Strength and Hope set and Arguing!

June 27, 2011 at 1:59 pm 3 comments

Hey! I’m sheltering from the scorching heat in the safety of my cool craft room and thought I’d show you the projects that we did on Friday at the Strength and Hope event. It was a bit of a first for me as I really don’t do the matchy matchy stuff but, I thought I’d at least one in my lifetime so here it is! We all had a great night- (at least that’s what they said!) and despite traditional Breast cancer colours and logos using the pink colours, I thought we’d have a change. To be honest, the entire colour scheme was based upon the packaging of the soaps so I didn’t have to remove the paper and people not know what kind of soap it was; -simples…yes, the soap was ‘Simple’ soap!!

I’ll be producing the templates for the tissue holder and note cover, as I’ve already been asked about it. Just need to schedule a session with Photoshop!!!

On Saturday I went to a craft fair with my daughter to sell off a load of craft gear that I just wasn’t using. I made just over £50 which is going towards a great cause. It was good fun chatting to the other stall holders; as we were all crafters there was a fair bit of buying each others stuff!! Fortunately I was pretty disciplined and only came away with some brilliant Sizzix storage for all my lovely new Stampin’Up! dies.My daughter had a great time keeping tally of our sales and had a good wander round the stalls coming back with some pretty earrings and an amazing drawing done by a very talented illustrator. It’s inspiring being around people who share your loves- these women all had different talents and styles and it made me want to go home and get making something! It can also be inspiring being around people who you love …but sometimes it’s just plain hard work!!

Trying to get my girls to appreciate the differences in each other is quite an up-hill battle. They enjoy sparring with each other in their own unique language. Steve likes to adopt some of their phrases into his conversations partly to wind them up. He has been over-using the phrase ‘epic’ quite a lot recently!

 I saw a different method of language this morning on the way to school; a son and father arguing in sign-language. I couldn’t stop looking ahead into their car which was in front (ok, I was stopped at the traffic lights and was entirely safe!!) True, I couldn’t hear them and it could have been an animated discussion, but the fathers body language did make him look decidedly rattled! I don’t mind most of the girls’ banter; it seems to be the way that they talk with some of their friends but I wouldn’t mind a few more signs of mutual appreciation! Am I asking too much?!!

I need to go and rescue Jamie’s shin pad from Will, who’s using it as a ‘fighter thing’ on his arm. Hope you’re not all melting too much today!

Don’t forget to book for my Christmas in July event on Sat July 23rd 9:30-1:30. Cost £25 with a goody bag and Dasher stamp free! I’ve got 8 people confirmed with 3 more maybe’s! I can always get a bigger room- oooh.. then I’ll need a bigger Christmas tree!!!

xx

Project recipe: contact me if you want details or to purchase the templates ( kerenjb@hotmail.co.uk ). Colour combo is Pear Pizzazz, Basic Black, whisper white and Crumb Cake!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , .

Paper Flowers Box & Inspirations! Congrats & Breathing Deeply!

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Vicki  |  June 27, 2011 at 7:27 pm

    Adore the projects they’re beautiful, as for the girls, it does get better as they get older (I think….lol) Thank you for your comment on my blog but as you well know, a women’s work is never done or do you know something I don’t? (Please share…..lol)

    We will get together soon 😉

    Hugs
    Vicki x

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Jean Thomas  |  June 27, 2011 at 9:11 pm

    We had the best time on Friday. Fun and laughter whilst making some beautiful things which will make great gifts. Put me down for a copy of the template for the tissue holder – its great. You come up with some amazing ideas Keren. Thank you for a great night. Looking forward to Christmas in July too. Love, Jean xx

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Ros crawford  |  June 28, 2011 at 11:40 am

    These are really pretty … and you obviously had a great time … how good would it be to have at least a full week of weather that is pleasant and bearable … summer was always good when I was a kid …

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,496 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


