Cupcake Earring Card & Overpriced goods!!

January 13, 2011 at 5:10 pm 5 comments

I’ve been playing again- this time with polymer clay (you know, the stuff that hardens in the oven). I want to make Millefiori canes and make them into jewellery so I’m starting easy and working up. I need a pasta machine really (for the clay) so I can make ‘Skinner blends’ and such like. I got a book from Amazon called ‘The Polymer Clay cookbook’  and I made some multicolour spiral lollipops too, but they can wait for another post.

I wanted the earrings to be the main focus so left the rest of the card plain- if I’d had my head screwed on when I made it, I’d have used the ‘Crazy for Cupcakes’ stamp set, but nevermind! They’ll need a glaze or varnish. Next on the list is pumpkin pie pieces that smell of spice! I eschewed faux stitching on the card and went for the real McCoy!!

Today I’ve got to rest for real! I’m under docs orders! After enjoying my no-list day so much the other day- I’m contemplating a ‘no-list’ year!   Today I took my Mum and brother out for a while to hunt for something for my brother. Whilst in M&S, we picked up some ridiculously cheap items that were on sale. Once at the till, we were told that we couldn’t have not one, but two of the items as they’d been wrongly priced and were in fact full price. Contrary to what I used to think, businesses are well within their rights to refuse to sell you the item so we left with a disappointing taste in our mouths. Contrast that with Molton Brown who did exactly the same to me the other week. I emailed them and said how disappointing it was that they’d not honoured the price (we’re talking a difference of £11) as many larger firms would. They contacted me speedily and said I could have a refund or a complimentary hand wash. I now have gorgeously smelling hands every time I use the little room! Yay for Molton Brown, boo for M & S (although I do feel another email coming on and headed Marks & Spencer’s way!!). 

I’m off to organise my little boys’ rescheduled Birthday party. Fortunately hubby is running it (first time ever) so I’ve just a little baking to do. See you soon xx

Card recipe: Cardstock- whisper white and Rose Red. Rose Red and brown markers and ink. Choc chip grosgrain ribbon. Stamp set- Oval All. All StampinUp! Pink embroidery thread, Various colours of Fimo, Earring findings all from my stash.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , .

Bliss Bird on a Branch & Retreating Sale-a-bration Butterfly Card & Outlet Shoes

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jean Thomas  |  January 13, 2011 at 5:49 pm

    The cupcake earrings are beautiful Keren, you are a talented woman. Hey, I am with you all the way for a “no list year” wow!!

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. em dyson  |  January 13, 2011 at 6:45 pm

    make sure you rest up then keren! hoping you’re feeling better soon. be good to yourself, emx

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Ros Crawford  |  January 14, 2011 at 11:16 am

    Fantastic card!!! how clever are you making those earrings?? The whole thing looks so elegant … hope you are feeling better soon … It must be hard for you to rest … well women don’t do they? But try and take some time for ‘you’ … xxx

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Stacey  |  January 16, 2011 at 9:38 am

    Love the card & the earrings are super cute! I have also done some cards with earrings but using semi precious chip earrings & trying to match up the colours, they didnt look as good as yours tho.

    I actually have a pasta machine (that has been sitting in the garage) you are welcome to. If you just cover the postage that would be fine. Let me know. Stacex

    Like

    Reply
    • 5. kerenbaker  |  January 23, 2011 at 4:45 pm

      Hiya Stace!
      That’s so kind! Give me an amount you’re happy with and I’ll cover the postage too! take care xx

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,496 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


