Get Well Soon Card & Challenges

January 28, 2011 at 10:12 am 5 comments

After all the recent hospital trekking, I thought a get well card was appropriate- and one suitable for a bloke to boot. The men are a little challenging (in so many ways!) to create cards for, so thought a funky pared back design would suit. The letters are stamped with white craft ink onto black cardstock which gives it a gray colour. As gray is supposedly the new black, maybe its on- trend too?!! (oh, and you could have this stamp set completely free in you order our fab value Starter Kit before the end of Feb- email me for more details).  The coloured stripe down the side of the card is made just using thin strips of different coloured card adhered to white cardstock. The blue patterned card is just a flower stamped with white craft ink but with such a small portion that you can’t really tell it’s a flower. If it’s bold and not too girly, I reckon you can get away with it !

I’ve been really chuffed this week to get a mention on two of the challenges I entered. On City Crafters Challenge Blog I got Spotlight Artist and on Stamping Royalty I was one of their 5 Top Picks. It really cheered up my day I can tell you! I continue to be amazed just how small this world really is- joining in with some super amazing crafters from all around the world. I’m busy creating a couple more projects for challenges as it was lots of fun.

When I was in hospital with Jamie we had a LOT of time to fill and it was a real challenge trying to keep him amused. Amazingly, one of his friends from church happened to be admitted at the same time and we did all have a laugh amidst the madness of it all. Steve had bought Jamie a set of Top Trumps ‘Moshi Monsters’. You may be wondering what ‘Moshi Monsters’ are? Kinda like Club Penguins…are you any the wiser? No? I wouldn’t have been either! Think- kids online game plus collectible cards for all the characters that you swap with all your friends. No, I haven’t been swapping them with my friends!- but in my house you’ll find little piles of them just waiting to trip you over as you approach them. Anyway, Top Trumps have bought out a set. The first 10 rounds were bearable; I was doing it to amuse Jamie. The next few were a personal challenge for me to lose as quickly as possible. The problem with that was that my son then wanted me to win (aaahh). No matter how hard I tried he kept sabotaging the game in my favour. Those were very long rounds! The subsequent rounds involved me imagining  that I’d be playing Top Trumps forever! It was lovely to spend real chunks of time with him, even though he wasn’t that well. Highlights of the hospital stay included the staff (who were all incredibly lovely), a game of ‘hunt the vegetable’ in the kids food. No,- potatoes don’t count as veg either! I know not all kids eat much veg and I guess maybe they have wastage, but sick kids do need real nutrition to get better. Us parents supplemented the food instead! Jamie and his two friends (his friends sister was in there too!) both had the nonluxury beds- i.e. the side of the ward without TV’s on every bed! Fortunately they were pretty good about it, although I had to bite my tongue one night as one of the parents chose to watch the telly VERY LOUDLY until 11:30pm. Please people, these kiddos were trying to sleep (not to mention their equally exhausted parents!). It was only when I was looking in the hospital shop the next day, that I realised just why they sold bumper packs of earplugs!!

Well, I’m glad to say that some semblance of normality is resuming in the Baker household (ok, we never quite get to normal, but you know where I’m coming from!!). Looking forward to a calm and restful weekend…who am I trying to kid?!!!!

See you soon (and don’t forget to leave a comment on the previous post if you want to be in with a chance of winning one of my bags!)

xx

Card recipe: Basic Black, Pink, Daffodil Delight, Pumpkin Pie, Real Red, Old Olive, Whisper white and Bashful Blue cardstock. Brads in Brights colour. white craft ink. Stamp set- ‘Schoolbook Serif’ nad ‘Ornate Flowers’. Old Olive grosgrain ribbon.

 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , .

No crafting and Blog Candy! Valentine Card and Colours that make me happy!

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ros Crawford  |  January 28, 2011 at 11:38 am

    Congrats on your awards! I too remember people (visitors) watching loud tv whilst I was visiting my friend (in the acute Stroke Unit!!) … drove me mad … whatever happened to manners and consideration??
    Hope you are all fighting fit now though …

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. dianne collins  |  January 28, 2011 at 4:54 pm

    Hi Keren glad to see things are on the up for you , i to was in hospital on sunday with my 2 year old God daughter (looks like she has severe asthma bless her xx) must catch up soon luv dianne .
    ps did put comment on bag blog but i cant link it cos i dont have a blog — have thought about it but dont get enough time xxxx

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. SarahLP  |  January 28, 2011 at 5:20 pm

    So sorry to hear about your little one’s hospital stay.. hope you’re all feeling better now.. must have been totally draining for you!

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Kay Davis  |  January 28, 2011 at 6:44 pm

    I find your blogs really interesting. Would LOVE to have more time to make cards etc – it really does interest me. Keep going!! K x

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. Carole  |  January 28, 2011 at 9:36 pm

    I’ve just caught up with your blog. I do hope your little boy recovers very soon. Sending you all hugs. C x

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,510 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


