Christmas in July & Bracing Myself

July 25, 2011 at 8:26 pm 6 comments

Happy Christmas!!…yes, really!

This will be a long post, or should I say long..er post. Lots of piccies to give you a festive flavour. This project was one of the first that we did, whilst everyone was fresh and alert. I couldn’t possibly put myself into that category as I’d waited over 1.5 hours for the building to open and I was a tad frazzled at that point. As I joked with the girls, it’s really like the real Christmas- stressful !!

This cup (with the squished handle!) was created using the pillow box die and lots of other bits like our large cello bags, Four Frames and Contempo Christmas stamp sets. Add a bit of holly ‘flicked’ in the ink pad to give it depth and topped with a bow ‘tied’ with a rhinestone brad.

When we’d finally got into the building, my lovely hubby lent us this superb coffee machine and having proper foamed milk and decent coffee helped offset the fact that these girls had had a bit of a wait before the event could begin! They all had a goody bag with some designer papers, chipboard, ribbon, some stickers from the simply scrappin’ kits and a top note diecut and cello bag, oh, and not forgetting a Dasher stamp.

Because of our late entry into the place, there wasn’t any time to ‘jolly’ up the room. I opted for the minimalist look of a Christmas tree, berries and lights. The atmosphere however was gorgeous, mostly due to the fantastic music selection provided by Jo and Claire. I don’t really like ‘starters’ or ‘icebreakers’ but I had something festive in mind…’ dress up the Gingerbread person!’ Using some extremely overcooked (intentionally so) ginger people, they had a selection of papers, card and glue and I promised a prize for the winning table. Five minutes later, this is what they came up with… which one would you have chosen?

 

In the end, the champagne toting gingerwoman won. Purely for comedic value!!

We cracked on with a variety of projects- here’s another one;

Inside the ‘tote’ were 3 tiny mini-Christmas cards. I’d managed to source some teeny envelopes that fitted perfectly. The rhinestone brad is blue only because I’d used up all the matching ones in the kits for the event! Our bags on the day had a black middle and looked really striking. After a demonstration from me we then had some more coffee and something to eat!

Couldn’t resist making everything sparkly or decorated with Christmas snowflakes. Even the gingerbread was in Christmas shapes. I made quite a lot of gingerbread and no-one commented on the Christmas trees in church on Sunday!!

On with the crafting. The girlies all were happy for me to take their photo’s. I was asked to perform certain photoshop actions on them- but I did explain that my photoshop skills are basic!!

This first pic is of Claire, Jo, Sian & Jeanne. They were the ‘speedy table’. They nearly got the award for event rebels but there was some lovely creative extras from there. They all put their own unique spin on what I’d demonstrated. I love that!  Jo was determined to use up all the waste and made some gorgeous poinsettias from the cut off parts of the pillow-boxes.

Liz, Karen, Denise and Barbara made up the precise and studious table! There was plenty of chat and laughter and their projects were all beautiful and ‘just so’. If there is anything about stamping that some of the girls on this table don’t know about, its simply not worth knowing!!!

The final table kept themselves entertained!- Sharon looks like she’s separate from the rest, but it was just the way the table was- we said it was because she was special!! Zoe, Cath, Sue and Hilary were great fun too and made some beautiful versions of my projects. I have to say that it was such a fun morning. It’s times like this that make me reflect on being a demonstrator. I’m so priveleged to know these girls, they’re such a great bunch and I’d never have met most of them without becoming a Stampin’Up! demo.

 This project is a little bag of tags. We used the owl punch to make the reindeers head by chopping the feet off the owls body. His antlers were made out the Sizzlits scribbles die and the tags were stamped using the Gifted stamp set which is wonderful for tags. I wasnt being very artistic when it came to his eyes and chickened out by using rhinestones. Some of the girls did some fab cartoony eyes.

The last project, we never managed due to lack of time. I’ll post that another time.

Here’s a shot of some of my ‘organising’. We had prizes, a quiz and generally lots of laughter!

I was going to write about why I’m bracing myself, but I think you’ve probably had a long enough post. Hope it gave you enough of a glimpse into our crafty Christmas event and hope to see you next July!

I’ve a secret hostess event on this Friday at 8pm  at my home, for any who want to come. It’s a freebie evening with a make and take and any orders on the night, or during this week will get entered  into a draw for being the hostess and earning an exclusive hostess stamp set and free goodies from the catalogue. E-mail me with your order before Friday, or let me know if you fancy coming!

See you sooner than my last post- it’s all been way too busy here recently!!

xx

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , .

Bunting Card & Boo to Marks & Spencer New Card Club & Freebies

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jean Thomas  |  July 26, 2011 at 12:45 am

    Happy Christmas to you and your lovely family. It was so good to see them all. We all had a really great time and were thrilled with all our goodies which you so generously gave to us. You must have been preparing for this event for months, so THANK YOU so very much.

    Love from one of the “rebels” xx Jean xx

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Vicki  |  July 26, 2011 at 10:40 am

    Looks fab, glad it all went well for you 😉

    hugs
    Vicki x

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Ros crawford  |  July 26, 2011 at 11:09 am

    Looks like a great success! … love all the creations (especially Mrs Gingerbread … she’s wearing your high heels!!) … Fab idea using the owl head for the reindeer … must try that … have a great day my friend xxx

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Barbara Baker  |  July 28, 2011 at 6:23 am

    Thanks for a lovely day and all your hard work I know Denise enjoyed it as well . Hmmm !!! not to sure about Denise and I being studious ?think giggled most of the time .
    Hope to make another one soon
    Barbara xxx

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. zoe tant  |  July 28, 2011 at 11:20 pm

    Wow what a successful event and I love your projects. I wish you were nearer and I could join you. Zx

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. Angel Jem  |  August 5, 2011 at 9:21 pm

    We had a brilliant time…. even if I did get told off for being late!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,510 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


