Chalkboard Cards & Constructing

August 12, 2011 at 7:08 pm 6 comments

Way too much posting huh?!! I think my clean craft room just might have something to do with it. I really love these chalkboard cards. You don’t have to find any particular sentiment- just chalk your own. I’m going to make a whole set of different types- suitable for baby congrats, invites etc so please email me or watch my etsy shop. Reckon I’ll be churning out a fair few- as you could just pop in an ‘age’ for a birthday or a quick ‘Hey!’ and you don’t have to go through that big stack of cards you hang onto hoping that you’ll be able to use them one day. These are painted with proper chalkboard paint so you can just wipe off with a wipe (or possibly with your fingers if you’re like my kids!- they’ve been sending messages to me on it, so I’m going have to make little message signs for their rooms by the looks of it!).

If the photo looks a little weird, that’s because I’ve pasted on the message from another picture as it didn’t look quite right without the chalked message on! It was so easy– you could get a similar effect with any old chipboard squares or beer mats or similar. Mine were from a share on IWLS (thanks Karin!). Once the shape had had two coats which took all of 5 minutes and left overnight to dry, the whole card took just over 5 minutes which is a whole lot quicker than some of my recent cards. The cute flowers are using the Boho blossoms  punch,some pearls and using some plain cardstock and some embossed. Dig out your white gel pen, some twine (long enough to stretch to other side of the board) and sticks of chalk. I’ve attached the chalk with a jumbo eyelet.

When I was out shopping recently I picked up a set of books about the essentials of design. I really would like to learn how to design and construct properly. At the moment I’m not getting the chance to read them- but they have that gorgeous plasticky smell which keeps wafting over as I sit at my desk. My Dad (who’s an architect) reckons they’re pretty decent books so that’s stamp of approval enough for me! We’ve all been doing a bit of constructing today, ably helped out by my Mum and Dad who’ve had a mini holiday with us. We got down 3 different Mecchano type sets. Kind of a Daddy, Mummy and Baby Bear set of kits and the kids immediately got stuck in. Heather & will got the ‘Baby Bear’ set, Grandad and Jamie the ‘Daddy-I’m-extremely-hard’ set & Harri & Nan tackled the intermediate set! They were there for over an hour puzzling through them. Jamie’s set was frustratingly missing 3 pieces but we’ve emailed Mecchano so hopefully they wont be too long arriving. It made a nice change to see them so engrossed. Only one set is complete and I have a  feeling my dining room may be strewn with bits for some days to come!!

Have to rush- need to get some organising done. Can feel the iron-a-thon where I iron all the name-labels on calling. Can you tell I’m resisting?!!!

xx  

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , .

Bird Card & S’mores Modern Weddings & Counting Down

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jenny McCormac  |  August 12, 2011 at 8:49 pm

    Another stunning idea Keren – you are indeed very talented. I assume you created the mini chalkboards yourself using the paint? Thanks for sharing – my craft room needs tidying …. I also find I get so much more inspiration from a tidy room…. so the clear out starts… tomorrow !
    Take care
    Jenny.

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Jenny McCormac  |  August 12, 2011 at 8:50 pm

    Ignore comment about the chalkboard section, have read your posting properly this time! Jenny.

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Vicki  |  August 12, 2011 at 10:50 pm

    Wow, your not just a pretty face are you…….lol This is a fab idea, my kids would love this too, make great cards to give to their friends – card and pressie in one!

    Hugs
    Vicki x

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Ros crawford  |  August 13, 2011 at 5:52 pm

    Yikes Keren … this is just fantastic!!! I love this card … why didn’t I think of it?? … ‘cos I’m not as clever as you .. humph!

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. Carole  |  August 14, 2011 at 3:19 pm

    Hi Keren, just ploughing through my emails and found your “post”. I made chalk/magnetic boards with my class last year but didn’t think about using the paint for cards! I’m off to search for that half full pot, it was pretty expensive, would be great to use it up! Thanks for sharing. Hugs Carole x

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. Stacey  |  August 17, 2011 at 9:27 pm

    Fantastic idea, will def be on my to CASE list although that list is getting awfully big – lots of talented people out there ;o)
    Love it, well done!
    Stacex

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,496 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


