Simple Card & Just Call Me She-Ra!!

June 6, 2011 at 8:55 pm 6 comments

Here’s a stupidly simple and uber-quick offering. Sometimes, the scraps are your friend and I’m not talking about dinner left-overs (although they came in very handy tonight!). This was cobbled together using the odd strips of cardstock left from another creation, my good mate The Signo Gel Pen and a pricking tool. I still love the fact that the stamp sets are often accompanied by a matching punch to take all the fiddliness out of a card. The colouring (please don’t zoom in on it;- not a particularly pretty sight but fine from a distance) was literally a scribble here and there (like pretending I’m an artist for a moment) and a quick hole and tie the ribbon on. That reminds me that some time I must investigate Colouring  in lessons! Maybe my kids school could oblige!!

I went a little mad with the dashed lines- I must have been feeling rather hurried that day!

I have been reflecting on the fact that I was play-fighting with a 4 year old on the pavement this morning with absolutely no thought for my reputation! (whatever that may be). One of Will’s best friends has a penchant for wandering around in character. Recently it has been Rameses, Woody, Slinky Dog and this morning it was He-Man. I’ll explain shortly (for you non-80’s kids) what He-Man is, but in response to He-Man, I decided to become She-Ra (his sister and part-time heroine). Yes, I did have a stick (sword) and I did utter words like ‘I have the power’ (which in fact was actually He-Man’s line but I couldn’t remember any of hers. !). I brandished the swordstick from out of behind my neck (as you do) and together, me and the 4 year helped fight off all of the baddies. I pause here to mention that they are/were characters from an 80’s cartoon series called ‘Masters of the Universe’. Why were you watching that? I hear you ask.. well I had a younger brother…enough said.

There are many similarities between this character and many of us women.. here’s a few courtesy of Wikipedia (I know, I shouldn’t be quoting Wiki!)

She-Ra is often shown successfully attempting feats deemed impossible by other characters.”- sound familiar ?

 Here’s another..”He-Man & She-Ra were not allowed to use their swords as offensive weapons, nor were they allowed to directly punch or kick anyone. She-Ra was only allowed to destroy robotic enemies, which were her primary foes”. – I often feel that way about my iron and washing machine!

And lastly “Whether there is a limit to the length of time she can remain in her heroic form before she reverts back to her original form.. is unknown, however there have been occasions in which she has been forcibly transformed back.., implying that her powers do have limits to them”;- a fact we’re all too painfully aware of! I reached some limits today when one of my children set their alarm clock for 4am. Her justfication? Well I keep switching my snooze button off so I needed plenty of time to come round!!! I haven’t been in any heroic form today as a result and am in fact quite glad I don’t have to prance around in a white leotard a-la She-Ra (white is sooo draining don’t you find!).

I’ll go now, I need to practice my lines ‘For the honour of Grayskull..I am She-Ra’ specially for my second duel tomorrow morning. I actually might look forward to the school run now!

Card recipe; Cardstock Early Espresso, Crumb Cake, Rose Red, Pear Pizzazz and Whisper White. Inks- Basic Black, Pear Pizazz and Rose Red. Rose Red seam binding ribbon, Linen thread, Decorative Label Punch, white Signo Gel Pen. Corner rounder punch. Stamp sets- Four Frames & Tiny Tags (sentiment)

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Little Bags & Computer Love! Silhouette Card & Being Predictable!

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Vicki  |  June 6, 2011 at 9:21 pm

    Well loving your stupidly simple and uber-quick card, it’s just lovely and I loved ‘He man’ and ‘She-Ra’ (super cool!) I think you would look lovely in a white leotard ….lol

    Hugs
    Vicki x

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Angel Jem  |  June 6, 2011 at 11:18 pm

    He-man and She-ra…. just what You tube was invented for. And may we expect any Thundercats or Battle of the Planets soon? I liked them better, but that may just be because I had to stop infants fighting like He-man and it does put a damper on our relationship.

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Ros crawford  |  June 7, 2011 at 10:37 am

    HA!! This brought back memories … my son was such a “He -Man” fan … and I too performed some amazing feats to enable him to ‘fly’ as Superman whilst repeating every line ever written for Lois Lane! Why then is Pilates soooo difficult …. what happened to my ‘powers”??
    Fabulous card by the way … wish I could throw something quick together that resembled anything near as good …

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. dianne  |  June 7, 2011 at 12:25 pm

    Haa haa this brought back some memories from my son ! who is 22 is a few days time — where did all that time go ahhhh oh well xxx

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. Jean Thomas  |  June 7, 2011 at 4:37 pm

    Oh how I love this card – probably because of its simplicity – I am a simple girl – no comments please.
    How I remember my kids watching He-man and She-ra, Grayskulls etc all the time and they loved it. I may remind them when I see them.
    I have spent the day making ATCs. I have 15 people who I send 2 ATCs each, better get cracking and finish them.
    Bye Keren, love Jean Txx

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. Wellington  |  June 8, 2011 at 11:44 am

    Love the card Keren – – adore the string-tied ribbon 🙂

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,496 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


