Acetate Pillow Box & Imagination

May 6, 2011 at 12:11 pm 2 comments

Here’s the favourite pillow box of the Launch evening. I have to admit, its mine too. Even my eldest thought it was ‘ok’ which is high praise from her indeed! I was trying to experiment with different types of material. I guess I’ll be planning more experimenting. If I could add a strong enought interfacing, I think fabric would be beautiful- watch and see what I come up with!

Some of the girls thought it might have been complicated or lengthy- but it was quite a quick ‘stamp and plonk’ using black Stazon which is necessary for stamping on acetate. The thick Window sheet from Stampin’Up! was what I used. You need a slightly more substantial weight to hold something inside and this Thick window sheet is perfect. As the sheets are 12×12 they’re perfect for those of you who have Cricuts too. I added the translucent blue glitter from our Cosmo collection which includes 5 different colours and its really ultrafine. At £14.50 its great value as they last for ages! The colour was perfect for making it look just like wings. Here’s a closer one. I hardly want to fill it and spoil the effect!

I really have enjoyed some of the conversations with the kids lately. For all of the hard work (and hormones!) that goes with 5 children, there are some really funny times too! The other day. Will walked into the room wearing a large circle around him; far larger than himself. It was in fact, a folded up pop-up tunnel and he hung it around our neck. ‘Look Mum’, he announced, ‘I’m a doughnut!’  This is the same child who, half an hour after breakfast is asking whether its dinner time! He’s definately going to be a fireman when grows older. I asked him ‘what do fireman actually do?’. ‘Save people’, he replied. ‘Save them from what?’ I queried. ‘Oh, save them from Africa’ he stated. ‘Africa?’ I asked. He laughed and looked me’ Oh, no, I meant houses!’  I helped this morning by being his personal sellotape holder. He found some Mickey Mouse wrapping paper and wanted to wrap a present for his sister. He wasn’t really interested in what he could give her, he was just enjoying the process and was so excited about the idea of giving itself. There’s lessons in there for all of us I’m sure!!  You have to wonder what goes on in their heads and my hubby helpfully reminds me that I am very fortunate to be at home sharing in these little moments. I am, truly. The trick is trying to remember that when all gets a bit too hard work and you wonder quite exactly what you are doing!  

Should go, I have some books to read to Will. I can almost feel time running away with itself!

xx

Box recipe; Pllow box die. Stamp set-Natures Walk. Marina Mist and black ribbon. Linen twine and button from Neutrals button pack. Stazon black ink and Thick window sheets (acetate). Cosmo glitter.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , .

Launch Party & Too many Holidays! Bevelled Window Panes & Thankfulness!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Amanda B  |  May 6, 2011 at 1:16 pm

    That is SO beautiful Keren – a true stunner!!

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Ros Crawford  |  May 6, 2011 at 5:50 pm

    That’s amazing!! I love the effect of the wings .. so very clever Keren …

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,510 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


