Girly Distressing & Painting Pots!

August 8, 2011 at 10:34 am 7 comments

You could be forgiven for thinking that this post is a description of my weekend as a parent..you’d be a little warm, but in fact it is my version of distressing! I love the artsy style but it is simply just too brown and murky sometimes iykwim ? I wanted to give a slightly old and worn feel to some of my edges without going the whole hog. I did see a picture recently of a card where they had inked the ribbon with black. Call me a Philistine, but actually it looked like it was just plain ole’ dirty! So I’ve done all my inking in pink!!! (oh, ok, there’s a diddly bit of brown but its on the roses and they often look like that- so shoot me!!)

  The rather large flower was done using my latest die- the Fun Flower Bigz die which I got for FREE- (just one of the perks of being a Demo!!). I did faff with it a lot- not that you need to- I made one the other night in 3 minutes flat! By the time I’d inked up the edges, spritzed and shaped and added some Crystal Effects to make i look like there was dew on the edges on some of the petals, I was reasonably happy with it. I just love how by wetting the cardstock and scrumpling it, you end up with veined petals just like the real mc’coy! I hadn’t really banked on the fact that the word ‘fete’ would be so prominent. Ah well, just makes you think of summer all the more! The paper is great but was just too bright, so I toned it down with some craft white ink.

Lastly, you can just about see the teeny amount of pink daubed onto the ribbon and the pastel yellow sewing keeping the ruffle behaving itself!

I’ve entered this card into the Daring Cardmakers challenge- it was about poppies and gladioli- but I think my flower has poppy-like qualities; the papery-ness of the poppy and a similar shape too!, Papertake Weekly Challenge– their challenge was using metal (I’ve used a metal brad) and Creative Inspirations Challenge as their theme was Summer time,. There- three birds with one stone!!

 

This week is another ‘meeting up with friends week’. Today I”m probably taking the kids to a fab pottery place because the weather is pretty soggy here. I love it that I can do stuff like this with my kids, and its ably helped by last weeks weather so I don’t feel bad about having one treat where I have to fork out as last weeks activities were mostly free. I enjoy watching them create- some dilly dally for a while trying to create the perfect design in their head and some just dive right in, sloshing paint wherever they see fit. Maybe its a reflection of their personalities. Some are painstaking in their finish, others pretend the idea is really not for them and then spend more time than anyone else making it’ just so’. I’m definately at least two of these styles. The poor cafe owners will not know what’s hit them when the party of 9 turns up. Let’s hope everyone else hasn’t had the same idea!! I will have to show restraint and not paint or I’ll get too engrossed and won’t be focussing  on helping the kids!!

 

See you soon

xx

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Mini Accordion Box & Time-less Bird Card & S’mores

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Keilly  |  August 8, 2011 at 11:47 am

    Absolutely stunning, I adore that huge flower and your sweet tag and pocket. Thanks for sharing with us at the Daring Cardmakers this week!

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. rein  |  August 8, 2011 at 12:35 pm

    This is pretty,
    thanks or playing.

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Sharon Caudle  |  August 9, 2011 at 2:03 am

    Beautiful card! Thanks so much for joining us at Papertake Weekly and hope you join us again soon!
    hugs, Sharon

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Ros crawford  |  August 9, 2011 at 1:44 pm

    LOvely card and that flower is gorgeous … I agree with you that sometime cards do look ‘dirty’ and hence I rarely use the distress look … I know my friends would probably bin them not appreciating that it is meant to look like that … so I stick to vintage items but a ‘clean’ look if you know what I mean … enjoy your day

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. sharon  |  August 11, 2011 at 11:43 am

    That flower is beautiful! Thanks for joining in with the Daring Cardmakers this week x

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. cheryl  |  August 11, 2011 at 9:30 pm

    this is one great image beautiful colors you have used on this,too bless you for playing at creative inspirations,this week hugs cherylxxxx

    Like

    Reply
  • 7. Suzi  |  August 11, 2011 at 10:36 pm

    Wow! this is gorgeous, love that flower, your design and colour combo.

    Thank you so much for joining in with our challenge over at at Creative Inspirations this week.
    Good Luck
    Suzi x

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,496 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


