Card Class Makes & Chip Shops

March 12, 2011 at 1:17 pm 2 comments

This post is gonna be a little photo heavy, but I wanted to show you some of the cards we made at last nights class. It was a rare night as there was completely no stamping which is an absolute first but was because we were using mostly the  ‘Good Times’  scrapbooking kit but not scrapping with it at all. With all the left overs, the girls could do a myriad of things but we stuck with cards just for the night. The little box was made after seeing a few people in blogland do similar ones- I made two, both slightly different dimensions as the cards we made needed to fit into them. One just about fitted the envelopes but was a little snug. I guess I’ll have to play with the dimensions a little more. It’s reminiscent of lots of notecard holders I had when I was little. Next time I’ll add a closing front too- feels a little open and exposed to the elements!

Here is a selection of the cards we made. The kit is £17.75 and the girls only used half as its easily split into two as everything is duplicated. You get 6 sheets of cardstock stickers (2 of each one), 6 sheets of double sided 12×12 paper and 8 sheets of textured 12×12 cardstock. We made the box and 5 cards out of half and there was still a lot left over. The only thing we added was 1 sheet of very vanilla, some ribbon and few rhinestones.

Here’s what else we made;

These are such bold and fun colours and so many of them would be great for men and teenagers, which is a rare thing for me to have a selection of those type of cards. I have to say that initially I struggled with the colours- so not me, but they made me happy working with them and after some of the hard work of the week, it was therapeutic working with something zingy. I’m offering this card class as a free tutorial (PDF) when you order the Good Times kit. Get in touch and I’ll order it for you.

  My next class is on  April 15th -(Friday) at 8pm . Button, Brads & Eyelet Extravaganza!.  Ever used eyelets? Want to use buttons in a different way? Make fun projects with dimensional elements.

Class price £13- or get a button goody bag full of 1 of every button and design in the whole Stampin’Up! range and a selection of brads in different colours for £19.95. (It would cost you well over £35 to buy the sets individually for the range of colours). Add on to be ordered by April 1st.

Get in touch- I do need booking in advance- particularly if you want to take advantage of the great value add-on although payment for the class is on the night.  You don’t need any crafting experience, not supplies as I provide everything.  Check out my Stamping Class Tab at the top of the page. They’re always good fun and I love the classes. They get booked up and I have limited space so get in early!

Well, this week has been one of looking after ill kids (bronchiolitis was back but without a trip a hospital fortunately). We stayed in mostly and amazingly, my house has stayed reasonably tidy after the viewing on Monday. One of the viewers was someone I’d actually met through crafting (small world huh!) and I’m reaping the rewards of house staging by enjoying the flowers and plants that I’d bought for the occasion. Don’t you love flowers! I couldn’t really justify it but if flowers were free, I’d embellish every room in the house with their beauty and fragrance if I was able. Looking at gorgeous blooms just lifts my spirits- doesn’t it yours?!

I have to make this short and sweet, food to buy and prep for friends for tomorrow. We’re off to see some other friends this afternoon and having a chippy tea later. Not sure quite how I can get something low calorie from the chipshop? boiled rice maybe? I used to work in a chippy when I was in sixth form. Being blonde and working in a place like that in Essex- can you imagine the comments?!! Apart from the fact our clothes had to be stored in the garage as they stank of chip fat so much, I learned that being blonde was definately a hindrance. Blokes (and it was always blokes), used to ask me for ‘fish and chips twice’- I remember one fella saying as an afterthought- erm thats TWO lots of fish and TWO lots of chips’. I felt like decking him but smiled sweetly and carried on. When I was asked for a ‘wally’ one day, I wasn’t entirely clear whether it was a pointed comment at me, but in fact, it’s Essex speak for a boiled egg! We had to do all calculations in our heads- my mental maths became pretty good although now it’s pretty dire!! and don’t get me going on how all the chips were prepared in an old cast iron bath- eugghhh!

Off now- see you soon!

Card recipes- all supplies from Good Times kit with marina mist satin and pumpkin pie taffeta ribbon. Rhinestones.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Round Card and Truly Pancake Day! Wrap Card & Full On Days!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ros Crawford  |  March 14, 2011 at 4:14 pm

    Well you live and learn … an Essex girl … worked in a chippie … I thought all Essex girls were blonde ?? maybe not as pretty as you though …
    Your cards are brilliant … looks like you were really busy!

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Sara  |  March 16, 2011 at 9:32 pm

    Love the zingy colour combos – just what we need to combat the dull weather. Must admit that I love the scrapbooking kits for cardmaking too, they’re especially great for beginners because you don’t need to add a lot (if any) stamping.

    Sara xx

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,496 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


