11:29 am

    No one likes to have to make these cards … but you are so right when you say that they can mean so much … this is a very beautiful card … made by your hands but with your heart … that will be appreciated … I hope things get better for you my friend … sending a hug xxx

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,496 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


