Sew Lovely & Bags!

April 6, 2011 at 11:40 am 7 comments

Here’s the close-up first; love this sweet little mannequin! The set is called ‘Sew Lovely’ and is just cute and makes me want to make more bags (more on that later). I had to get out my Mat Pack which has the pricking  template in. I could’ve gotten my sewing machine out, but there’s something strangely calming about using a needle and thread, and right now, I’m happy to grab anything that will induce relaxation in any form (ok, make that anything legal!). Here’s the set, in all its embellished glory!

The card looks slightly like I’ve used fabric for the skirt, but it is designer paper from the Subtles pack. I simply rolled the paper both ways and then re-rolled in the opposite direction. This helped weaken the fibres enough to maek it a bit more malleable. It was a challenge to make it even, but its the best I could do. I nicked the no.147 from the Nature Walk stamp set (check out yesterdays post). It somehow reminded me of a clothing limited edition number or perhaps one of those boutique type stores that just have a number instead of a name. Here’s the card-. The tabs are made from black satin ribbon and the little flashes of paper are from the Sweet Stitches designer paper set. Here they are- I think they just might be my favourite! One of the other reasons for being a little absent has been to indulge in a little education. I say indulge, but I want to learn as much as possible so I can design better. I picked up an Amy Butler bag pattern and some of her fabric in January. I knew it needed to get done or it would join the pile of ‘fancied that, never got round to creating it’ piles which end up being craft fodder for my kids. Wow, was this bag involved. Being a newbie seamstress, I really didn’t have much of a clue. Have done a few patterns but nothing recently. The cutting out took FOREVER– partly due to innumerable pockets plus interfacing plus felting to pad the bag out. I have a ‘keep going until you finish philosophy’ mostly and the keeping going went on (and off) for nearly 3 days. Sadly, by the end of it, I had completely gone off the fabric design but it had been too much of a labour of love to give it away! So here it is- lots of lovely pockets and cubby holes and boy, I learnt heaps! I’ve just finished felting a sweater I picked up in a charity shop yesterday (the woman couldn’t quite fathom my excitement that I’d finally found a non-treated pure wool sweater. I saw the ‘Jaeger’ label on it and knew I was onto a winner!). I’ve simple plans for it, as its quite furry now due to the angora content!!!

You can even see my Mini Catalogue shoved inside- you can’t get caught  without one of those!! 

Righto- I have piano practice to do. It’s a Einaudi piece for the wedding on Saturday and if I don’t put some effort into rehearsing it, the listeners will be saying ‘Einooowwwdi’ at all my mistakes!

Card recipe- Cardstock- Very Vanilla, Crumb Cake, Wild Wasabi,Melon Mambo. Ink- Wild Wasabi, Basic Black, Pink Pirouette, Melon Mambo. Embosslits- Sweet Buttons, Basic Black Satin Ribbon. Papers- from Subtles Pack and Sweet Stitches. Stamp sets- Sew Lovely and Nature Walk.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Seam Binding Bird Card & ‘Herman’ Nature Walk & Weddings!

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Vicki  |  April 6, 2011 at 12:53 pm

    Ooowwer, these are gorgeeeeous! Fab card, clever you and that bag is to die for, OMG, I just luuurv it (yummieeee)

    Well done you for sticking with it 😉

    xx

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Ros Crawford  |  April 6, 2011 at 12:57 pm

    Terrific card … I love the details and the clean look of it … would look fabulous in one of the designer shops … and your bag is stunning!! My you have patience … I have so many … ‘fancied that … never got around to it stuff’ … ( hidden mostly hee! hee!)

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. emma dyson  |  April 6, 2011 at 1:51 pm

    wowww keren, for a ‘newbie’ seamstress you are really rather brilliant. are you selling any of the other bags yet? (the ones you made reversable i think??) hoping you find time and activities that are legal and relaxing! love, emx

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Angela  |  April 6, 2011 at 8:23 pm

    The more I see this stamp set the more I think it will be falling into my basket! Your card is lovely, a very clever idea.

    This bag is beautiful, I love it!! Well done for your persistance.

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. dianne  |  April 7, 2011 at 3:08 pm

    wow love the bag arent you clever, love the card aswell x

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. Elaine  |  April 10, 2011 at 5:34 am

    The bag is gorgeous, your persistance paid off, and the fabric is beautiful.

    Like

    Reply
  • 7. SarahLP  |  April 10, 2011 at 8:28 am

    Wow! I’m so glad you presisted with the bag, it is truly beautiful! I hope you can bear to look at it again – the pattern is perfect for a Springtime Vintage look. Your card is very pretty too – I have the set and will try the paper skirt technique!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,496 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


