Beautiful Butterflies & Genetic Wiring!

April 15, 2011 at 10:53 pm 4 comments

Cute huh? Love, love, love jute. This bag is super easy;  just add a bit of interfacing (or fabric stiffener to you and me) to some bits of fabric you have hanging around,(by just ironing it on), lay it on top of the Stampin’Up! ‘Beautiful Butterflies’ die, roll it through the Big Shot and they come cut out JUST like this and because of the interfacing- absolutely no hemming or turning or glueing is required. To be fair I did sew them to the little plain bag, although if you’re needle and thread phobic, you could just glue ’em on! Add some cute little buttons from the Subtles tub and that’s it. This bag is up for grabs at my Mini Launch Party on the 30th April at 8pm and anyone ordering a Big Shot from me this month will also get one completely free of charge too. I saw these bags at a local florists, who has the most gorgeous shop and sells such cute trinkets and bags, pots, and not forgetting the flowers. They looked a bit sad and plain- just needed frou-frouing up a little. Now, just to resist actually using it before someone wins it and takes it off my hands!

Today has been family day. Yesterday was too. Today, however I reckon I’ve discovered why I have a propensity for all things ‘proper’. We were out getting something to eat after going to the Blue Planet Aquarium near Chester. I know we have a lotta kids and I know it can stack up if you do anything with them, but seriously, that place should employ mortgage advisors in the car park and check people as they go past. I nearly shed a couple of tears as we worked out the cost for all of us. Had my honesty not allowed it, it would have been tempting to capitalise on the ‘Fabulous Grandparent’ option which would have saved us quite a bit.

Anyhow, after being mesmerised by the sharks, rays and jellyfish, hunger called and we were picking a snack out from the menu. I was drawn, almost instantaneously to the ‘cream tea for two’. It was at this point where I used all my gifts of persuasion to coax one of the kids to share with me, that I realised I am in fact genetically wired to love Cream Teas. How else would the need to consumer teeny sandwiches, delicate cakes and a cream scone suddenly overcome me? Granted, I had to look beyond my denim skirt and zip-up sweatshirt and faintly imagine I was in fact in Edwardian garb, looking out over a sunlit English garden awash with the scent of tea roses. Ok, it was Cheshire Oaks and one of my kids was spilling a drink and the other had pasta sauce all over his chin- but a girl can dream, can’t she?!!!

I couldn’t even finish my half, but it did leave me smiling! It’s nice to smile! Should go really, it’s bed time. Please check out my ‘Classes’ Tab at the top of the page, it’s booking up already and I had to turn people away at the last one.

See you soon

xx

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Strength and Hope & Running away! Sew Happy & Feeling Thick

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Angela  |  April 16, 2011 at 7:22 pm

    Your bag is beautiful, what a super quick way to make a lovley gift!! I have yet to use this die so I will have to bring some life into the fabric I have neglected??

    We had the pleasure (or not) of visiting Blue Plant – your so right you need a mortgage to visit!! I’m sure everyone enjoyed it though!!
    I love The Deep at Hull its fabulous!

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Carole  |  April 17, 2011 at 9:19 am

    I love your jute bag too. I might just have to have that die, I’ll never be able to save up for my IPAD2!

    Pleased to hear about your lovely day yesterday and I’d have shared that cream tea with you, I’m wired exactly the same.

    Wishing you and your family a very happy and peaceful Easter. Hugs C x

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Ros Crawford  |  April 17, 2011 at 11:09 am

    How fabulous is that bag!! brilliant!! … you just gave me a great idea for Thursday club … Thank You!! … have a wonderful day my friend

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Jeannette  |  April 21, 2011 at 9:52 am

    Fab Bag!!!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,496 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


