Seam Binding Bird Card & ‘Herman’

April 5, 2011 at 11:52 am 2 comments

Good Morning- can you hear the birds singing more? I love signs of spring and outside my house once I’ve dropped the kids off to school you can hear so many different bird songs. At the moment, the noise of my kids kinda drowns out the birdy sort, but it’s great to be on holidays!! This card is fairly subtle in colour, so don’t think its your computer right now! I love this new set from the Mini. It’s called Nature Walk and there are so many beautiful images. I’ve even been colouring in using my ink pads and blender pens- (very therapeutic!!). Here’s the set; -lots of images for £18.95 (clear mount) or £23.95 (wood mount). Despite my ever growing collection of clear mount, I’ve got this in wood mount and the images are a good size. The bird is so lovely. I’ll be brightening him up at later date!! The card also shows off our Seam Binding. We have it in 4 colours. It’s very wispy and delicate in its normal form- I’ve simply used it as binding around the edges of the card- it’s pretty strong even though it looks delicate and is great going round corners! I’ve just used some sticky strip on the front and inside and stretched it to fit.   However, if you wet and scrunch the binding,then leave it to dry scrunched, you get a more vintagey look as on my bow which adds some really unusual texture to your card or project. The bird just lends itself to the more watercoloured look and I’ve stamped the image in Basic Grey which gives a softer look than black and then pulled in some Early Espresso, Marina Mist and Pear Pizzazz inks using the lids of the ink pads and my blender pens. I’ve added some faux stitching with my Pear Pizzazz marker pen and white Signo gel pen and that’s pretty much the card done. The background paper is from another new Designer Paper series called- Springtime Vintage– which the patterns are exactly as it’s described!! If you can’t get to my Launch Party and fancy some of these products, just drop me a line and I’ll get them ordered for you. I can order for you, no matter where you live in the UK; distance isn’t a problem!!

On the family front it’s really all go. April has to be the best (and most hectic) month in a long while. Having the kids at school for only 6/7 days in the whole month means I get a good break from the school run. The flip side is that all these little bodies need entertaining but today they’re having to find their own amusement. The bad mother that I am has just banned the computer, DS, games on my phone and TV for a while. No, I’m not making my life worse, I’m trying to stimulate theirs!! It’ surprising at what they come up to do, once they’ve got the moans and groans out of the way. Suddenly creativity returns and crazy games get invented or the art stuff gets dug out! At the moment, my two littlies are helping each other do a jigsaw and the house is incredibly quiet. It won’t last for long, but its nice for a little while. Yesterday I had a good friend and her boys over to play. We were supposed to be picnicking in the park , but the weather had other plans. My philosophy is one of adaptation, so we had it indoors on the floor on a picnic mat! There were more crumbs, granted, and there wasn’t any balmy feeling acquired whilst eating al fresco. The bigger kids thought it was not on having to pretend, but hey, we did it anyway. My fabby friend arrived with ‘Herman’. Herman?- no, not from the Munsters; it was in fact a Friendship cake. I got quite excited because I knew exactly what it was, my Mum having made it when I was little. You get it from a friend, with instructions. You ‘feed’ it with flour,sugar and milk at certain points during a 10 day cycle and then split into portions, some to bake the cake with, one to keep and ‘feed’ again and 2 portions to give away to friends. It’s a yeasted base cake, and the yeasted bit is what you’re feeding. One of the kids helpfuly told everyone it was in fact bacteria,but I’m not sure they’ve all processed that properly. So, ‘Herman’ is busily multiplying in my kitchen, patiently waiting for Day 10 when he’ll be cooked, split, and passed on. It’s another fun project for the holidays that ends up becoming a cinnamony, appley, sultana flecked cake. Yum… and an extra Yum!

Have to go- need to go clothes shopping with 5 kids this ave- oh dear, sanity will be out the window then!

xx

Card recipe- items already listed. Cardstock, Very Vanilla, Crumb Cake. Designer paper (brown) from ‘Botanical Gazette series. Old Olive designer paper.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , .

The New Mini & Reappearing! Sew Lovely & Bags!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Peg  |  April 5, 2011 at 11:58 am

    Your card is lovely, Question: do you know what the significance is of the No 147 or the No 5 on another stamp set?

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Ros Crawford  |  April 5, 2011 at 6:05 pm

    I love the way you coloured the bird … its amazing … gorgeous stamp set … Hope you have a fun time with your family this month … you’re an amazing mum … I’m ok bye the way …. just had one thing after the other … Thanks for asking xxxx

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,510 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


