Hostess Tag Holder & How we silenced Tescos (temporarily!)

March 1, 2011 at 10:31 am 3 comments

 This is what I made for my hostess at the workshop I held on Friday night. Fortunately she is a kind and lovely friend- the reasons for that will become clear later!

This is the inside of the tag holder. My friend loves making tags and so I wanted to give her something as a Thankyou for holding the party that she’d find useful. Although I’ve put 4 tags in it, the idea is that she’ll make her own and store them in it for when she neds them. I haven’t got a front cover to show you as I finished it at the party and it was way too dark to photograph. Suffice to say it was spritzed, sprayed, pearls were painted and butterflies’ were given beautiful hues of ‘Fruit Salad’!- remember those sweets?! Anyhow, you can tie it together with some Rich Razzleberry ribbon to keep it secure. The papers are mostly from the Sweet and Sour Speciality papers with a bit of Designer paper (Subtles) thrown in! It’s made using some of our lovely textured 12×12 cardstock, cut at 3″ and then scored at 6″ lengthways and 3″,6″ and 9″ to create the pockets which were held together with our trusty Snail adhesive along the score lines.

My hostess ended being particularly gracious, not because she ended up with a bumper lot of Free Sale-a-bration sets and hostess goodies and a Hostess exclusive Stamp set,(which she did!) but because I became temporarily stranded at her house because I lost my keys! We hunted high and low..wondered if someone had picked them up by mistake and searched through my bags several times. I’d just phoned my hubby to explain and Sara had agreed to give me a lift home to retrieve my spare set, when I found them hiding in a pocket. I was very sorry- it had been such a lovely evening!! I promise to put my keys somewhere memorable if I do a workshop for you! I’m taking bookings for our next promotion in March- which you will LOVE & will save you heaps. Get a few mates together and enjoy a laugh (probably at my expense!!) and get to create something for Free too!

The second mildly disastrous and extremely embarrassing thing of the wekend came after we’d had lunch out. The kids had been given helium balloons and wanted to carry them e-v-e-r-y-w-h-e-r-e !! I should have said ‘No, just leave them in the car’..what was I thinking?! We were moderately happily doing a bit of food shopping and got to the chiler section. All of a sudden there was the most humungous bang. As if someone had put a microphone to it. The balloon had burst and sounded uncannily like a shotgun. I, however was unprepared for the reaction around me. Everyone stood still and stared.. it was like they’d actually been frozen by the chilled air  escaping from the fridges. Some people  had their their mouths open and one woman was actually clutching her heart! Ermm.. I didn’t really know what to do- they were ALL looking at us. I looked at Jamie ready to tell him off and then he said it had popped all by itself!! Worse still, less than a minute later, Harriet’s spontaneously exploded too, and Yes, even more stares and possibly a tad more annoyed people. I was enormously relieved to rush out of the section and anonymously mingle with other shoppers in a aisle way away!!

You see- we court humiliation on a daily basis! If someone could give me the scientific explanation for it- I’d be all ears- I’m guessing its something to do with the gas and the drop in temperature- but I could be barking up the wrong tree! 

Before I go- I have to show you THIS…. our March Frenzy..

This offer is limited to 1000 of each item- so you’re going to have to be quick. I’m placing an order in the next 2 days- so email or phone me to put one in for you- and grab yourself a bargain!! Ok, gonna dash- have got to put another order in for some unspeakably gorgeous goodies all ready for when our very very very exciting Mini-catalaogue comes out. You’re gonna LOVE it!

Tag book recipe: Cardstock, Rose Red,Rich Razzleberry, Crumb Cake, Very Vanilla, Designer papers- Sweet and Sour Speciality, Subtles paper stack. Linen thread, Pumpkin Pie taffeta, Rich Razzleberry Grosgrain. Punches- Butterfly, Boho Blossom. Stamp sets- Sale-a-bration and Vintage Wheel. Inks, Rich Razzleberry, Peach Parfait, Pear Pizzazz. Rhinestones, Buttons and Rhinestone brads.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Gatefold Card & People Watching! Bye Bye SAB! and Coolness

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Vicki  |  March 1, 2011 at 5:34 pm

    Hahahahahaha!!!! ROFL!!!!! Oh I can just imagine, I laughed at the first one but Keren, 2 bangs……lol I would love to be a fly on the wall when you’re out with the kiddiwinks 😉

    See you Friday

    xx

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Sarah  |  March 2, 2011 at 9:58 pm

    Hi Keren! Before baby came along I worked in a card and balloon shop. Helium is very sensitive to extreme temperature. So if you were hanging about the chillers it’s the cold that caused them to go bang! How embarrassing for you. I hope your kiddies weren’t too upset that their balloons popped! Lovely hostess gift xx

    Like

    Reply
    • 3. kerenbaker  |  March 3, 2011 at 5:15 am

      Hi Sarah! Thanks for that! I had a gut feeling that was the case but being completely unscientific, could only but guess!!! Hope you’re ok- how’s little Matthew doing? Hope he’s home really soon! I remember not being able to wait until Suzie was all ours rather than having to share her with the neonatal staff!!! xx

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,496 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


