Valentine Card and Colours that make me happy!

January 29, 2011 at 7:33 pm 8 comments

This started out as a clashing card- I just couldn’t get past the red and pink thing. I remember going to visit a school mate when I was 15  wearing  a red and pink combo outfit. I recall him opening the door, staring and saying ‘whoa, that’s a bright outfit’! I suspect that the subtitles would have read ‘what on earth possessed you to team those clothes together!’ I guess I’ve been a little awkward around  these colours since. I threw off my colour inhibitions and dived into two challenges- first the  Tuesday Trigger at Moxie Fab World- the photo to  trigger the challenge is gorgeous and is entitled ‘Sweets for the Sweet’- go see. The second is from City Crafters Challenge Blog on the theme of ‘Sew Fun’. The sewing is taken care of  using back stitch and french knots! (I love doing french knots- there’s something incredibly satisfying about doing them- or is that just me?!!). I’ve created the rose accent using a cheap hairslide and adding ribbon, linen thread, a designer button and some embroidery thread. I’ve also got a dimensional heart there you can’t tell any of the hearts are raised but I’ll show you them on another pic. I do like valentines cards and this one has the gift attached- I think it might be winging its way to one of my daughters!  You can probably make out the chunky hearts on this photo- its just a small heart punch, and 8 cardstock hearts stacked on top of one another. I love the dimension with the big flower. It’s reminiscent of one of my favourite jewellery designers- ‘Lola Rose’. I’ve also gone for an unusual sized card- wish me luck trying to find an envelope to envelop its dimensions!

I’m enjoying a relaxing weekend and wearing one of my all-time favourite colours ; red! I suspect the ‘Colour Me Beautiful’ women may have something to say about my colour choices, but red makes me happy and I’d wear it top to toe if I didn’t look ridiculous. My other favourites are Duck egg Blue, a Mossy green and a warm chocolatey Brown. I should really apologise to my Dad here, my brother & I used to tease him mercilessly for wearing brown. I couldn’t imagine why anyone would want to wear such an obviously disgusting outdated colour! I have done a complete U-turn and seen sense since then. There are still yukky browns around  but maybe I’ve grown up a little. At least I’m not in my black phase which has come and gone several times!!

I’m off to vegetate tonight- a night watching a film with the hubster!

Card project. Cardstock- Crumb Cake, Very Vanilla, Pretty in Pink, Melon Mambo, Poppy Parade. Ink- Melon Mambo and Craft White Ink. Pretty in Pink grosgrain ribbon.  Stamps- Bella Toile & Dot,Dot,Dot.

Other supplies- Hairslide from Tesco, cream and red embroidery thread.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Get Well Soon Card & Challenges Quick and Simple Valentine

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sue Brannan  |  January 29, 2011 at 9:17 pm

    Dont search for an envelope wrap it in red tissue tied with a pink ribbon!

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Sarah  |  January 30, 2011 at 1:27 am

    This is a gorgeous design. I love the sketch you created. So wonderfully graphic! Great job!

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Ros Crawford  |  January 30, 2011 at 10:27 am

    This is fabulous … hoorah! for red and pink … love the hair slide and the stitching … you are clever … Thanks for playing along at CCCB again … have a great day

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Vicki  |  January 30, 2011 at 8:38 pm

    Oh wow, this is just fabulous, I love everything about it, especially the colour combo 😉

    Enjoy your movie night in!

    xx

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. Linda R  |  January 31, 2011 at 6:00 am

    Such a pretty card.. With pretty stitching.. Thanks so much for playing along with us at CCCB!

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. kirsty Vittetoe  |  January 31, 2011 at 6:29 am

    Gorgeous, red+pink just makes me happy, is that a Valentine mood of mine? : ) by the way, love those stitching besides the colors, simply gorgeous! Thanks for playing along with us at CCCB!

    Like

    Reply
  • 7. cheryln  |  January 31, 2011 at 10:29 pm

    Beautiful! LOVE that flower! Thank you so much for joining us at CCCB!

    Like

    Reply
  • 8. Cath  |  February 7, 2011 at 5:03 pm

    Hey Keren! What a sweet approach to this week’s Tuesday Trigger in the Moxie Fab World! Thanks so much for playing along! 🙂

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,510 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


