Launch Party & Too many Holidays!

May 4, 2011 at 6:02 pm 6 comments

How is it possibly May?!! The holidays I’ll get onto later but I thought you might want a small nosey at some of the pics from the Launch Party on Saturday night. Two of these little pillow boxes were the makes and takes for the evening. The girls got to choose which one they preferred and set to making them. There was a clear favourite out of all of the ones I’d made and that will be for another post.

The pillow boxes are so quick and easy. You just need a Big Shot, pillow box die- (£16.95) and for professional results you’ll want the Standard Premium Crease Pad (£8.95) too which gives the creases more depth and makes them easier to fold. They are perfect for housing jewellery gifts, they’re fab wedding favours, and you’ll see these on my tree at Christmas too. One of them in the picture has little chocolates in too.

I had lots of cards and projects displayed everywhere and I also had this umbrella tree thing (for want of a better description!). The little packages hanging off were in fact goody bags. They were mini in size (to go with the Mini Catalogue theme) but were chock full of embossed card (using our new embossing folders) and lots of little butterflies and embosslit buttons). Everyone who came got one and I still have a couple left, so anyone placing an order this month will receive one FREE!

The evening would be incomplete without something to eat so we had these little patriotic cakes and others  in celebration of that fab Royal Wedding. Now I know you’re not all staunch Royalists- but please, would you ever get such a feeling of warmth and celebration and a moment where we all tried to forget what ever else was going on at any other sort of event. Would there be such a strength of feeling if we were a Republic and our chieftain’s son got hitched? Can’t see it myself. I have to admit it was a bit magical– a real modern fairy tale. I really pray that it ends like a fairytale too.

I’m still not back in gear from the holidays. Do’t get me wrong, I love being off school but all of these day trips and away days seeing friends puts me back with the washing etc. Having 7 bodies all needing clean clothes means that my washing machine is probably the most valued member of this house (next to hubby and kids, of course!!). I do have a beyootiful clean house- well it was until 5 minutes ago when one of my youngers decided to admire herself in the mirror bedecked in a blanket and chose to stand on the most unwieldly piece of furniture we own. Add to that a vase full of tulips on the other end of the coffee table and you have an entire vaseful of water, tulips and shards of glass all over the dining room floor. I’m not supposed to do any exercise after having my wisdom tooth out this morning and truly, I think scrubbing the carpet to get the flower water out comes directly in that category. The cavalry has arrived now so I should get a bit of a rest tonight. Big phew!!

See you when I’ve emerged from under the washing pile! xx

 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , .

Chilling Birds & The Dangers of Cleaning! Acetate Pillow Box & Imagination

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mara Livingstone-McPhail  |  May 4, 2011 at 6:19 pm

    Aww, have well deserved rest. Wisdom tooth out sounds ghastly, but I am extremely scared of dental work, having had some nightmare episodes involving lacrosse and my knashers and years of work. Love the display unbrella/tree thing, and the pillow boxes are adorable.

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Jenny McCormac  |  May 4, 2011 at 6:22 pm

    Great posting Keren – and an amazing book you have had published – I am so sorry for the loss you have experienced, being a mother, I cannot imagine what you have gone through, but sadly I know of too many families that this has happened to.
    Loving your little ‘mini gifts’ too – I espect they went down well – what a fab idea.
    All the very best indeed
    Jenny

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Vicki  |  May 4, 2011 at 10:33 pm

    Oh Yay! Me too thinks too many holidays. (Can I have that many too’s in the same sentence?….lol) I feel robbed of ‘Me’ time, you see, Monday & Fridays are my day off and they’ve been over taken by kids and hubby for the last four weeks (it’s soooo wrong!) Don’t get me wrong I love them dearly – in small doses…..hahaha!
    So glad your launch party went well, I really wanted to come but tiredness won, sorry. When you feel revived we can meet up.

    See you soon
    Vicki x

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Ros Crawford  |  May 5, 2011 at 10:15 am

    So glad all went well for you … sorry about your tooth though … ouch! … see you soon XXX

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. Linda James  |  May 5, 2011 at 11:10 am

    Hi Karen, I love to read about your family and their adventures. i live on my own so don’t have any of your problems or fun!
    i was interested to see on a previous comment that you have written a book is it available? If so what is it called?
    I am full of admiration for the way you cope with your children and whatever life seems to throw at you, like huge amounts of washing! Take care
    Linda

    Like

    Reply
    • 6. kerenbaker  |  May 5, 2011 at 11:55 am

      Thanks for your lovely comment Linda. I’m glad to know that others enjoy reading my blog. My book is called ‘Empty Arms’. If you click on the link on my blog page you’ll find more about it. Otherwise you can order it from Amazon. Hope you are having a good day x

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,506 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


