Spring Card & Cheesy Peas!

April 21, 2011 at 2:07 pm 2 comments

A spring card for a summer day! I haven’t yet seen any butterflies, but they won’t be long I’m sure. This is a quick offering created with the Strength and Hope set. The frame is made by just stamping out the straight image four times and cutting around. Another way to use the stamp. I love all the texture; from the Button Embosslits, to the Vintage Wallpaper embossing folder and then the Scribbles sizzlit mimicking the flight of the butterfly. Add some teeny holes using the pricking template and that’s pretty much it.

I should really rename this blog ‘the Diary of a IQ-challenged gal, or possibly ‘Through thick and thick, how I survive each day. Just when I think I couldn’t be more dense, something else occurs. The whole debacle began with a text conversation with one of our friends’ whose little boy was coming over for tea the next day.

Heres the conversation

Me, “what’s best to feed Jake?’

Him” Chocolate. or sausages”

Me, “Ok, I have your permission just to feed him choc and sausages?! Should make an interesting tea”

“Nuggets”, he replied.

At this point, I started to use humour.

“That’s a very rude way to speak about me Dave”.

He then replied with several ‘foodie insults’. Some aimed at me, some at Steve.The conversation was then interrupted by him sending me a picture of a comedian with the title ‘Cheesy Peas’ underneath. Me being none the wiser and just thinking it was his unique humour said “I’m afraid I’ll need the recipe for that one’ and quick as a flash he sent a Jamie Oliver recipe entitled ‘Cheesy Peas’. Trying to be a good hostess, I planned to incorporate this into tea. Jake had already said he’d like sausages and chips and that morning he said he liked peas. It was all fitting together- it must be a Monk favourite.

That afternoon after the kids had played really well together, I made tea and it has to be said the peas were pretty tasty. Think, parmesan, lemon juice, butter, a little pepper and the peas. I won’t be using them in every meal, but it’s nice to have a change! As I presented them to Jake, the little lad looked at me rather confusedly. ‘What are they?’ he wondered. ‘Cheesy Peas’, I replied in such a way to encourage him that this was a favourite dish of his. ‘I don’t like cheesy peas’ he replied. ‘But your Dad sent over the recipe?’ I quizzed him, ‘have you not eaten these before?’.  At this point, the little guy was truly bearing with this idiot mother of his best friend. ‘Ermm, I don’t really eat cheese, I don’t want cheesy peas’. I quickly ushered them all to the table, telling them it was fine just to leave the cheesy peas and did he like broccoli ?

His Dad arrived an hour later and I met him with ‘I have a bone to pick with you’. I asked why Jake didn’t like the cheesy peas that he’d sent the recipe over for. At this information, the Dad burst out laughing. ‘You didn’t actually make them did you?’. ‘Er, yes, I did’, I retorted, feeling a lot less sure that my actions had been the right ones. ‘Have you ever seen the Fast Show?’. I hadn’t ever seen the show and it turns out that ‘Cheesy Peas’ was a sketch (please YouTube it and enjoy the ridiculousness of it all) and he’d just happened to find a recipe from Google speedily during the text convo. As the recipe had flown electronically back to my phone so quickly, I’d wrongly assumed it was a favourite dish, when it was in fact, a complete coincidence. Funny that; thanks Google. Foiled again. Cheesy peas indeed.

I sent him a picture of the cheese doused greens with the following statement. ‘Cheesy Peas!! I will never believe a single word you say again. Ever!’.  Gullible; that’s me. It did make us laugh though, and you need a chuckle on a Wednesday evening- you really do! 

I’m off to see what else I can drape with cheese. M & M’s, pineapple? What about bananas? Take care, and watch out for pranksters- they’re everywhere you know!

xx

 

Card recipe- Cardstock; pumpkin pie, wild wasabie, crumb cake. Ink in the same colour. Other supplies already listed in the post. 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , .

Sew Happy & Feeling Thick Chilling Birds & The Dangers of Cleaning!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ros Crawford  |  April 21, 2011 at 7:03 pm

    LOVE this card … so pretty … cheesy peas … what a rotten friend you have … never mind I’d love to meet up for coffee sometime … let me know what suits you … Have a lovely Easter too … xxx

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Angel Jem  |  May 27, 2011 at 6:23 pm

    Cheesy bananas!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,510 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


