Button Cards & Closing Down

August 22, 2011 at 9:07 am 4 comments

This fun rainbow card was just using up some of the lovely oversized buttons we’ve got. Just like there is some paper I struggle to cut into because it’s so beautiful (oh dear, I just admitted to being a paper-stroker), I have some supplies that just sit and look at me, daring me to use them and I can’t quite bring myself to put glue on them. Well, I took myself in hand and went a little over the top- I’ve practically used them all! (still a couple of colours left yet). Nothing complicated- would take you all of 10 minutes and my eldest asked if she could have it for a friends Birthday card, which has to mean its vaguely cool!

I have cut out the letters individually- partly because I didn’t want to stamp them and have to measure spaces, but I think t adds a little more texture. It somehow reminds me of icecream (the colours that is!).

I’ve stuck them down using Tombow. Although it was probably not my normal go-to adhesive for large embellishments, it is pretty strong and didn’t show the glue-dot through the large button holes which is what happened on my first attempt.

This week I popped into town and went past Habitat which has now closed (albeit for a few flagship London stores I think). I love their clean and funky designs. I had gone in during the last few days and picked up a small jigsaw- acrylic and tactile and the sort that I wanted to play with too. I guess good design appeals to a broad spectrum of ages (or maybe I’ve still not grown up properly). Shame that another big brand struggles in these uncertain times. Makes me glad that I’m not depending on the economy to be my mainstay. My heart goes out to all those who are really struggling to make ends meet at the moment. Life is tough for a good many people at present. Another reminder to me to be content with what I have and be thankful. 

See you soon! x 

 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

Modern Weddings & Counting Down Sympathy Card & Shower Curtains!

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jean Thomas  |  August 22, 2011 at 10:02 am

    Really love the colours in your card – I have a thing about buttons, I absolutely love em! so to see so many buttons on one card, love it.
    Jean T xx

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Sarah  |  August 22, 2011 at 7:02 pm

    Hiya Keren,

    I’m a definite paper stroker too! I also have a customer that frames her favourite 12 x 12 papers and uses them to decorate her walls (Botanical Gazette and Springtime Vintage are both such beautiful works of art it pains me to cut into any sheet from those packs). This is a stunning card and I couldnt bear to give it away if it were mine.

    Hope all is well.
    Sarah
    -X-

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Ros crawford  |  August 22, 2011 at 8:39 pm

    This is so cool … what a lovely cheerful birthday card … and yep the situation is rough at the moment … I still miss Blacklers!!

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Barbara  |  August 24, 2011 at 7:51 pm

    lovely card Keren
    Barbara x

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,506 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


