Circle Card & Family Dynamics

August 3, 2011 at 11:16 am 3 comments

Fancy a change? Me too! A circle card that was such fun to make- not for a commission or workshop or class, just to relax. There are lots of elements to it but as I’ve done so much unseasonal stuff recently, the red and green glittery colour scheme was still wafting round my brain. So here’s a clean and fairly simple take. All the lovely flowery foliage is from a mahoosive stonker of a stamp that I’ve rarely used (hangs her head in shame!). It’s called Bella Toile and is a background stamp really and a little ‘full-on’ if not used with discretion. Background stamps shouldn’t always be left languishing in the background, so with a bit of fussy-cutting and moving around, you can get a whole different look! I used my circle scallop die as the basis for the shape and just used a compass and pencil (so stone-age!!) to create the outer and inner circle. The slightly faded lines are using the dotted wheel and then the glittered tag is ‘Lots of Tags’ set of 4 Sizzlits. Add the Just Perfect Alpha stamps (the name, not my stamping!), a couple of matching brads and pearls and a bit of paper-pricking and you’re nearly done. Thinking about hope, I used the breast cancer folded over ribbon emblem but done using twill tape which gives a different take on it- a bow seemed one step too far! I gave it further dimension using my trusty blender pens to give the stamping a water-coloured look and then some Dimensionals to add different heights!

There- you can tell I enjoyed messing with that!

Today I’m feeling quite energised in comparison to the last few days where I’ve been quite pathetic really. A bit of R&R has done me the world of good- now I guess the trick is not to go beserk now I’ve got some energy again! At home, dynamics have been changing dramatically and it’s quite amusing to watch. As my eldest two are at camp, suddenly my middle child has become ‘top dog’. To say she has filled the role is an understatement, she’s spilling right out of it! Not only do we have a mild case of ‘Attila The Hun’ syndrome, she appears to have taken over with the ‘moodiness’ right where the other two have left off. I wonder whether my walls exude a certain type of hormone which renders the recipient powerless to be themselves?! Several stand-offs later we are all much happier and I think she has got the message that just being herself is perfectly fine thankyouverymuch!   The boys are now sharing a room with their older sister and its like one permanenent sleepover! It’s been sweet though, to have several bouts of tears over missing their big sisters. Let’s hope the feelings are a wee bit reciprocated come Saturday when they return exhausted with suitcases full of smelly, dirty clothes!!

Have to go-I fancy designing a Rhinestones and Pearls organiser!

Ta taa! 

 

PS -have entered in the following challenges;  TotallyPapercrafts, Moxie- Fab World Botanical Challenge

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

New Card Club & Freebies Mini Accordion Box & Time-less

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Michelle  |  August 4, 2011 at 9:51 am

    This is stunning!

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Ros crawford  |  August 4, 2011 at 11:45 am

    What a great card … how clever to use a big stamp and cut ‘bits’ out not that I’d have either the patience or the foresight … Have a great day Keren

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Cath  |  August 9, 2011 at 2:12 pm

    Hey Keren! Thanks for linking this up to the Fanatical About Botanical challenge in the Moxie Fab World! I’m so glad you joined in on all the fun! 🙂

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,510 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


