Craft Fair Makes & Too many in the bed!

June 1, 2011 at 1:16 pm 2 comments

I thought I’d post a couple of simple makes that would be perfect for a craft fair/fayre (!) I know you’ve seen a fair few of these- I really love their simplicity and versatility. You can put anything in (as long as its tiny!). I must have cut out over 50 now. This one has been embossed after it was cut out and so the little score lines have suffered a little. At a workshop on Friday, some of the girls experimented with embossing a piece of card first and then putting it onto the pillowbox die. You will get  slightly flattened embossing but it puts less strain on the scored edges. Used the Baby Blossoms set for the stamping.

The second make is using the Beautiful Butterflies die and some felt offcuts. My girls loved pretty hairslides and these were so easy to make. No sewing for the butterflies, just run a piece of felt straight through the Big Shot. I did sew the buttons on and sew them to the hair slides.  I used the Word window punch to create the hole to put the slides through. I rounded the edges of the crumbcake cardstock, just using an offcut. These are perfect for using those ibts left over from other projects. I added the little handcrafted stamp from the ‘Tiny Tags’ stamp set and thats another quick make. I have an event coming up, that I’ll be selling lots of these at. I just need to come up with a fair price. Any ideas anyone?!!

My kids are all crafting in the dining room, some are scrapbooking, others are making cards that ‘magically’ appear through the post addressed to me with no stamp on; a true mystery– I look amazed every time!! I am nursing a slightly sore back this morning due to having extra littlies in my bed. For some reason I’m the one that they gravitate to in the morning. It’s normally about 3/4 hour before getting up time, but just enough that I doze a little but do so in a really awkard position and so my back kills when I try to get up. I think we may need to dig the stair gates out again- and put them up in their room. The only problem will be if they need to visit the little room and get stuck trying to open the gate- that’ll mean I have to get up and let them out! Early morning or bad back?- how am I going to decide!

I was up late last night chatting to a great friend who I haven’t seen in years. We both reckon a visit is overdue. I think it may be 14 years overdue! We’re not sure her kids will cope with seeing their Mum act differently as when we get together, it is bound to be a funny experience. I think her hubby may go out a lot and I just might get banned from visiting for another 14 years. There are some things we never quite got around to in 6th Form- like a picnic in a car parking space (having paid for the space of course). We may even try to recreate the now infamous carol singing incident where a group of us sang carols in  pretty decent harmony but came back with less than £2!!  I think our jaws may hurt from laughing and I doubt we’ll get much sleep. 14 years is a long time to catch up on. I’m looking forward to it already…. (does this need to reminisce mean I’m old?!)

For any of the supplies to recreate the projects- get in touch and I can order you any of them- doesn’t matter where you live in the UK either!!

Project recipes; Pillow box; pillow box die, Rose red and whisper white cardstock. Baby Blossoms stamp set. Inks in Rose red, Pretty in pink, Pear Pizzazz and Always Artichoke, Marina Mist. Rose red satin binding ribbon and Vintage Wallpaper embossing folder. 

Butterfly clips- Beautiful butterflies die, white felt, Designer buttons in Brights. Hair clips. Cotton thread

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , .

Simple Scrapbook Layout & No Squirrels! Little Bags & Computer Love!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Angel Jem  |  June 1, 2011 at 1:28 pm

    Love the clips! Sarah loves all that sort of frippery. Price? I don’t know. This is where handmade gets tricky. If you change your name to Cath Kidston you can charge £4 for 4 butterfly slides, but at a fair….? I’d pay between £2 and £3 for them…. can you do me a red set and a purple set ;o)
    (no, seriously…. Sarah would like them. I’ll pay you for them on Monday)

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Ros crawford  |  June 2, 2011 at 11:08 am

    Love the hair clips … these are so pretty … and the embossed pillow box looks amazing … makes any little gift look special doncha think … enjoy your time with your friend … we all need to step out of wife/mum role once in a while and just be ‘free’ to play ..

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,496 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


