Valentine Treat Bag & Not Much Love!

February 14, 2011 at 10:48 am 4 comments

Here’s a quick and fun project today with some adorable little Love Bugs!! Yes, they’re from Tesco (where else!!) and these are what my kids woke up to. They each had  little bag at the end of their beds!

Ok, I know chocolate isn’t great first thing in the morning, but hey, it’s Valentine’s Day! I too got chocolate and the most gorgeous box of cake cases!! (Steve knows just what I like!). The choccies are definately not the sort to waste on ‘I love any type of chocolate’ kids so I’m glad they got Love Bugs to munch on and could leave me to mine!! Having said all of that, those little bugs were pretty good (I’ll be hunting some more down as they’d be perfect for spring and summer cards!).

The outer case is from a stash of bags I’ve had in for ages! Love their milky opaque look. I did want a window in so you could see all the little ladybirds jostling for attention but the label punch would have meant that they’d have fallen out and damaged their wings. So I put in some of the smallest Stampin’Up! cellophane bags as an inner and they all seem quite cozy in there!

I’ve done some faux-stitching with a gel pen around the aperture and added a butterfly punch for the wings on the top bug. I created the red border using the punch (more details to follow on that one!), added some basic black ribbon, a sentiment from the Tiny Tags set and used Crumb Cake cardstock to make the bag topper. I happened to have some red staples (handy!!) and they finished it off!

Cute, quick and perfect for kids! (or slightly bigger kids too!).

Need to sign off quickly- there has been a distinct lack of love eminating from certain Baker kids this morning. Not sure they are feeling the love. The bugs did nae work and now I’m not feeling it much either. Ah well, maybe solitary confinement might help (and that would be just for me!). Maybe a quick headlong dive into the Hotel Chocolat box just might be the answer!!!

Have a ‘love‘ly day- whether you have a Valentine or not. Take a minute to think about all the people you love and the things you’re grateful for, and make Valentines Day an expression of all that is good and loveworthy in your life!

Sending you hugs! xx

Project deets: Supplies as mentioned above plus black Stazon ink!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , .

Join my Stampin’Up! Team & Continued Blondeness! Chipboard Cards & The Narnia Experience

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Vicki  |  February 14, 2011 at 12:12 pm

    I too was bitten by the bug but not the chocolate one’s……lol made a love bug card for my littlest one.

    Have a good day 😉

    Vicki x

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Ros Crawford  |  February 14, 2011 at 3:25 pm

    These are fabulous!!! I still give my son Valentine’s cards …. he’s 28! enjoy your day and your Chocolates! Happy Valentine’s

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. cherry  |  February 15, 2011 at 5:44 am

    This is sooo cute! cherry

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. stacey oshea  |  March 16, 2011 at 2:15 pm

    I loved this post, made me want to copy it right then and there! I do know that a trip to Tesco is in the offing ;o)
    Hugs
    Stacex

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,510 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


