Bird Card & S’mores

August 10, 2011 at 4:59 pm 1 comment

 What a rainy day! People always say it’s great weather for ducks, but its definitely a great day to stay in and create! This card is not my original idea. I don’t usually CASE (Copy And Share Everything) as I like using my own ideas, but I stumbled across this blog by the talented Sarah Martina and fell in love with her card. So this is my take on it. I didn’t want to change it too much, but just used what I had.

I loved making faux string with cardstock. Just shave it off very close to the edge and suddenly your cardstock becomes very pliable and will even curl around a cocktail stick and stay like that! I think the bird looks so very regal and have watercoloured him and added his pearly crown. I love mixing up stamps from different sets, and this card has the bird from Natures Walk, the crown from Clearly for You, the spots on the red cardstock from Dot, Dot , Dot and then good old Bella Toile (she’ll be wishing she could return to the stamp obscurity she enjoyed  a week ago, as she’s now been stamped to the max!) as the white embossed background and also the flowers beneath the bird. There are also a couple of flower stamps from Vintage Vogue layered beneath the fussy cut flowers but I’m sure you can’t make them out very well.

 Using the scallop circle with (shock) brown Crumb Cake ink to add some depth and the Lattice Embossing folder. It makes me happy just looking at at it and reminds me of the myriad of little birds we have in our garden at the moment who are happily using Will’s sand and water tray as a bird bath!

We have done a lot of daft things recently, including making S’mores. On Sunday it was National S’more Day in the US. Never wanting to miss an opportunity to flex my ‘I love America’ muscles, we celebrated a few days late! Last night after tea we lit tea lights and candles (in lieu of a campfire), gathered together our digestives (in place of graham crackers) and using forks we ‘toasted’ (and set alight!) marshmallows. Once they were suitably charred (obviously with correct and careful monitoring from the adults present!) they squished them onto the previously prepared 2 digestive biscuits of which one had been draped with a couple of giant chocolate buttons (half price- Thankyou Tesco). The goo of the mallow melts the choccy buttons and you are left with a gooey, yummy, nottoberepeatedonaregularbasis crumbly s’more. One of our friends looked on amazed (probably at our ridiculousness) but agreed she’d be showing her housemates how to cook (ahem) them. I mean, given the choice as a cash-strapped student- would you rather eat a s’more or a pot noodle? I know which one I’d choose!!

Having successfully negotiated the shops with 5 in tow and gotten several shoes,trainers and school bags, I bought them all books and enforced a no TV afternoon. It is, however, a little tight on my 3 year old, who obviously can’t read and is intent on destroying the silence and concentration of the other 4!

See you when it stops raining!

xx

 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Girly Distressing & Painting Pots! Chalkboard Cards & Constructing

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Ros crawford  |  August 10, 2011 at 7:13 pm

    I love your card … beautiful … I have followed Sara’s blog for a long while … she is very inspiring … great tip about the paper by the way … what do you use to shave it with?… Those S’mores sound good to me … I like a digestive … and chocolate … and mallows mmmmmm

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,506 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


