Wrap Card & Full On Days!

March 17, 2011 at 1:32 pm 2 comments

Just dug something out of the files for a little card today. Have been incredibly busy doing lots of things- including getting ready for our 2011 Mini Catalogue that goes live April 1st. Get your date in for a party quickly- you’re NOT going to want to miss seeing what’s in store!

This is a simple wrap card using vellum cardstock- just trace around the ends using a small saucer or bowl and tie a ribbon to keep it closed. Use a bit of faux-stitching and a few bits of cardstock pieced together. The pattern around the edges is using the For Everything set stamped using white Stazon.

The past couple of days have been a bit full on– yesterday in a moment of madness I invited 4 extra kids over for tea- one for each of my children except for Will, who was happy to flit between them all. There were 9 kids for tea plus my Mum and me (Steve stayed well out of the way!) Apart from a large amount of mixed catering to please the different foodie tastes, it was surprisingly simple. They all amused each other with no arguing or frustration; bliss!!

This morning was a little hectic– I thought it would be a good idea to get organised and order my nephews’ Birthday present online before Breakfast- that was great, until a little later I realised that being ultra-organised can have its downside! On my way to school there was an extremely angry cyclist– boy- he was gesticulating at everyone. I think he must have got out of bed on the wrong side- I was glad to give him a wide margin and get out of his way. On the way home, I encountered a lorry that pulled out in front of me on a roundabout. The ‘give way to the right’ rule seemed not to apply to him. I had to slam on, on the roundabout and it was no small mercy there was no-one behind me. He just sailed right past me, narrowly missing my front bumper. I was not impressed but carried onto the petrol station to fill up and get some groceries. It was only when I came to pay that I realised my super-organisation had come back to bite me as I’d left my purse by the PC. I could have just come back and paid later but with a car full of diesel there was suddenly a problem. It was no longer a simple thing- I had to wait for a manager, sign stuff, give my address etc. I started walking to the exit when I was stopped by another shopper. She was in her car and wound her window down to talk to me. She couldn’t help noticing what had happened (yep, the entire shop was witness to my stupidity!!) and brandished her credit card. If I was in a hurry to get home, (because she realised these things had a habit of ruining your day if you needed to be somewhere quick ), would I like her to pay for it for me? I stood there utterly stunned that a complete stranger was prepared to do that for me. I guess she was taking a massive risk, not knowing whether she’d get her money back. I thanked her profusely, told her she was a star, but we were only 10 minutes walk away from home, and I’d not got any pressing schedules. What a beautiful person. I was really thankful for her kindness and generosity. Thankyou, whoever you are! Oh, that there were more like her!… Then we walked home to get my purse, returned with the purse, paid for it all and then turned to go home.

I’ve just finished baking and cooking- more cupcakes up for grabs. My healthy eating can withstand most things, but definately not cupcakes. Stupid really, I just shouldn’t bake them, then I’d not have the temptation. Having baked over 50 this week (for specific reasons!), it’s not been a great calorie-controlling experience. Ah well, I intend to bless some others and get rid of them quick. In the meanwhile I need to avoid the kitchen!

See you later- have a fun day ahead tomorrow when I’m helping a friend make some decisions about her wedding (the details,- not whether to go ahead!!!)

Card recipe; Vellum cardstock, Cardstock- Melon Mambo, Marina Mist &  Pear Pizzazz. Flower brad, basic pearls. Ribbon- Marina Mist satin. Ink- White Stazon. Stamp set- ‘For EverythingClear mount=£18.95 for 11 stamps and Wood mount £23.95. Designer Paper stack in In-Colours. White Signo gel pen

 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Card Class Makes & Chip Shops The New Mini & Reappearing!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ros Crawford  |  March 18, 2011 at 11:02 am

    That’s such an interesting card … I’m loving the semi circles and straight lines … and what a day … I need a lie down after reading your post!

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Dawn Silver  |  March 29, 2011 at 12:30 pm

    WOw this is just stunning so delicate with the vellum

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,496 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


