Sew Happy & Feeling Thick

April 19, 2011 at 11:55 am 4 comments

There are times when ‘Congratulations’ seems not enough- maybe a little impersonal?  I love being happy for others and guess this little offering would do for quite a few occasions assuming you’re a) not a bloke, b) not sewing phobic and c) of the Lynne Truss variety that would hate my divergence from correct spelling. Anyhow, I reckon there may be a few of you left!! I do like this card and it’s mainly for the darling buttons. Sorry- couldn’t help myself there- just LOVE the way some American’s say ‘darling !’. I couldn’t say it out loud or Steve would rip me so I’ll indulge myself here. The butons are some of the Embosslits and I’ve just poked through the embossed ‘holes’, added some dimensionals to make them stand out and then covered them in ‘Crystal Effects’ to make them glossy. From a distance they do look quite ‘buttonesque’. I also enjoyed not being entirely ‘matchy matchy’ and put different tones of the same colour together just because I can!

Last night I went to HSNW (the stamp gathering I attend monthly) and was quite mesmerised watching the lady work. She was using brayered backgrounds with her own silhouette type stamp designs and creating pictures with them and then adding holographic glitter. There were quite a few fairy pictures and the total effect was stunning. It wasn’t my style, and I wouldn’t create cards like that, but honestly, she was brilliant and you couldn’t help but go ‘wow’ ! Thanks  HSNW, you gave us a treat last night!

Today, I’m just revelling in this beautiful sunshine. I’m sat with my lap-top in the garden and whilst I’m not actually sunbathing (fair hair, pale skin= mucho red and burning!), I’m keeping my littlie company whilst he plays with a sand-pit/water tray. I’m not one for buying toys on the spur of the moment particularly, but we don’t have a sand pit or anywhere to do water play and Tesco had a fab one on the shelf. Will has had such a lot of fun. It always surprises me that the simplest toys are often the best. We had some friends over on Sunday and their youngest cutie is only 2 and for over half an hour just sat putting large coloured wooden beads in and out of the screw-topped container.

Here he is, -he did take 5 minutes curiously looking at the water part of it and then asked me ‘how do I swim in here?!!’ I had been shopping earlier to pick up a new bilb for the brake light which is out. I stood in Halfords, frustrated with myself that I didn’t know which bulb to buy. I swallowed my pride, felt very blonde and asked where the bulbs were. I asked the bloke if he knew which was which and was comforted by the fact that when he asked me what car it was for and I replied ‘a Discovery 3’, he queried whether that was a Peugeot!!! After he couldn’t help me, another bloke did. At the checkout I was asked whether I wanted it fitting by them for £4.99. I said no, as I knew Steve would have gone mad at that but felt really thick that I could not just have popped out ot my car, yanked off the tail light and fitted it myself. I will be watching Steve and learning tonight. He’s welcome to change a tyre but I quite fancy doing this one myself.

Need to go, unpack the shopping and probably ditch using the running machine. Seems almost a crime not to enjoy this gorgeous weather. Thanks to all of you who’ve booked to come next Saturday night (30th April) for our ‘Mini Launch evening’. It is free, and you’d be more than welcome. Please email me and book a place and bring a friend! We’ll be making something and it won’t be a card (shock, horror!)

xx Going to catch some rays!

Card recipe; Wild Wasabi, Very Vanilla, Melon Mambo, Crumb Cake, Tempting Turquoise, Daffodil Delight, Rich Razzleberry, Pear Pizzazz cardstock. Sweet Buttons embosslit. Sweet Stitches designer paper . Pumpkin pie taffeta ribbon. Handstitching using cream thread. Ink colours- Melon Mambo, Daffodil Delight, Tempting Turquoise, Pumpkin Pie. Stamp sets- Button background from ‘Sew Lovely’ and alpha stamps from ‘Just Perfect’ alphabet. Vintage Wallpaper embossing folder

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Beautiful Butterflies & Genetic Wiring! Spring Card & Cheesy Peas!

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. dianne  |  April 19, 2011 at 12:58 pm

    Your son is a little wonder hes soooo yummy !!! , sorry we cant make it next week , hoping to go away on Friday to see family in Nottingham speak soon luv dianne x

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Mara Livingstone-McPhail  |  April 19, 2011 at 4:56 pm

    Inspiring card! Sunshine does us good – I feel recharged!
    May I bring Helen with me next week?

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. lilybygilly  |  April 19, 2011 at 5:00 pm

    I love the way youlve put this card together Keren – great use of colour. Gill x

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Ros Crawford  |  April 19, 2011 at 5:17 pm

    Fantastic card … I thought those buttons were real!!! what a great job you did … love your little cutie there … he looks to be having a lot of fun .. take care xxx

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,510 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


