Tiny Cards & Not Pancake Day!

February 22, 2011 at 1:30 pm 1 comment

Phew! How come it’s Tuesday so soon? I wanted to make a circular card in honour of Pancake Day but by the time I’d got half way through this quick and teensy card, I then remembered that I’d planned for it to be a circle! This card is incredibly simple and very tiny- only about 7x7cm (or 3×3″ if you understand that language!!). Sadly I think it would get lost in the post if I put it in its matching envelope but they’re a handy stand by when you need something pronto!   Stampin’Up! do 20 (8.9×12.7cm) notecards with matching tiny envelopes for £6.75 which is 33p for card and envelope. I’ve used offcuts of paper and ribbon and the little scalloped edge peeking out of the side is one of the Punch Bunch stamps from the Freebie Sale-a-bration sets and because it has a matching punch, there’s no fiddly cutting out.

I do love our punches. I had a great night taking the evening at HSNW (stamp club) and I used my punch but told the ladies they could just use their scissors. Lots of them wanted the punch for speed and couldn’t believe that it went through two thick pieces of card. I kept saying ‘its ok, you won’t break it!!’ It’s good fun being around crafters- you won’t go for long without a laugh! One lovely lady promised not to throw anything at me while I was demonstrating!!

Tonight we’re going to have a controlled pancake feast- ie- not a ‘gorge yourself stupid on as many pancakes as you can’! The kids asked for pancakes for breakfast but I decided it was a bit piggy. This post was originally entitled ‘Tiny Card and Pancake Day’ until my Mum texted to say that it wasnt in fact Pancake Day until March 8th!!! Hmmm, that’ll serve me right for listening to my kids and not checking!! Ill still let them have pancakes as they’re all looking forward to it and I do apologise in advance to any of my kids’ friends parents who are sent out to the shops in a flurry because my kids have mistakenly convinced their children that it actually is Pancake Day when in patently isnt!!! I’ve ended up with egg, or should I say pancake on my face!! I’ll get them to help me make them once they’re home from school. It reminds me of when my two eldest were little and I thought we’d have a panckae race. Not wanting to end up with soggy lumps of carbohydrate on the carpet that would invariably become squashed into the fibres, we made our own out of paper. That wouldn’t suffice today, but then, they were easier to persuade! I remember watching with hilarity as two tots staggered across the living room. They both were groaning under the weight of the frying pans and could barely lift them never mind finish the race! The only race this evening will be to get it into their mouths as quick as they can in the hope that if they finish first they might get one more. After all these years they’ve still not worked out that I actually count them so they all will have the same! This is probably a good time to go and actually check that I have enough eggs- there will be mutiny otherwise!! I’m watching what I eat today so I may just have to limit myself to sniffing them (sob,sob!)

See you soon xx

Card recipe; very Vanill, Pretty in Pink, Crumb Cake cardstock. Subtles designer paper and Nursery Suite paper. Pricking tool and Mat Pack. Curly label extra large punch, Corner Rounder and Scalloped Square Punch. Punch Bunch stamp set (SAB) and Tiny tags (hello). Basic Black and So Saffron ink. Basic Pearls and Certainly Celery taffeta ribbon.

 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , .

Treat Cones & The Magic of Chocolate! Gatefold Card & People Watching!

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Ros Crawford  |  February 22, 2011 at 5:24 pm

    It’s Pancake Day!!??!! no one told me …. what happened to all the adverts for Mrs Beetons? oh well got a raspberry brulee cheese cake defrosting … that’ll do … Fab card by the way … Punches that go through CS without breaking?? sounds good to me … see you soon ..

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,496 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


