Nature Walk & Weddings!

April 11, 2011 at 11:01 am 5 comments

Hey! It’s Monday! After a brilliant and busy weekend, it’s great to have some downtime. I’m posting this card as the last in the ‘subtle’ category. Promise, I’ll put the colour back in gear next! It’s something a bit different and uses the eggs and birdcage from the Nature Walk stamp set. It’s also using the seam binding in a ‘ruffley’ way. The eggs are kinda watercoloured using my blender pens and the ink in the lid (got by squeezing the ink pad lid which leaves a little ink on the underside of the lid (so clever!!). The beautiful paper on the card is from the Botanical Gazette designer papers. It reminds me of the old style nature diaries- where people would draw and paint the things they saw around them. Makes me want to start sketching whilst having a cream tea!!

Speaking of cakes and all things proper, it was a lovely day for a wedding on Saturday. Once the cupcakes were made, frosted and glittered, I just had a small matter of perfecting the Bride’s entrance piece by Einaudi. I used to be a half decent pianist but am somewhat rusty. The whole thing had to be learned in a short space of time which combined with the ineptitude of my fingers, lack of brain coordination and a complete disregard of my feelings by my piano which broke on the Thursday night and sent me scurrying round to a good friend who had a piano…all in all it was a little tense. I was playing as part of a band who were all fab. They bore with me messing up during the music when I put my order of service down on the keyboard and managed to alter the sound of it so it turned ‘honkytonk’ . I tell you, I was relieved when the music was over. On reflection, I did admire the other musicians- they were all so calm and completely unphased by the occasion. I just didn’t want to mess up for the bride (particularly when it was just me playing ). I put it down to their confidence in their own abilities- the sort that goes with youth. Hang on, I’m sounding really old!!! 

I did manage to smarten myself up a bit for the occasion; got my yearly haircut (I kid you not !). I’ve now got a graduated bob and feel a little more human. Going to the hairdressers was an education in itself though. I honestly felt like I was on another planet. The conversations between the girls who worked there ranged from a discussion of various bands and whether certain celebrities were ‘fit’ ‘gorgeous’, ‘stunning’ or ‘tramps’ and then we ended up at which celebs had bottom implants and whether they’d like one. I did smile sweetly whilst the girl explained to me what Spotify was, assuming I couldn’t possibly know that piece of 21st century information! I left feeling like I had osmosed a large amount of information that I would never need again!

The wedding reception was in the Palm House in Sefton. The bride and groom had organised it beautifully and there were party bags, lawn games and a bouncy castle which made having our kids there quite a pleasurable experience. Everyone looked so happy and some of the guests dresses were amazing. It does you good to get dressed up and escape for a few hours into another world completely. But actually, I’m happy to be back in ‘Bakersville’ again. There is a little lasting remnant of the day; one of our kids decided he wanted to wear a blazer to the wedding. We found an old school one and took the school badge off. He looked cute and eccentric all rolled into one, and he’s still wearing it this morning. Don’t you love it when kids have their own style and haven’t been infiltrated by the ‘style acceptability police’. Long may his individuality last!

Better go- my throat is sore and in need of soothing- partly due to shouting at my friend for most of Saturday night (not because I was annoyed but due to the amazing but deafening Swing Band!!).

xx

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Sew Lovely & Bags! Strength and Hope & Running away!

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Vicki  |  April 11, 2011 at 11:49 am

    Sounds like you had a fabulous time and the weather was sooo beatiful. Love your card, I really like this stamp set but feel I wouldn’t use it nearly enough to justify buying it.

    Hope to see you soon

    Vicki x

    Like

    Reply
    • 2. kerenbaker  |  April 11, 2011 at 4:23 pm

      Well you know where it is if you want to borrow it! x

      Like

      Reply
  • 3. Vicki  |  April 11, 2011 at 11:49 am

    Sorry, that should read ‘beautiful’ 😉

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Peg  |  April 11, 2011 at 11:58 am

    You always make me smile reading your blog, it’s a nice place to visit especially on a Monday morning…. Oh your card is lovely … nearly forgot to comment on that x

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. Ros Crawford  |  April 11, 2011 at 4:13 pm

    This card is so calming … love the touch of colours … must try that trick “ink in the lid” … you are just full of talent .. pianist now too … The wedding sound brilliant and what a lovely day it was to be in the park ..
    Have a lovely day Keren …

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,510 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


