Bunting Card & Boo to Marks & Spencer

July 15, 2011 at 5:30 pm 1 comment

 

 Bunting is one of my favourite things. It reminds me of being a kid, of celebrations and of patriotism. Here’s the quickest little (and it is really teeny) card morsel and its just stripes using offcuts of card and little triangles fashioned out of some more left over pieces. I actually put the stripes on first and then punched the shape out of it- leaving me a striped punched piece that I’ve used as the basis for another card. Add a few dots using a white gel pen and that’s a wrap.

Speaking of wraps- I tried to wrap Steve’s Birthday presents up this week in some really rather gorgeous sparkly yet matt wrapping paper. But the thing was that I couldn’t get anything to stick it down. Please Mr Bolland ( chief exec of M & S) can you not produce things not fit for purpose- whoever has heard of wrapping stuff that can’t be stuck down using Sellotape?! Stampin’Up’s super strong Sticky strip (try saying that in a hurry) just about coped, but even that was struggling a little.

I’ve been a bit unimpressed with M & S for another reason. I bought some jeans in their sale online (I go through the knees on jeans like you wouldnt believe) and when they came I happened to check the label and they were in fact full price. I had saved nothing! They did this to me back in December but with Christmas and everything I never bothered t take it up with them. How can items be in the sale yet you are unknowingly paying full price for them- I call that a con or some regularly incompetent programmers. well, I thought I’d ask customer services about it. The conversation went something like this;

Me; Can I explain why I’m ringing- (then a potted version of what I’ve just explained to you)

M&S Man; Well I’m sorry about that. Are you sure it was in the sale?

Me; Your link took me there and I clicked on Sale items

M&S Man; well was it in red? We only put sale priced items in red.

Me; Ermm.. where does it say on the website that you need to check that the sale prices are in red?

M&S Man– it doesnt. I’m just saying that next time there is a sale, if you check that the price is red before you buy it. If it isn’t can you please ring us and we’ll verify it is a sale item.

Me; (a little surprised)- so you want me to double check each item that I’m looking at and tell you if you’ve got it wrong.

M&S Man; ermm.. no , but you need to check they are actually sale items

Me; shouldn’t a customer be able to safely assume if they’re in the sale section of your website then in fact the items are on sale?

M&S Man..well we make mistakes.

Me; Yep, you do, to me, twice. And with several items back in December.

M&S Man, well I’ll pass on your concerns to management

Me; Will you really, or is this just a way to get me off the phone?

M&S Man ……………

At this point, I gave up and said something about writing into Head Office.

 Dear Marks and Spencer, I fear you are going down the pan. What happened to your wonderful customer service?….

You can see, I have a really stimulating lifestyle and I’m not going to win any awards for consumer champion either. Would it have helped if I had shouted, do you think? I don’t want to lose my temper over a pair of jeans that were decidedly average in their quality and fit! Oh well, I think I’d better stick to what I know and not do shopping online.  Except I have done a decent amount of shopping in the sales and nearly sorted out Christmas (apart from the men, that is). Fortunately Cath Kidston’s customer service is excellent and I remain a happy customer of hers! Before I go- here’s a sneak peek of one of the projects we’re doing next Saturday at my Christmas in July event!

Better go- I have Christmas gift wrapping to do (wink!!)

 

Card recipe: Cardstock- whisper white, Crumb Cake, Tempting Turquoise, Wild Wasabi, Daffodile Delight, Pumpkin Pie and Real Red.  Certainly Celery ribbon. White embossing powder and Congratulations sentiment from Bundle of Love set.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , .

Congrats & Breathing Deeply! Christmas in July & Bracing Myself

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. fashion shopping online  |  March 16, 2012 at 3:28 pm

    Hello there, You have performed a fantastic job. I will certainly digg it and individually recommend to my friends. I am confident they’ll be benefited from this web site.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,510 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


